Turkey Bingo

Hi Friends!

I got home late last night from Turkey Bingo 🙂

Here are some pictures to sum up the evening:

I WON A TURKEY AND A WHOLE CHICKEN!!!

How do I prepare such beasts? Jason thinks we should buy a duck and make a Turducken…I saw no way.

My new turkey weighs 13.7 lbs:

For now, both birds are getting stored in the freezer, since I have never prepared a whole bird on my own.

Question: Have you ever prepared a whole bird on your own? How did it turn out? Is it as daunting of a task as I imagine it to be?

Have a great weekend!

Posted in Life. Tags: . 23 Comments »

23 Responses to “Turkey Bingo”

  1. Tina @ Faith Fitness Fun Says:

    I have never won anything really…and especially never a turkey! That’s a good prize though since those things can get $$$. No help for you on how to prepare it though. I let my mom do the Thanksgiving cooking still. 😀

  2. Myra Says:

    buy the oven bag for the turkey. nothing could be easier. stick the thermometer in, set it to beep at the right temperature, throw it in the oven bag. done.

    and the chicken…you could make beer can chicken

  3. Matt Says:

    You have never made a whole turkey or chicken? Isn’t that a crime?

  4. Jen Trinque Says:

    I have never won any poultry, nor prepared a whole turkey, so I won’t be much help! Good luck, though.

  5. Mary @ Bites and Bliss Says:

    I’ve never tackled a whole bird on my own..but I know it’s not an easy task. 😛 Good luck!!

  6. Hollie @ Lolzthatswim(andRun) Says:

    Ooh wow that is awesome, I used to play bingo every Saturday night but I never won a turkey or anything that cool ha.

  7. mostlyfitmom Says:

    Have never heard of a turkey bingo! Sounds sorta cheesy and fun. 🙂

    I’ve made a couple of turkeys on my own and I basically just hit up Allrecipes for ideas. I went with the highest rated recipe, I think, but I can’t remember what it was – just that there was butter involved. The turkey was juicy, but not sure it was the healthiest way to prepare it? LOL

  8. alli Says:

    hey there- i just found your blog through HTP. i thought id comment on this post—im no cook whatsoever but i have done 2 turkeys-it’s so easy and quick, if you can believe that! i followed martha stewarts recipe and enjoyed a very tasty turkey- http://www.marthastewart.com/recipe/roast-spatchcocked-turkey
    good luck 🙂

  9. Averie (LoveVeggiesAndYoga) Says:

    This post is the EPITOME of my MN Catholic upbringing: church basements, bingo, winning turkeys, and being excited about it. It’s the small things girl. I am so happy for you 🙂 And thanks for the trip down memory lane!

    🙂

  10. IHeartVegetables Says:

    hahahaha congrats on the bingo win! That is too funny 🙂

  11. Mimi Says:

    Now that’s a great prize! Actually, prepping whole birds is EASY. And so flavorful! Best way is to roast them…but make SURE you have a roasting rack for the pan, so you get that golden finish on all sides.

    I love this recipe for roast chicken: http://nourishedkitchen.com/perfect-roast-chicken/
    They also have a more exotic spinoff: http://nourishedkitchen.com/morrocan-spiced-roast-chicken/

    As for turkey…um…treat it like a lady and give it the time it needs to get hot and ready. And whatever you do, do NOT cook the stuffing inside of it. It’s gross–it dries out the bird and contaminates your food. I see this in movies and it drives me nuts. Alton Brown had a great episode on it though.

  12. Kris | iheartwellness.com Says:

    Awww, what a fun time and congrats on your bird wins!

    I have never prepared a full bird like that ever! When I did eat meat, I always purchased just the breasts 😉

    Good luck with that thing!

    xxoo

  13. Anne @ Food Loving Polar Bear Says:

    Haha, Turkey bingo sounds like a lot of fun 😀 congrats on your win!

  14. Beth Says:

    Woah that is awesome!! I haven’t played bingo in ages but I absolutely LOVE it. So great that you won both a turkey and a chicken!!

  15. Shanna, like Banana Says:

    Winner winner chicken dinner 😉

    It’s not so hard…just keep an eye on it!

  16. Sara @ OurDogBuffy Says:

    Cool! We volunteer at our church’s BINGO every 5th Friday and we handed out turkeys this past Friday too. Congrats! We did our first turkey for Thanksgiving last year. It wasn’t bad. This year, my husband is doing it all himself. It’s really not that hard. Just remember to remove all the important “innards” I almost threw up at that process. See why I am taking no part this year? We got a “crock pot” style roaster thing for it and it worked out well. Just set it and forget it, essentially. You can use a brine, marinade or glaze! Good luck!

  17. Laury @thefitnessdish Says:

    LOL, I remember these functions from my catholic school days!!! Good job winning the birds!!!

  18. runningaroundnormal Says:

    Haha – congrats on the win!! 🙂

  19. thefitacademic Says:

    Wow – great luck! There was one Thanksgiving when my hubbs and I weren’t able to go back home. That year I made the boy take on the Big Bird duty. We have a giant smoker/grill and that year for Thanksgiving we did a SMOKED TURKEY! Not only was it AMAZING, but I didn’t have to do a thing (except, of course, all the sides, appetizers, dessert, lol) It took hours and hours, but it was well worth it!

  20. Angela (the diet book junkie) Says:

    whoo hoo!! congrats on your win!! i’ve never even cooked a chicken breast, let alone an entire bird. (i know, shameful.) good luck to you, mate! i’m sure it’ll turn out awesome! 🙂

  21. Meesh Says:

    Wow, I wouldnt even know where to start with a turkey like that! It’s ginormous!!

  22. Jess Says:

    HOORAY FOR WINNING free protein!! Win.


Leave a Reply

