Roasted Chicken with Sweet Potatoes & Parsnips

Hi Friends!!!
Long time no blog, huh?
Over the weekend I wasn’t feeling good, and I sure didn’t want each post to start with “I’m still sick”. I needed to just focus on getting better, relaxing and getting enough rest! I slept most of the weekend and it felt great. Then, once Monday rolled around I just couldn’t get in the right frame of mind to blog. But it was nice to catch up on some of yours.
Anyway, remember Turkey Bingo from last week? Well, the chicken has been thawing in my fridge and last night I finally roasted the damn thing. This was the first time I ever prepared a whole bird — and I was nervous. So I went to Food Network for some help.
I found and folowed the recipe for Ina Garten’s Perfect Roast Chicken. How easy good does that sound?
So I got to work.
I laid out my “stuffing” materials: 1 halved lemon, 1 head of garlic cut crosswise, and a bunch of thyme, salt and pepper:
After rinsing my bird and patting him dry, I seasoned him with salt and pepper and stuffed him with the lemon, garlic and thyme. I didn’t have kitchen string, or I would have tied his legs closed. I also gave him a butter bath and seasoned the outside with more salt and pepper.
After chopping up my veggies: 1 sweet potato, 3 parsnips, 1/2 yellow onion and 1/2 bag of baby carrots, I seasoned them with salt, pepper, more thyme and tossed them with some olive oil.
Right about now I thought “this is waaaaay too much thyme”. But I trusted Ina, and I’m so glad I did! I placed the bird on top of the veggies and threw it all in the 425 degree oven for about 1 hour and 30 minutes.

The house smelled amazing. Jason came home and said the garage smelled phenomenal. It wasn’t too much thyme. Thank God.
Other than roasting the bird the wrong way (he was upside down…) the whole process went well! And it turned out so good. This is my plate:
Haha, no, this is most of the meat I carved off the chicken. I won’t show you any carving pics because I did a pretty terrible job. Oh well. But look at those veggies — most pieces were almost crispy from the roasting — delicious!!!
*I hope you all have a fantastic holiday — be safe and have fun!!!
31 Responses to “Roasted Chicken with Sweet Potatoes & Parsnips”

  1. Kate Says:

    a whole roasted chicken?! i am impressed my friend. glad to hear you are feeling better too. have a lovely thanksgiving 🙂

  2. Cathy K Says:

    hearty congrats on roasting the chicken!!! way cool! i am too intimidated to try…but that should probably be a “life’s bucket list” to do item!
    i feel your pain on being sick…was confined to my bed for 36 hours straight on monday with a flu bug – NOT fun. glad you’re better in time for your thanksgiving celebrations! enjoy!

  3. Kelsey @ Snacking Squirrel Says:

    is it random that i think ur bird has such a cute bum..theres something really cute about it roasting in there.. “thats right chicken, ur too pale and need a tan..enjoy ur little sauna session” lol ❤ YUMMMMMM ❤

  4. Matt Says:

    Nothing better than roasting a bird 😉 The meat is seriously so much better!

  5. Brittany (A Healthy Slice of Life) Says:

    I’m glad you’re feeling better and I am SO impressed with your bird!! I’ve never roasted a whole chicken before and am a bit intimidated, but I want to try it! Especially after your’s came out looking so delicious 🙂

  6. Hollie @ Lolzthatswim(andRun) Says:

    Oh wow. Do you want to come home and cook my thanksgiving meal too? That looks amazing.

  7. heather Says:

    That looks so yummy!! You did a great job!

  8. Shanna, like Banana Says:

    That is beautiful! Nicely done!!!

    I am in love with roasted vegetables with thyme or rosemary…mmmm

  9. thefitacademic Says:

    Whoa ~ looks like Thanksgiving (minus turkey, plus chicken) already! I bet your house smelled amazing!!!

  10. Tina @ Faith Fitness Fun Says:

    Glad you are feeling better and that you took the necessary rest. That roast chicken looks awesome!

  11. thejoggingconcierge Says:

    That’s like the chicken, sweet potatoes and parsnips that I cooked in my crock pot. So good! Your’s looks delicious!

  12. Christina @ Food.Fun.Fabulous. Says:

    I have yet to make a whole roast chicken but this looks so easy. And I didn’t even notice that it was upside down! hehe

  13. Wendy Says:

    You did a bang-up job on that chicken, Holl! Looks perfect!! Best part is that it was free, right?! 😀
    Happy Thanksgiving!!!!

  14. Anne @ Food Loving Polar Bear Says:

    I really want to roast a chicken or a turkey now too, you make it seem so easy and the outcome looks absolutely delicious 🙂

    Have a happy thanksgiving and feel better soon!

  15. Katie Says:

    I am so impressed. No seriously. You roasted your own chicken!!

  16. leashieloo Says:

    Your turkey looks delicious and it’s getting me REALLY excited for tomorrow!

  17. Allie (Live Laugh Eat) Says:

    Hahaha “I trusted Ina” 🙂

  18. Robyn @ Wannabe Writer Runner Says:

    Ina has the best recipes. Her roast chicken chili is amazing.

  19. Averie (LoveVeggiesAndYoga) Says:

    back in the day i used to watch TONS of food network and i watched Ina. Alot. She roasts a chicken every fri nite for jeffrey, her hubs, who travels from their house in the burbs to manhatten. i am not kidding, i know a lot about this woman…who cooks with more eggs, butter, garlic, and meat than i ever will in a lifetime but i love her!

    and i love what you did to your bird. congrats!!!

    and sooo glad you’re feeling better! 🙂

  20. Angela (the diet book junkie) Says:

    glad to hear you’re feeling better!! great job with the chicken, i would have NO IDEA what to do with such a thing. (except eat it, of course.) have a great holiday, Holly!

  21. Laury @thefitnessdish Says:

    GREAT job with the bird!!! I never cooked one either!

    Happy Thanksgiving to you and your family!!! xxoo

  22. Jess Says:

    BEAUTIFUL chicken–MMM!

  23. Sarena (The Non Dairy Queen) Says:

    I hope you are feeling better and that you had a great Thanksgiving! The dinner looks delicious! You can never have too many herbs.

  24. Baking Serendipity Says:

    This looks delicious 🙂 I can just imagine the smell it created in your house. There’s nothing better than the good food in the oven smells. Glad you are feeling better and enjoyed your Thanksgiving!

  25. Candice @ChiaSeedMe Says:

    Glad you’re feeling better! The exact same thing happened to me, except I was just busy and out of town instead of sick. But then Monday rolled around and I had absolutely no blogging mojo:( I think it’s back though!

  26. rc1001 Says:

    Just checking in to say hi! Hope you are having a good first day of December!

  27. Jessica (Fit and Clean) Says:

    Your chicken looks AMAZING!! I always had a hard time trying to figure out the “breast side down” issue…I could never tell which side was the back, LOL…I’ve gotten better at it over the years. Not really sure how much it makes a difference.

  28. Sara @ OurDogBuffy Says:

    Holly, are you OK? Miss your posts!

  29. Healthy Coconut Says:

    Hi Holly, just stopping by to say hello. Hope everything is ok and you are well. I was going to try reaching you thru tweeter, but can’t find you 😦

  30. Super Easy Roasted Chicken « The Couch Potato Athlete Says:

    […] easy and really delicious. I have made a whole roasted chicken in a similar way, but this is easier with just the chicken breasts instead of the whole […]


Leave a Reply

