Banana Cashew Eggroll

Happy Friday Friends!

Yes – the title of this post is true. Near the end you will see the glorious Banana Cashew Eggroll. It was magnificent!

I had a wonderful birthday yesterday! Thanks for all the well wishes! The day was great and it started with a bouquet of flowers delivered to me at work:

(the card reads “from your loving husband”) – aaaaaaawwwww.

8 hours of work felt like 500 because I wanted to get out of there so badly. After listening to a few voicemails at lunch time and in the afternoon (thank you to everyone who left me those lovely messages!) I was more than ready to go home. Once 4:30pm rolled around I left work, came home and changed and then we were off to dinner.

Jason and I had only eaten here once, but it was so good and we couldn’t remember why we hadn’t gone back. We started with some veggie potstickers:

And some delicious cocktails. I had a Gin and Ginger (ginger ale, gin, lime) and Jason had the Effen Passion (passion fruit juice, vodka, ginger ale):

They were so refreshing — the ginger taste was so strong. Yum! For dinner, I ordered a chicken/veggie stir-fry with a lemon sweet/sour sauce:

The vegetables were so fresh and crisp and the sauce was light and flavorful. Jason got the teriyaki chicken fried rice:

And now the moment you’ve been waiting for: The Banana Cashew Egg Roll

“rolled by hand – crispy, with fresh banana, roasted cashew, brown sugar filling, served with creamy chocolate sauce”

Oh man – I didn’t think we’d ever find a dessert that even comes CLOSE to the Nutella Burger in Vegas – but this was BETTER! The banana + cashew flavor was amazing. I need to make this at home. After dinner we went to the theater and saw Tangled

It was so cute!!! I loved it. See the little green chameleon on the guy’s head? He was my favorite character! Too adorable. And Mandy Moore’s voice is perfect for Rapunzel. We loved it!

Hopefully this weekend I’ll make enough time to learn how to use my birthday gift:

!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Thank you Jason for a lovely birthday – I love you!

***Have a great weekend everyone! Enjoy!***

-Holly

25 Responses to “Banana Cashew Eggroll”

  1. Jen Says:

    HaPPy BirTHdaY!!

    My MIL just got the NOOK and loves it 🙂 Enjoy!!

    That food looks amazing~delish!!

  2. Alex @ IEatAsphalt Says:

    That eggroll looks delicious! I’m always a sucker for dumplings when I go out for asian. I think that I could eat Vietnamese spring rolls by the truck load.

  3. Tina @ Faith Fitness Fun Says:

    Certainly an awesome sounding birthday! Glad you got to enjoy yourself.

  4. Allison Says:

    Hope you had a great birthday! Let me know how you like the NOOK. I recently gave up my kindle and am looking for a new reader!

  5. Kylie @ A Hungry Spoon Says:

    Yay for a Nook! That’s SO exciting! You’ll have to let us know how you like it 🙂 I got Adam a Kindle for his birthday (which is Sunday) and I’m literally bursting at the seams to surprise him with it.

    The banana cashew eggroll looks just heavenly! What a great idea. I’ve found that eggroll wrappers are great for wrapping up lots of creative fillings aside from the traditional.

    Glad you had a great birthday!

  6. Katie Says:

    Oooh, you have to tel us what you think of the nook. I kind of want one, but kind of don’t. I like the feel of a book, but technology calls to me.

    I want flowers!!! you have a great husband. HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!!

  7. Brittany (A Healthy Slice of Life) Says:

    Sounds like a fabulous birthday! I want to see Tangled so bad 🙂

  8. Matt Says:

    Happy belated birthday 🙂

    That dessert looks magnificent. I would like some of that right now…

  9. Sara @ OurDogBuffy Says:

    Sounds like you had a wonderful birthday. The foods looks amazing! 🙂 Happy Birthday, Holly!

  10. Shanna, like Banana Says:

    Ooo I had banana wontons on my anniversary and they were awesome!

    Glad you had a great day!

  11. Maria @ Oh Healthy Day Says:

    Yum! Your birthday dinner looks fabulous! I have a Kindle and I love it! I don’t ever want to go back to wasting trees and “real” books again.

  12. Averie (LoveVeggiesandYoga) Says:

    I dont even know what your bday gift is…that’s how out of it on certain things I am! haha!

    Seeing the words edina, mntka, and roseville….blast from the past! Good thing it’s not snowing where I am…ha!

    Ok seriously, happy bday (again)!!

    The food looks great. I am NOT a gin girl. Of all the alcohol out there, I would not pick gin. I am glad YOU got the drink you wanted tho, on your bday, of course!

    As for the dessert…YUM! I blend cashews for the filling of my raw vegan cheezecake. Recipe on my site. But you could soak and blend cashews, add some banana and brown sugar, vanilla, and you’ve got the filling done.

    Chocolate sauce, easy.

    Shell, buy prepared wonton wrappers at the groc store, fill em up, fry em up. Ok, now I WANT this dessert!! 🙂

  13. IHeartVegetables Says:

    I’m glad you had a fun celebration!!! Happy Birthday, girl! 🙂

  14. leashieloo Says:

    Happy birthday, it looks like it was so much fun! I saw Tangled last weekend and thought it was adorable 🙂

  15. Bree Says:

    Happy belated birthday 🙂 I love Big Bowl. Yum!

  16. Amanda@The Grains of Paradise Says:

    Wow! Those egg rolls look delish!! My man would DIE for those! Must try!

  17. Nic Says:

    Mmmmm… that looks good! I bet you could recreate that at home. Happy belated Birthday!

  18. Jess Says:

    Those look delish! Glad you had a good birthday:)

  19. Sarena (The Non Dairy Queen) Says:

    Happy Birthday! I am glad you had a great one! The eggroll sounds delicious!

  20. Katie Says:

    Happy Belated Birthday love!!!!!! I see you had a great one!! Wow those drinks sound so good! Im craving a drink right now too, wish i had one, its been a rough week ; p

    Love ya and miss ya!

  21. Natalia - a side of simple Says:

    Happy late birthday! Your birthday dinner and drinks look amazing 🙂 I saw Tangled over Thanksgiving and absolutely loved it! I thought it was such a cute, good movie. Glad you like it, too!

  22. Meri Says:

    Glad you had a great birthday! If there wasn’t a foot of snow outside I would be on my way to get one of those banana-cashew rolls. Holy cow that looks yummy!
    Meri

  23. Wendy @ Seriously Sassy Says:

    Oh Holly – happy belated birthday, sweet lady!! I’m sorry I missed the actual day! It looks like you had a FABULOUS birthday – gorgeous flowers, Big Bowl, an adorable movie, and A NOOK!!!!!!! I just KNOW you will LOVE your new Nook!!!! I could NOT live without the eBooks reader on my iPad – use it a LOT! GO JASON- great gift for your woman!! 😀
    We loved “Tangled,” too. Totally agree that the chameleon was entirely too cute!

  24. BIOCHEMISTA Says:

    Happy Birthday dear!!!! Glad you had a great one! 🙂 XOXOX

  25. Sugar Cookie Jam Thumbprints | The Couch Potato Athlete Says:

    […] weekend is almost here! As you may recall, I got a Nook for my birthday, and last night I finally got a cover for […]


Leave a Reply

