Easy Peasy Pumpkiny Muffiny

Hi Friends πŸ™‚
Well, it only took me an hour and a half to get to work on Monday (usually it takes me 25-30 minutes…) It seems the amount of snow + budget cuts (?) equals terrible driving conditons, roads not paved well and tons of cars (and semi trucks!) in the ditch and blocking complete roads. Hopefully within a day or two things will be better!
Yesterday I was reading Shanna’s blog – and I saw the super easy fudge recipe she used — and it made me think of an old favorite: cake mix + can of pumpkin + chocolate chips = easy muffins.
I have been a baking fiend lately, and yesterday was no exception.
Easy Peasy Pumpkiny Muffiny
1 box cake mix (spice cake, yellow cake or devils food cake would work well)
1 15oz. can pumpkin
1/2 bag chocolate chips (or maybe pecans?)
Preheat oven to 350 degrees (or whatever the box mix specifies). Combine the cake mix with the pumpkin — keep stirring, it WILL eventually combine πŸ™‚ Throw in chocolate chips and fold together. Drop by spoonfuls into prepared muffin tins (or muffin liners) – batter will be pretty thick. Bake for 17-20 minutes (or whatever the box mix specifies).
Out of the oven:
As you can see, they don’t “rise” much — but they are pretty dense little muffins.
*
I want to say thank you to Katie for sending me this adorable prize (I won her blogiversary giveaway):
Can you tell what it is? (not the chocolate bar…) It is a CUPCAKE HAT!!!
Katie I absolutely love it — and I have worn it every.single.day since I got it!
Question: What is your favorite muffin? Banana nut is my favorite, and Averie’s recipe is really really good πŸ™‚
19 Responses to “Easy Peasy Pumpkiny Muffiny”

  1. Alaina Says:

    I love banana nut muffins! My favorite is pistachio. πŸ™‚

  2. Kate Says:

    ah! the hat is cute! and the old pumpkin and cake mix combo is always good. i think my favorite wintery muffin has got be gingerbread. the bakery near to my house in mpls made the best gingerbread and pear muffin. YUM!

  3. Averie (LoveVeggiesandYoga) Says:

    “terrible driving conditons, roads not paved well and tons of cars (and semi trucks!) in the ditch and blocking complete roads.”–

    Oh, I pity you and everyone w/ winter driving baloney you’re dealing with right now! A commute taking 90-120 mins was REGULAR for me when i lived in Chicago….traffic there is already worse than Mpls and snow just made it unbearable but i had my share of 2 hr Mpls traffic ordeals, too. Ugh.

    The hat. When you won, I wrote in Katie’s comments that I was thrilled to see such a sweet girl, from a COLD WEATHER state, win the hat…a total score! And you look adorable in it!

    This recipe for muffins, saw it in the height of “pumpkin season”, i.e. Oct/ Nov floating around on a blog somewhere and almost made it..but that recipe didnt use choc chips….yours looks better!!

    Thanks for the linky love, too πŸ™‚

  4. Kylie @ A Hungry Spoon Says:

    My mom makes this muffin recipe often (without chocolate chips) and she absolutely loves it! Sometimes she subs in mashed sweet potatoes.

    My favorite muffin recipe is Ellie Krieger’s recipe for pumpkin muffins–it’s hard to beat πŸ™‚

    Cute hat!

  5. Sara @ OurDogBuffy Says:

    Woo hoo! I made your pumpkin muffins into a bundt cake at Thanksgiving but didn’t put in chocolate chips. What a great idea to add those and then make them into cupcakes! I love the hat!

  6. Tina @ Faith Fitness Fun Says:

    Love those muffins! And your cap. πŸ™‚

  7. Mary @ Bites and Bliss Says:

    The town basically shuts down when it snows here since we hardly ever get it. I remember back when it mattered whether school was cancelled or not- a single flurrie would close the entire county!! I thank the lack of snowplows for that one. πŸ™‚

  8. Beth Says:

    That hat is ADORABLE!!! My favorite muffins are peanut butter chocolate chip. Not the healthiest but definitely delicious. πŸ™‚

  9. Hollie @ Lolzthatswim(andRun) Says:

    I made those muffins and Aram had the entire batch. I think I got one. With the spice cake so good. I ate half the batter though hehe. πŸ™‚

  10. Shanna, like Banana Says:

    Yay! glad to have inspired you πŸ˜‰ Cake cookies/bars/fudge/muffins are the best!

    Lovin’ the hat!

  11. spabettie Says:

    CUTE hat!! πŸ™‚

    those muffins look great, I may have to revisit them.

  12. leashieloo Says:

    The hat’s so cute! I’ve been seeing these muffins everywhere and am being slowly seduced.

  13. Jess Says:

    I love recipes that use box mixes like that- they are so easy !

  14. erica @ fashionmeetsfood Says:

    Your muffins look so delish! I just might give these bad boys a try. That cupcake hate is so cute. I am your newest follower.

    xo

  15. Gabriela @ Fro-Yo Lover Says:

    AWWWW!
    I want that cupcake hat!
    My sister just bought a cupcake-themed pair of ballet shoes!
    I’m so so jealous, hahaha.

  16. Maureen Johnson Says:

    Holly – that cupcake hat is so cute on you! And looky there – a Theo Chocolate bar — from Seattle!! πŸ™‚ Pumpkin chocolate chip muffins ARE my favorite. Thanks for sharing the easy recipe.

  17. whatkateiscooking Says:

    Pumpkin muffins are my favorite! I saw this idea on MegaNerdRuns, too πŸ™‚ I have to try it!

  18. Laury @thefitnessdish Says:

    Adorable hat!!!!

    Those muffins look so yummy, and easy!!!

    My fav muffins are probably blueberry!


Leave a Reply

