Dairy Free Beef Stroganoff

Hi Friends 🙂

I hope you day is going well!

For dinner on Wednesday night, I pulled some inspiration from one of my favorite blogs: N Her Shoes. I have been reading Bobbi’s blog for almost a year now. I loved reading about her marathon training, her recipes, her life! She has a strong faith which I appreciate and enjoy reading about. Last week she made Cooking Light’s Crockpot Beef Stroganoff, and it looked so good! I made a stove-top version since I didn’t have 8 hours!

Dairy Free Beef Stroganoff
 
I followed the Cooking Light recipe, except I made it on the stove top with browned ground beef and this “special ingredient”:

We get Tofutti brand soy cheese slices and cream cheese but I had never tried their sour cream. This dinner turned out so creamy 🙂

After dinner I worked out with Jillian:

I don’t have a kettlebell, so I used a handweight. It was a pretty good workout – it doesn’t seem hard at the time, but my legs were definitely sore the next day. I think this is the dvd that prompted all that scandal with Jillian? That she doesn’t have credentials or something? I can’t remember and to be honest I’m too lazy to look it up 🙂 If you have any idea what I’m talking about, let me know!

I’ve got some gifts to wrap and then Top Chef All Stars is on 🙂

Where do you get ideas/inspiration for your meals? Cookbooks? Cooking shows? Blogs? Family recipes?

11 Responses to “Dairy Free Beef Stroganoff”

  1. Kylie @ A Hungry Spoon Says:

    I’ve been wondering if the Shred it With Weights DVD was worth trying–good to know that you liked it (PS–did you hear that she’s leaving the Biggest Loser?!).

    I get most of my cooking ideas from magazines (Clean Eating and Cooking Light), as well as my arsenal of cookbooks, especially Moosewood cookbooks and a couple of my other favorite vegetarian standbys 🙂

  2. Michelle @ Chasing Ambulances Says:

    My favorite part of stroganoff is the egg noodles. Is that weird? I love the texture! I get recipe ideas from blogs, magazines, and a lot of times, my own head! For magazines I like Cooking Light, Real Simple, Everyday Food (Martha Stewart), and other times I just google away and see what I find. 🙂

  3. Hollie @ Lolzthatswim(andRun) Says:

    Do you like workout DVS? I have been wanting to try them but not sure if I want to spend a lot of money on them, only to discover they aren’t for me.

  4. Averie (LoveVeggiesandYoga) Says:

    I used to get inspired from the Food Network, like 10 yrs ago. But oh wait, i never actually made anything back then! I seriously think that years of watching it and doing NO COOKING from it made me the cook i am today. That and food allergies just kicked me from watching into doing; that or starve b/c i cant eat most commercially prepared foods without having reactions. And of course blog reading is inspiring but there is also alot of recycled content.

    I dont read N her Shoes, need to check that out.

    Btw, I see your comments on sooo many of the blogs i read, i am super impressed by your commenting!

  5. Tina @ Faith Fitness Fun Says:

    I get a lot of meal inspiration from blogs (like I just tagged that stroganoff recipe) and also from recipes friends share.

  6. Katie Says:

    I get too many magazines, and I am always clipping ideas out of them. And blogs, of course.

    That is the dvd that inspired the controversy. Just be careful with your form; I’ve heard that she does it all wrong. But if you are using dumbells, maybe it doesn’t matter as much?

  7. Shanna, like Banana Says:

    LOVE Top Chef All Stars, but so bummed that Jen got kicked off last week. I haven’t watched last night’s episode yet 😉

  8. emily (a nutritionist eats) Says:

    I didn’t hear about the Jillian scandal, but now I’m intruiged!!

  9. Gabriela @ Fro-Yo Lover Says:

    I gotta try this recipe ASAP 😀

  10. purplebirdblog Says:

    ZOMG… I love beef stroganoff and have dairy intolerances too… this is insane! Bookmarked! 🙂


Leave a Reply

