Sugar Cookie Jam Thumbprints

Hi Friends ๐Ÿ™‚
The weekend is almost here! As you may recall, I gotย a Nook for my birthday, and last night I finally got a cover for it:

I love that my Nook is protected and I love the faux leather — plus it has all sorts of neat pockets inside. I’m plugging through the second to last Sookie Stackhouse novel — I’ll be happy when I’m done with that series!
Our cookie baking/exchange party got rescheduled to tomorrow, so I made one more batch of cookies to share with the group. This were so simple, but they almost seem like I put some effort into them ๐Ÿ™‚
Sugar Cookie Jamย Thumbprints
Here you have a choice: make your own sugar cookie dough, or use store-bought. I went with Pillsbury ๐Ÿ™‚
And for the jam part of the cookie, I chose two flavors out of my Ikea jam stash:
I chose Cloudberry (no idea what that is!) and Blueberry.
Simply roll the dough into 1 inch balls (or smaller if you prefer), take a measuring spoon (or your thumb) and create a little “bowl” for your jam to sit in.
The Cloudberry cookies turned out really nice:
The blueberry ones exploded…I made the cookies too small and added waaaaaay too much jam. I’m sure they’ll still taste just as good ๐Ÿ™‚

Averie posted a ton of dessert recipes yesterday, check them out!
What is your favorite, super quick, easy, crowd-pleasing dessert?
22 Responses to “Sugar Cookie Jam Thumbprints”

  1. Matt Says:

    Everyone likes pie right? They are quick if you buy the crust ๐Ÿ˜‰

  2. Kate Says:

    i like jam cookies! i have the urge to bake one more thing before christmas. perhaps this will be it!

  3. Alaina Says:

    Whenever I have ripe bananas, I love whipping up some banana nut bread. Quick and easy for me! ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Kylie @ A Hungry Spoon Says:

    My favorite quick n’ easy company dessert is hot fudge pudding cake–super simple one bowl cake, and oh-so gooey and delicious ๐Ÿ™‚

    Your thumbprints look great!

  5. Averie (LoveVeggiesandYoga) Says:

    Awww thanks for the shoutout hon, you’re such a sweetheart ๐Ÿ™‚

    I think with the sugar cookies if you made the cookies more bowl-shaped, with more of a place for the jelly to “pool” up, like a little boat shape with the edges a lil higher up on the sides, you wont have the exploding problem but as you said, that clearly won’t effect taste :)..at all! I would gobble them up and as a kid my Grammy and i used to make thumbprint cookies every yr for xmas…such good memories for me.

    And i LOVE the cover you got for your nook. It reminds me of the case I got for my laptop. I posted about it once. It’s like a book cover looking case. I love what you chose!

  6. Tina @ Faith Fitness Fun Says:

    I can’t remember if I ever finished that series. I don’t think I have. Oops! Need to get the last book from the library.

  7. Hollie @ Lolzthatswim(andRun) Says:

    Cookies from a tube are my favorite. Everyone always likes them a little undercooked and adding frosting on top always wins. Also-pumpkin muffins are one of my favorites too.

  8. Beth Says:

    I just made chocolate covered pretzels last night for a work holiday party today. They are SO easy, require no cooking, and look so fancy even though they’re simple!

  9. Shanna, like Banana Says:

    Are the Sookie novels worth reading? I’ve watched Season one of True Blood and liked it!

  10. Katie Says:

    I am a big fan of just straight up chocolate chip cookies. Classic, and who doesn’t like them?!?

  11. Alisa Fleming Says:

    A good friend is from Sweden and she loves Cloudberry jam. I must admit, it is good, and sweet!

    Found your blog from Katie … I just might stick around ๐Ÿ™‚

  12. emily (a nutritionist eats) Says:

    Do you like the nook? I want to buy my brother an ereader for christmas…looking for recommendations!

  13. Gabriela @ Fro-Yo Lover Says:

    Loved the nook cover!
    I really really wanted one… I’ll ask Santa, maybe?
    Hahaha ๐Ÿ˜€

  14. Anne @ Food Loving Polar Bear Says:

    I really don’t have a recipe for a dessert that would be especially easy to make for me ๐Ÿ˜€

  15. Paige is Running Around Normal Says:

    Yum!
    I think the easiest one for me are the Rolo pretzel turtles!

  16. Jess Says:

    Those cookies look and sound super yummy!

  17. leashieloo Says:

    Your cookies look so festive! And wowzers on the Nook, what an awesome gift!

  18. whatkateiscooking Says:

    I love lingonberry jam from Ikea! I made raspberry bars once and subbed raspberry jam for lingonberry. It was very well received ๐Ÿ™‚

  19. Laury @thefitnessdish Says:

    Happy belated birthday!!!!!!

    Those cookie thingys look so easy and quick!!!

  20. bakebooks Says:

    Pillsbury is always good in a pinch ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Hope you got some good cookies at this party – because the others are getting great ones from you! ๐Ÿ™‚

  21. Nic Says:

    Favorite easy recipe is apple crisp with a little ice cream. I love the hot cold combo!

  22. Christmas Crack, Bark, Balls & More | The Couch Potato Athlete Says:

    […] Blogroll ← Sugar Cookie Jam Thumbprints […]


Leave a Reply

