Do you have Pooped-Out-Itis?

Hi Friends!

Thanks everyone for the warm welcome back!

I’m sure most of you have heard by now that Jack LaLanne died a few days ago, right? 

 (source)

I remember watching his infomercials for his juicer – and I really wanted one for the longest time. Then, when I finally did get a juicer, I never used it so I sold it on Craigslist. I don’t really miss it, but every once in a while I wish I had hung onto it. Too bad it took up so much space in my kitchen!

On the radio Monday morning they were playing clips of him speaking, and one of the quotes was Jack talking about how so many people are struggling with Pooped-Out-Itis. I agree! And somedays, I struggle with Pooped-Out-Itis too!

 Here is what I do to try to prevent POI:

1. Get plenty of rest. Some nights I go to bed at 9pm or even earlier. It feels good to wake up refreshed and not have to literally pry open my eyelids when my alarm goes off in the morning. There are nights that it takes me a while to fall asleep – if I am stressed or worried about something. Those nights, I find it helpful to tell myself to “think about those things tomorrow” and I mentally cross them off my “list”. Then I actually tell my brain “goodnight”! This may sound crazy, but it really helps me calm myself down and fall asleep.

2. Drink plenty of water. Whether it is hot (for tea) or cold, fluids keep me awake and energized. I drink at least 4 refills of this bottle per day:

And I have 2-3 cups of tea in the morning as well.

3. Exercise. For a few weeks there I was really not consistent with exercise, but I have my mojo back big time. I think getting a new yoga mat and kettlebell for Christmas lit a spark under me – as did signing up for Grandma’s Marathon! But also with exercise, comes a few days of rest. I love my rest days (Mondays and Fridays) and they help me exercise longer and better! (A few of you asked me about my kettlebell, I hope to do a whole post all about mine, what I like and don’t like, etc)

4. Eat well. When I eat junk, I feel like junk. And I feel sleepy and like a blob.

5. Caffeine. I try to limit caffeine by only drinking it before 1-2pm, but to be honest, most days that doesn’t happen. I’ll have some diet coke or a small cup of coffee mid day to give myself a boost.

6. Take mini breaks throughout the day – every couple of hours (when I am at work) I will stand up, stretch, and move around. Usually I just need a few neck rolls to keep myself from feeling so stiff. 

Do you suffer from Pooped-out-itis? What do you do to fight it?

I’m currently writing this post and watching The Biggest Loser. I know, I’ve written before how I really don’t like the show and it is unrealistic, etc but I can’t stop watching! Have you been watching this season? What do you think of the new trainers?And, guess who I saw at Mall of America on Saturday?

(That is Bob Harper for those of you who didn’t know!) No I didn’t get to meet him, the line was too long 😦

Enjoy your day!

Holly

21 Responses to “Do you have Pooped-Out-Itis?”

  1. Hollie @ Lolzthatswim(andRun) Says:

    Actually this is the blog I have been looking for. I have just been feeling really tired the last couple of weeks and over training was certainly not helping. Thanks Holly, I’m glad to know there are more people that go to bed before 9.

    • Holly Says:

      Sometimes I feel like I “miss” things (aka tv shows!) by going to bed early, but it is a must. I hate dragging around all day like a zombie from lack of sleep.

  2. Sharon Says:

    I go to bed before 9 allllll the time. I am definitely crazy – before 9 in my head I keep thinking oh it’s still early… right up until 8:59 and then suddenly at 9 my whole mindset changes and all of a sudden I feel like I really need to get a move on and get to bed. I often wake up at 4:15AM though so an early bedtime is an absolute must.

    • Holly Says:

      Sharon you are so right! I’m the same way. 8pm is “early” but when 9pm rolls around it is “bedtime”. I think I have that in my head since when I was younger my parents had 9pm as our bedtime.

  3. 1970kikiproject Says:

    three cheers for early-to-bed people!!! me, too! i like to get up at 5 a.m., so feel the best if i am in bed by 9:15 or so, then i can read a few minutes…and fall asleep asap!
    love your tips, holly – they all are common sense and not rocket science – the kind that are easier to stick with. most of the time. 🙂
    jack lalanne – what an inspiration, eh! i really admire seniors who are still athletes – something to aspire to.

  4. Matt @ The Athlete's Plate Says:

    I forgot to say welcome back!

    How is everything over there?

  5. Alaina Says:

    I definitely have Pooped-Out-Itis. I just can’t get myself to exercise! I even signed up for a half marathon in May but my training doesn’t start until February. Have to get my butt into gear! 🙂

  6. Stephanie @ The Cookie Battle Says:

    I love the Biggest Loser, but this season may be my last. I am not loving the new trainers, and once Jillian is gone, the show may have jumped the shark for me. I love Bob, even just to be that close to him I may have died of heart failure!

  7. purplebirdblog Says:

    At least 20 minutes of yoga most days has been helping my POI big time. And cleaning up my eating. Being in school had me really being lazy on some of my food choices, and it really started to take its toll.

  8. Beth Says:

    Love this list! And I am the SAME way – I hate so many things about TBL but somehow I can’t stop watching it. The transformations of the contestants are just mind boggling.

  9. Laury @thefitnessdish Says:

    I love Jack’s tips for Pooped-Out-Itis. RIP, Jack. I DO have his juicer. Have been using it for a while now. It does take up a lot of room in my tiny kitchen though.

    Very cool you saw Bob, even if you never got to meet him. I had no idea that the BL had new trainers????

  10. Angela (the diet book junkie) Says:

    glad to see you’re back dear! (love the new theme, btw!) i was a bit MIA myself (lack of internet will do that to you.) good luck on your marathon, i’m thinkin’ about doing a half this year myself. too bad on missing out on Bob Harper, i don’t watch the show but that is a fine looking man. 🙂

  11. Meesh Says:

    Eeee…you got to see Bob Harper! How very exciting 😀 lol doesn’t matter if you got to meet him or not to me, still super cool! I love the show too 🙂
    Great post!

  12. Averie (LoveVeggiesAndYoga) Says:

    My entire life my friend is one big series of pooped out itis. Adding a child to FT Job, wife, house, blog, friends, etc…just takes life from busy to extreme 🙂 Wonderful, but i always feel like i am RACING around!

    And now…i am racing to clean up spilled water…bye…
    🙂

  13. Early Bird Gets the Gym « The Couch Potato Athlete Says:

    […] side) and they both have birthdays in February. D will be 3 and F will be 4 – so adorable! Last time I was at MOA I saw Bob Harper, I wonder who I might see today? […]


Leave a Reply

