Think Outside The Bun: Taco Salad

Happy Friday!

Have you heard of the Taco Bell lawsuit?

I mean, I never thought Taco Bell used 100% beef with decent seasonings — but according to the claim, it only contains 36% beef? Taco Bell’s statement (from their website) claims their “meat mixture” contains 88% beef and 12% seasonings — Yes 88% is better than 36%, but doesn’t that still sound kind of gross?

Although I *love* tacos, I have not been to a Taco Bell in years. Instead, we just make them at home.

I had mine in salad form, but you get the idea!

Taco Salad:

Spinach/romaine base

Refried beans

Ground beef (seasoned with some salt, garlic powder and cayenne)

Bell pepper

Black olives

Avocado chunks

Salsa

A few pineapple chunks

 

Delicious. Sometimes we exclude the beef and have black beans instead – a nice meatless meal. I have to say that adding the pineapple was really good — it was a last minute thought but it really worked out nice!

What do you like on your tacos/taco salads?

It is finally Friday! What are your plans for the weekend?

Posted in Dinner. Tags: . 27 Comments »

27 Responses to “Think Outside The Bun: Taco Salad”

  1. Kate Says:

    hello holly!!!! i like the new blog layout!

    i really like olives and cilantro on taco salads. pineapple sounds like it would be a really nice addition. i must try this next time.

    i am hanging out with my mom today for some shopping and massages today then standard cleanind and errands tomorrow. yehaw 🙂

  2. Hollie @ Lolzthatswim(andRun) Says:

    I love the new blog layout as well!

    I have never actually been to Taco Bell and they have hundreds near me. I tend to make my own tacos…they are amazing! I love black olives the most.

  3. Kylie @ A Hungry Spoon Says:

    I LOVE Mexican food! When we make taco salad, I typically top it with roasted corn and tomatoes, black beans, avocado chunks, fresh cilantro, and crumbled blue corn tortilla chips. Yum 🙂

    Hope you have a great weekend!

  4. Alaina Says:

    I love crumbling some tortilla chips on my taco salad. I love the crunch! 🙂 That, salsa and cilantro.

  5. fitnfearless Says:

    I’m completely grossed out by Taco Bell’s meat situation – never ate the meat anyways (Vegetarian) so that’s the real reason I find it so gross :P.
    If you look at the ingredients though, they’re really the same things that are in all kinds of other boxed and processed goods. Many of the people who are freaked out by the taco bell find don’t realize they’re eating that crap in all of their other meals too.

  6. Beth Says:

    I loooove taco salads! My favorite taco filling lately has actually been lentils – it is SO good and hearty just like ground meat! Plus, super cheap. 🙂

  7. Maria @ Oh Healthy Day Says:

    I am so glad that my lifestyle including Taco Bell is behind me. It was hard to give up easy fast food Friday nights, but now the thought eating at those places grosses me out!

    I Looooveee pineapple in any salad 🙂

  8. Heather @ Get Healthy With Heather Says:

    Pineapple?! What a treat! I’m totally adding that to my next taco salad. Love taco salads, but homemade ones. They always turn you much better.

  9. purplebirdblog Says:

    Pineapple! That is sheer genius.

  10. emily (a nutritionist eats) Says:

    I love a good taco salad! There is something so satisfying about them to me… never though of pineapple, I usually stick with the basics.

  11. mostlyfitmom Says:

    We’re having taco salad tonight, actually. I like ground beef, black beans, chopped tomatoes, avocados (of course), shredded TexMex cheese mix, salsa, spicy ranch dressing (but not too much, of course), corn, usually on a bed of spinach. Pineapple was something I’d never considered, but now you’ve got me thinking.

  12. bakebooks Says:

    Cheese and salsa are mandatory…the rest is negotiable 🙂

  13. lowandbhold Says:

    Gross! Both sound really bad. I’ve never been a Taco Bell person, and when I did go it was only for the cheesey fiesta potatoes 🙂

  14. 1970kikiproject Says:

    ok, that’s scary, eh! let’s say the “meat” is anywhere from 36-88% beef…just what IS the filler?!!! eesh!
    you know, i don’t think i’ve ever eaten at a taco bell! i think i’m ok with that, too!
    i do like a homemade taco salad, though – so many options for toppings. my faves would be fresh tomato, salsa, beans, olives.
    enjoy your weekend, holly!

  15. Averie (LoveVeggiesAndYoga) Says:

    the taco salad looks awesome!

    and i make raw taco nut “meat”…with ground nuts, sundried tomatoes and seasonings and dare i say that scott likes it better than meat/taco salad.

    i just like lots of veggies on mine!

    have a great weekend holly!

  16. Kayla Says:

    Just last year I loooved Taco Bell! Haha, oh how things have changed! Now I don’t even go out to eat, I like making my own meals at home: I know exactly what goes into them and don’t have to worry about anything “weird”!

  17. Angela (the diet book junkie) Says:

    yes, i would be all over that salad (minus the beef.) extra black olives and extra hot salsa is a must for me!

    my weekend was pretty tame. just caught up with some friends and enjoyed the Australian summer sun. hope you had a good one! 🙂

  18. Jess Says:

    Yeah, I heard about that taco bell thing–SO NASTYYYYY!!

    Your taco salad looks, on the other hand, quite delicious ❤

  19. Brittany (A Healthy Slice of Life) Says:

    I love tacos, too! I love adding guacamole… it’s addicting. And lettuce shreds… I know they have no nutritional value, but they are deliciously crunchy!

  20. Sara @ OurDogBuffy Says:

    The addition of pineapple sounds so good! I love tacos 🙂

  21. leashieloo Says:

    I’m with you, why can’t it be 100% beef? Is that too much to ask!? Your salad however, looks amazing. No joke.

  22. Andrea@Thin Thighs & Sweet Potato Fries Says:

    I heard about this lawsuit and was so grossed out as well. I used to LIVE at Taco Bell throughout high school and college. Thankfully I was partial to their chicken tacos, though I’ve heard rumors those are made with Ostrich meat…Either way, I haven’t eaten there in over a year and don’t plan on it again anytime soon!

    This is my first time visiting your blog by the way, but likely won’t be my last! 🙂


Leave a Reply

