The Magnificent BALT

Hi Friends!

***Note: a few of you asked me about Grandma’s Marathon — it is a regular 26.2  mile marathon, Grandma’s is a restaurant in Duluth, MN who is the major sponsor of the race. Click *here* for more information***

 Thanks for all the recipe ideas – I am definitely going to try some of them soon.

First up, a “new recipe” to me:

Gina’s Amazeballs (click for original recipe)

I made these for Jason, who has been working long long hours, so I thought he’d appreciate having some more snacks at work.

I used oats instead of coconut, but they held together really nicely!

I went to the gym tonight and ran 3.5 miles on a 2% incline. I caught up on some Real Housewives — and I read (I can’t remember where) that there is a Miami season coming out soon? Anyone else hear that?

I felt really good after my run but I was ready to eat! Enter The Magnificent BALT:

 Bacon. Avocado. Lettuce. Tomato. B. A. L. T.

I had it open faced with carrots roasted with cinnamon. This could be one of my absolute favorite meals. I could eat this every day!

Tonight I’m going to start going through my cookbooks:

I picked up a bunch of them from the library – I am excited about 5 Ingredient Fix and Veganomicon. I am not a Vegan, but I appreciate their recipes because they do not contain dairy (something Jason and I do our best to avoid) and their recipes are fairly “clean”. And although I love roasted veggies, sometimes you need a little variety in how to prepare veggies, dontcha think?

1. What is your favorite veggie? I definitely love sweet potatoes, but carrots come close behind – maybe because they are orange as well???

2. Any fun plans for the weekend? I am heading out to Mall of America to do some birthday shopping for our niece, and maybe (maybe) I’ll watch some of the Super Bowl on Sunday. Are you going to watch? Who are you cheering for?

Have a great weekend,

 Holly

33 Responses to “The Magnificent BALT”

  1. Hollie @ Lolzthatswim(andRun) Says:

    My favorite veggie is sweet potato. My favorite green and typical veggie though is spinach but tied with mushrooms. I’m finally going to see black swan this weekend yay!

    Those amazeballs look amazing. I’m going to have to try them!

  2. Kate Says:

    i love BLTs! ok, i love anything with bacon.

    my weekend is a little sucky and i am trying not to be bitter about it. i have to close the store on saturday evening and have an all day research sem on sunday. boooooooo! luckily i have today off but have nobody to play with 😦

  3. Kylie @ A Hungry Spoon Says:

    The amaze-balls look tasty–I don’t use protein powder, so I’m thinking maybe I could sub in ground flaxseed?

    Have a great weekend!

  4. Cathy K Says:

    what a great idea to add the AVACADO to the BLT – smashing! i’m going to try it!
    fave veg?? toss up between salad, celery, zucchini – i like my veggies RAW!!
    real housewives – yup, besides jersey shore, they are my other guilty pleasure. i still need to see D.C., though!
    great work on the amazeballs! husbands love the homemade treats to take to work, eh! as long as there’s choc chips in it, my husband is not too picky on the other ingredients!
    have a great weekend, holly, and happy training!

    • Holly Says:

      Cathy I could put avocado on anything — but it really works on a BLT because it kind of acts as a mayo/mustard substitute.

      I couldn’t get into the DC gals — my favorites are OC and NYC!

  5. Matt @ The Athlete's Plate Says:

    My favorite veggie is brussel sprouts. Mmm 😉

    Carrots roasted with cinnamon? Totally trying that!

    • Holly Says:

      I love cinnamon on just about anything, but it tastes good on carrots! Just a little oil, salt, pepper and cinnamon and you’re good to go!

  6. Melissa @ For the Love of Health Says:

    I love the BALT!
    I think red bell peppers may be my favorite veggie but honestly, I love them all!

  7. Stephanie @ The Cookie Battle Says:

    It’s hard to pick my favorite veggie…I love brussel sprouts, string beans, broccoli…basically anything green 😉

    Fun plans for the weekend include cooking and getting my hair fully done for the first time in a long time, so excited!

  8. Alaina Says:

    I love broccoli, asparagus and carrots.

    I am loving my weekend; David and I leave for Vegas on Sunday!! Tomorrow will be a busy day of packing and working. 🙂

  9. Jen @ keepitsimplefoods Says:

    Ooooh love the idea of the BALT! I’m a veggie though so I’d probably make mine and ALT and skip the B.

  10. Beth Says:

    My favorite veggie is a tie between sweet potatoes, parsnips, and kale. Love them all!

  11. Jess Says:

    My favorite veggie is brussel sprouts:)
    I’m going home this weekend!! I’m excited!

  12. Tina @ Faith Fitness Fun Says:

    Um, a BALT sounds delicious! What a great combo.

  13. emily (a nutritionist eats) Says:

    Your BALT looks amazing, I want one for lunch!

  14. Jenna Says:

    Love the idea of a BALT! I could go for one right now!

    My favorite veggie would have to be snap peas!

  15. purplebirdblog Says:

    BALT is sheer brilliance, m’lady!

    My favorite veggie – Brussels sprouts for sure! Followed closely by sweet potatoes! 🙂

  16. Averie (LoveVeggiesAndYoga) Says:

    The balls look great. It makes me want to make my own raw vegan choc chip cookie dough balls. And of course try Gina’s recipe too 🙂

    Fave veggie….hmmm this would be greens, broccoli, or tomatoes (not tech a veggie tho)

    Enjoy the MOA if you end up going!

  17. Jess Says:

    Those balls look delectable!! Hehe 😉


Leave a Reply

