Green & Gold Breakfast

Hi Friends ๐Ÿ™‚

How sad that the weekend is almost over! It always goes by so quickly (same with summer in MN, it never sticks around long enough).

So I finished 5 miles yesterday morning โ€“ and it was tough! Usually anything over 3 miles is a challenge (and hello 10+ or 15+ are super challenging for me) but I pushed through.

I took a few walking breaks, but generally my pace was 10 min/mile with a 1-2% incline. Iโ€™m happy with that on the treadmill for now, but weโ€™ll see what my pace is once I start running outside. It was actually โ€œwarmโ€ (30+ degrees!) this weekend, but there is still plenty of snow and ice and SLUSH on the sidewalks. No thanks.

I did have some IT band pain today, so I foamrolled for a while and that seemed to help. I also did some strength training at home (basic stuff like squats, lunges, planks, pushups, etc). Saturday afternoon we went to the Mall of America and it was a total mobscene. I have mentioned on the blog previously that I get easily overwhelmed in large crowds, loud, noisy places, etc so the MOA trip was not the greatest. But it was nice to walk around for a while and pick up a few gifts.

As part of my Feb goals, I tried a new recipe this morning! Spabettieโ€™s Spinach Pancakes.

I blended up the flour, spinach and egg in my Magic Bullet:

I cut down the recipe and used ground oats instead of rice flour, but they still tasted pretty good! I ate them with a fried egg in between, and to be honest anything covered with a runny egg tastes amazing!

Thank you Spabettie โ€“ the best part was how GREEN they turned out! (So with the GREEN pancakes and GOLD runny egg — should I cheer for the Packers today?)

Todayโ€™s plans include fun things like laundry, vacuuming, cleaning, dusting, etc. But I hope to get some reading in as well. Iโ€™m plugging through Love & Respect

The idea of the book is quite simple: the author describes how husbands want respect from their partners and wives want love — and in arguments, it almost always boils down to the husband feeling disrespected or the wife feeling unloved. The author talks a lot about conflict resolution which is wonderful information for married couples, or anyone for that matter. We all fall in to conflict at some point โ€“ whether at work, at school, with our parents/siblings, spouses, significant others, friends, etc. Knowing how to share your views/opinions/complaints in an effective matter is something that everyone needs to learn.

Alright Iโ€™m off to start some chores around the house! Maybe Iโ€™ll turn on the Super Bowl while Iโ€™m folding laundry ๐Ÿ™‚

*Are you watching the big game today?

*Are you good at resolving conflict? Do you tend to avoid it or do you confront it head on?

Enjoy your day!

Holly

19 Responses to “Green & Gold Breakfast”

  1. Michelle @ Chasing Ambulances Says:

    Those spinach pancakes look so perfectly round and cute. A standing pigeon pose really helps my IT band. I should probably take my own advice…

  2. Matt @ The Athlete's Plate Says:

    Those pancakes look REALLY COOL! I need to try that ๐Ÿ˜‰

  3. mostlyfitmom Says:

    I’m terrible with conflict. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

    I don’t think I’ll be watching the game today. This is first year in a long time that we aren’t having people over, but I’ve got a few other things I want to do instead. Oh well – next year. ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Shanna, like Banana Says:

    Yep watching the game and rooting for the PACK! You should too ๐Ÿ˜‰

  5. purplebirdblog Says:

    Your pancakes look fantastic!! I will be doing homework instead of watching the game, but I’d be rooting for the Packers if I were watching. And Alex and I definitely solve our conflicts as they come up… we don’t believe in holding it in so it all bubbles out later during another argument where it’s not even relevant anymore (“Well you ________________ 6 months ago and it pissed me off). I love that about us. ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. Kristina @ spabettie Says:

    I love that you made them TODAY – so, YES that means you should root for the Pack!! ๐Ÿ™‚

    yours look awesome… I still have not tried to make them sweet, because I make them a lot for sandwich “bread”, but don’t you think if you add applesauce or some sweetener they’d be just like a traditional pancake? YUM.

    HAPPY SUNDAY!!

  7. Cathy K Says:

    those pancakes are hilariously green! spinach makes great food colouring, eh?! love it!
    we are going to a party but i am not that into the game…i would like to see some unique and funny commercials, though!
    BAD at confrontation. i avoid it as much as possible.
    cheer for the packers!! they’re geographically closest to you! ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. Averie (LoveVeggiesAndYoga) Says:

    thanks for the book review. there are so many self-help, make-over your life, marriage, self, etc type books out there and most of them are either soo goofy or so common sense that they arent worth my time. glad to know that one is a keeper!

    and the green pancakes. WOW they are super green. And i never use my MBullet. This reminded me that i should!

  9. Mary @ Bites and Bliss Says:

    Whoa, those pancakes look awesome! And good job on the run, too. Doing 5 miles on a treadmill’s saying a lot since it’s hard to zone out on those things. Hope your IT band’s feeling better.

  10. Simply Life Says:

    what a creative way to use spinach and eat eggs- I’ve never seen this before!

  11. Jess Says:

    Those pancakes look SO green–love it ๐Ÿ˜€

  12. Angela (the diet book junkie) Says:

    great job on the run! that books looks really interesting as well, i think i’ve read good things about it. you’ll have to keep us posted!

    hope you’re enjoying your weekend!

  13. thatrunnerchick Says:

    No game for me today–reruns of Law and Order SVU instead ๐Ÿ™‚
    I am a total avoider, Ill do anything to avoid conflict!!

    Those spinach pancakes have me totally intrigued!

  14. Meryl @ Scribbled Musings Says:

    Beautiful art project. I love seeing the neat things people did to keep their hands busy during the game.

  15. Jos Says:

    Interesting recipe! I might wanna give this a try with some minor tweaks ๐Ÿ˜‰

  16. February Goals Update « The Couch Potato Athlete Says:

    […] ย ย ย ย ย  Spinach Pancakes […]


Leave a Reply

