Lonely, Lovely Morning

Hi Friends!

Jason had to go to work today so we were up early – which really stinks 😦 Usually on Sundays we can sleep until at least 8 but this morning we were up before 6! It is lonely being home all alone in the morning though!

As much as it sounds like I’m complaining, I’m really not. I don’t enjoy the act of getting up early, but I never regret it. I get so much done. I am caught up on laundry, I changed the sheets, vacuumed the main floor and the steps (the worst job!) and I got in some reading too. Not bad, eh?

Yesterday we went to our niece’s 3rd birthday party – we had a Tea Party and got to decorate our own tea cup (Jason chose a little tea pot instead!)

Jason stuck with the Alice in Wonderland theme (check out the Mad Hatter!) and I tried to do a nice design. “Tried” is the key word there!

I chose not to take any picture when I was there. If I had kids I wouldn’t want someone putting pictures of them on their blog (unless I was asked or unless it was my kids on my blog because then it is up to me!) But all in all, we had a wonderful time, and my sister-in-law loaded me up with lots of goodies:

Beautiful strawberries, blueberries, ham, mini waffles/pancakes (Jason loved those!), honey roasted peanuts and tons of candy!

My plans for the day include doing some more cleaning, a few errands (a Trader Joe’s trip?), possibly visiting Jason at work for lunch, and making dairy free alfredo tonight – I can’t wait to bust out my new can of Nutritional Yeast (I’ve never used any before!):

What are your plans for the day?

Do you post pictures of your friends/family on your blog (if you have one)? Do you ask their permission first?

Are you a morning person? How can I become one? 🙂

~Holly

14 Responses to “Lonely, Lovely Morning”

  1. Olivia Says:

    I’m definitely a morning person! I totally recommend you try doing yoga first thing in the morning; it literally wakes you up and is SO invigorating!! Stop over to my blog and I’ve got a post all about it…it’s like the 2nd most recent! xoxo

  2. joanna Says:

    You’re in MN, correct? I’m super curious where you found that nutritional yeast! I go through that stuff quickly, and have only ever found it at Whole Foods & in bulk at co-ops ($$$)…

  3. mostlyfitmom Says:

    I’m not a morning person. At all. I’m not sure there’s a way to become one, either. I sort of thought that it would come naturally as I aged, but that’s just not the case. Even though I’m up before 7am most days, it’s only because I have to. I have never, EVER, in my life woken up eager to get out of bed. I always want more sleep. 🙂

    I’ve got lots of plans today, but I need to sort them out. So much to get done! Have a good one.

  4. Mary @ Bites and Bliss Says:

    I used to be weary of posting friends or family on my blog, but now that they know about it..they kind of get excited! They ask if I’ll put them on their and if I say yes they’re like “Ohhh..we’ll be famous! ;)” haha

  5. Beth Says:

    I post friends/family on my blog but everyone knows about my blog and a lot of people ask if I will take their photo! I’ve never been in the situation with other people’s kids though – that’s a tricky one!

  6. 1970kikiproject Says:

    TOTALLY a morning person!!! i get up at 5 a.m. and 5-7 a.m. is my favourite quiet time.
    i do post pics on my blog but get permission first, esp if it’s kids. i do understand respecting people’s privacy. happy i have my brother and SILs permission to post about my nieces, though!
    i love nutritional yeast! hope your recipe tonight turns out!

  7. Averie (LoveVeggiesAndYoga) Says:

    that’s the brand of nooch i use! i think youll love nooch! however if you dont “love” it at first, give it time. when i first started using it it tasted so strong to me…now when a recipe calls for 2 tbsp, i put in 1/3 c type thing 🙂

    “If I had kids I wouldn’t want someone putting pictures of them on their blog “–amen.
    I am more and more selective about how many pics of skylar i put up, never of other ppl’s kids, and even with my own friends, i ASK them if they are cool w/ being on my blog and most of them…dont want to be! they dont want the public spectacle, internet/forever thing, etc which i totally respect 🙂

  8. Bianca @ Confessions of a Chocoholic Says:

    I’ve heard great things about nutritional yeast but haven’t tried it myself yet!

    I love sleeping in but am trying my best to be a morning person, precisely because of what you said – I get so many things done when I wake up early!

  9. Kris | iheartwellness.com Says:

    Hahaha, I actually like being home alone for these reasons too of gettin’ ‘er done! I get so much done when I am all by myself.

    What a cute idea to decorate tea pots and cups! I love it!

    I really like the mornings. I just follow my set morning routine of drinking lots of water, writing in my journal, 20 min workout and breakfast and I am a happy camper 😉

    xxoo

  10. Jess Says:

    Beautiful flowers ❤

  11. purplebirdblog Says:

    I have never been and will never be a morning person… nocturnal at heart! NOOOOOOOOOOCH. I can’t wait to hear how you liked your alfredo sauce! And yes, I totally ask for permission to put folks on the blog.

  12. Jess Says:

    I am not a morning person, so don’t take any advice from me!! Haha. I like staying up late, so that doesn’t make for a fun morning:)

    those tea cups are so cute!

  13. Alaina Says:

    I was certainly not a morning person this morning! I couldn’t get myself up and didn’t until 10AM. The bed was too comfortable. 🙂


Leave a Reply

