Killer at Large

Hi Friends!

I hope you’re having a great day 🙂

I wanted to mention a documentary that Jason and I recently watched:

If you have a Netflix subscription, please check out all of the instant play documentaries on there. I have found plenty that I want to watch over the next few weeks. Killer at Large is all about the obesity epidemic, and the movie was quite good!

We hear from different experts (including Michael Pollen – the author of the book I am reading), farmers, teachers, athletic directors and lunch ladies. The movie discusses many different ideas as to why our nation is as overweight and obese as it is, starting with advertising to kids, what corporations get government subsidies, school lunches, vending machines, the food guide pyramid, etc.

The part I didn’t like (or maybe I just wasn’t paying attention enough) was when they showed a Northeastern city (I can’t remember the name) that received some sort of grant to make their city “healthy” – so they paved walkways and made bike lanes, businesses gave benefits to employees who walked/biked to work, they had info centers about nutrition, they gave certain restaurants “seals of approval” if they had good menu choices (fresh produce, decent portions, etc). All of that seemed great, but at the end they said that they needed $15 Million dollars to continue the project but they only received $150,000 – and they emphasized that it was such a disaster that they didn’t get the $15 Million – that was for one small city! Again, maybe I misunderstood, but that seemed ridiculous!

I made it to the gym last night and I need new shoes. Badly. I realize that the shoes I have are almost a year old and have tons of miles on them – so tonight I am going to go get refitted and a new pair of shoes. I did get 5 miles completed:

The guy next to me on the treadmills kept singing along to his headphones – but he didn’t say the swear words, he would say the word “beep” – I tried to not laugh and he was too into his workout to notice me at all!

I came home and fixed myself a smoothie. Usually I have a smoothie for breakfast, but this works out so well after going to the gym –

Blueberry Flax Oatmeal Smoothie

4 ice cubes
1 scoop protein powder
1 TBSP ground flaxseed
¼ cup old fashioned oats
¼ cup blueberries
½ banana
1 cup vanilla soy milk

And I thought I’d bring back the Big Mac glass (to go with the movie review, makes sense, right?)  🙂

Afterward I tried making my own Cashew Butter – it worked OK in my Magic Bullet, but it took forever to get even close to the consistency I wanted. So I’m not going to bother putting up pictures until I get something figured out. I have a freezer full of raw nuts from Trader Joe’s with the intention of making my own nut butter – I guess I need a food processor perhaps?

*What is the last movie you watched? Did you like it?

32 Responses to “Killer at Large”

  1. blackhuff Says:

    A movie that made a big impact on me was Food Inc. In that movie, they also show you that you have to be aware of what you eat because even if it does say “Low Fat” it have hidden sugars they don’t mention to make that Low Fat product taste better.
    Will look out for this movie you mentioned here where I live.

    • Holly Says:

      I haven’t seen Food Inc, only because I don’t like watching footage of abused animals (and I hear that movie shows lots of scenes like that) — but I am so interested in the movie anyway!

  2. 1970kikiproject Says:

    ooo, i don’t have netflix but love documentaries – would LOVE to see the one that you watched. thanks for your comments – i always like reading your book and movie reviews.
    too bad we don’t live closer! since i work at a running store, it would be so fun to help you choose new shoes – can’t wait to see what you end up with!!!

    • Holly Says:

      I didn’t know you work at a running store — I have thought that would be a fun place to work — especially the ones who have running workshops, etc.

  3. Sharon Says:

    I always find those movies so depressing. They make me feel like it’s just impossible to turn things around and help America get healthy again. That being said, I’ll still probably watch it.

    • Holly Says:

      You are so right — it was pretty depressing! But at the same time, it opened my eyes to different reasons as to “why” our nation is so overweight. I tried to watch it from an educational standpoint instead of looking at what I personally can do to change things.

  4. Matt @ The Athlete's Plate Says:

    Not sure how that is a bad thing? I think what that city is going is great!

    • Holly Says:

      I thought the $15 Million dollar price tag was ridiculous — to me they could have still made a difference with the $150,000. The way they showed it, to me it looked like “well, we can’t do anything with $150,000 so we give up”.

  5. Hollie @ Lolzthatswim(andRun) Says:

    Ooh that sounds really good. I love documentary movies about the obesity epidemic.

  6. Beth Says:

    Ohh I’ve heard good things about that documentary… I’ll have to add it to me queue!

  7. Stephanie @ The Cookie Battle Says:

    Haha it’s nice that he was considerate enough to say Beep but at the same time, the singing is almost as offensive as the swearing!

  8. Alaina Says:

    Is it bad that I can’t remember the last movie I saw? haha. I guess we just don’t watch movies all that often. Or I have a bad memory.

    I’m really interested in this documentary though! I’ll have to put it on my queue.

  9. Maria @ Oh Healthy Day Says:

    Fast Food Nation really impacted me. I never had too much fast food, but a few years ago, we’d enjoy some on Friday nights and occasionally on road trips. After watching that, I have hardly touched the stuff since.

    I definitely want to check this one out!

  10. Parita@myinnershakti Says:

    The last movie I watched was “My Girlfriend’s Boyfriend.” I wanted to watch a fun, cute movie and found this one on Netflix. I am a romantic at heart, so I really liked it. It was great for a Sunday afternoon. 🙂

  11. Jenny Says:

    That’s so funny about the guy running next to you! 🙂

  12. Christin@purplebirdblog Says:

    LMAO at the “beep” guy… too funny!!!

  13. Mary @ Bites and Bliss Says:

    hahaha! I would have laughed so hard to hear him say “beep” through the cusswords. That’s hilarious. 😛

  14. emily (a nutritionist eats) Says:

    Thank you so much for the movie recommendation!
    THat is right up my alley!

  15. Averie (LoveVeggiesAndYoga) Says:

    making your own nut butter…
    first, you dont really need to freeze raw nuts unless you plan on storing them for a ridic long time. I never freeze mine but im sure there is evidence saying you could/should, i just dont.

    Make sure they are room temp when making nutbutter.

    Cashews are a super soft nut compared to almonds. They will blend easier than other nuts. I soak my cashews when making vegan cheezecake and although the water may not work for nut butter, it’s one way to do it.

    The other way is to just grind, blend, and blend some more. It takes like 10 mins+ in a GOOD food proc or Vita. In a bullet, maybe more?

    The movie. That’s it’s own comment but this is long enough 🙂

    • Holly Says:

      Honestly I keep the nuts in the freezer because I do forget about them for months. Not sure if that counts as a ridic long time 🙂

      I’ll try soaking them — I do wonder if the magic bullet is just not strong enough. I have a hell of a time when I try to use dates in the MB — it gets so clogged. I end up chopping the dates super finely by hand.

  16. bakebooks Says:

    My movies are not educational like yours…at all…um, “Dinner For Schmucks”? 😉

  17. Sarena (The Non Dairy Queen) Says:

    I have that movie in my cue! We watched a movie about a man that lived in Alaska and built his house all on his own and lived off the land. It’s an incredible story and so inspiring!

  18. Laury @TheFitnessDish Says:

    I told Michael we need to get Netflix…the instant rental thing makes me want to! Before, mailing in and mailing back was not attractive to me.

    Your smoothie looks great…it sounded great when you told me about it today. Seeing it makes it even more appealing!

  19. Kylie @ A Hungry Spoon Says:

    Thank you for the Killer at Large movie review–I’m somewhat addicted to the documentary category on Netflix, and I’m always looking for a good recommendation! I loved “Supersize Me,” so it sounds like I’d enjoy this one as well 🙂

    Hope you’re having a great week so far!

  20. Crystal Says:

    Hehe I was going to comment on your choice of glass but it seems like you beat me to the punch. 🙂 It’s kinda funny, I had a Nintendo game when I was little called McKids and it was basically a McDonalds video game. The people in the game were slightly overweight, too. 😛

    It has been a long time since I last watched a movie, but a friend of mine suggested a documentary called “Petals – Journey of Self Discovery.” It is about female things that we normally don’t discuss (so be warned if you look it up while at work or whatever!) So I will end it there. But that’s what I will be watching this upcoming week. 🙂 I like watching things that I feel will enrich my life somehow.

  21. Alycia [Fit n Fresh] Says:

    Ohhhh totally netflixing this!! I love you, but my boyfriends gonna hate you when I commandeer his tv 😉

  22. Leslie Says:

    I love documentaries, so i’ll have to check that one out. Just found your blog!

    I just saw Biutiful, and it beats Dear Zachary as the most soul-crushing and sad film I’ve ever seen. Streaming tears throughout. I don’t know if it was worth it, but Javier Bardem was uh-mazing .

    ps. love the idea of putting some oatmeal in my smoothie. gonna have to try that…

  23. Jess Says:

    Thanks for the review!!! I have a list of documentaries on netflix I want to watch, I’ll add this to it:)


Leave a Reply

