Eggs + Tomatoes

Hi Friends  🙂
 
Going back to my movie review yesterday, I did want to make one “warning” – the beginning of the movie shows a 12 year old girl who wants to get (and ends up getting) liposuction. Those scenes were hard to watch (ok I didn’t watch, I covered my eyes until  Jason told me I could look) – I could never work in health care, I cannot watch any type of surgery (real or fake!). 
 
It was a beautiful day in MN today! But the forecast shows that it will be cold again this weekend – boooo!!!!! I never made it to Running Room to get refitted for shoes, but I’ll go Friday night. Friday is a rest day for me so I’ll have plenty of time after work. 
 
Thursday night I did get out and run 3 miles – it felt great! I went to the gym and it wasn’t super crowded. The only problem is that my left knee really started to hurt about  a mile into my run — I’m hoping new shoes will help. It almost feels like my knee is full of fluid? I stretched and foam rolled after my run, but it still feels kind of strange. I will definitely need to monitor that!

For dinner, I knew I wanted eggs  🙂  When do I not want eggs? So I went to my fellow egg-lover friend Matt’s blog and used his recipe for Eggs Baked in a Spicy Tomato Sauce.


 
Click here for the recipe. I followed the recipe, although I didn’t blend the sauce, I left it chunky! – and I reserved a bunch of the sauce in the fridge and only made 2 servings with the eggs (I only had 2 ramekins and now it is ready for breakfast in the morning!)
 

 
I never was a big fan of tomatoes or salsa with eggs, but I am starting to love it more and more. Matt this tasted fantastic! Jason loved it too and it was a very satisfying meal. And seriously, any meal with a runny egg is a good one!

I hope you have a Happy Friday! I’ll leave you with a picture of my sister Myra’s new dog:

His name is Peter Sam and is named after a train from these stories.

 Myra, her husband Tyler and Peter Sam live in Texas so I will not get to meet Peter Sam for a few more months  😦
 
*What are your plans for the weekend?
 
*Do you have any pets? What are their names?

Enjoy your weekend! ~ Holly

Posted in Dinner, Marathon. Tags: . 25 Comments »

25 Responses to “Eggs + Tomatoes”

  1. Kate Says:

    i love that dog! art and i have been wanting a dog big time since the fall. sooooo cute!!!

  2. retzersintexas Says:

    HOLLY!!!!! Peter Sam says thanks for the shout-out.

  3. blackhuff Says:

    What a cute puppy… awe
    That egg recipe looks devine. I eat eggs on a Saturday morning. Gonna try this tomorrow morning.
    Plans for this weekend? Resting and camping out at home.
    Pets? No cause my child is allergic to them. My child comes first before any pet.
    Enjoy your weekend.

  4. Sharon Says:

    I knew as soon as I saw “Eggs” in the title that it was your post 😉
    I often deal with knee pain when running. It’s incredibly frustrating – I hope you figure yours out and that the new shoes help!
    What a cute puppy! I realize this is a strange comment but I love how all his skin spreads out when he lays down! I think this must be similar to thinking chubby babies are super cute.

    • Holly Says:

      I agree that his wrinkly skin is so adorable — and I know what you mean about it “spreading out”. I just can’t wait to meet him in person.

      And yes, I hope new shoes help my knee too! Have you ever gotten your knee checked out?

      • Sharon Says:

        I haven’t been to a doctor for it. I’m very anti doctor, I like to let things work themselves out. The pain is usually manageable so I tend to just try to ignore it… and by that I mean I stretch and foam roll daily. If I continue to have issues I may break down and see a doctor. I have some vibrums and am slowly working towards running more in them – hoping that helps some. I’ve been fitted for shoes and told I have a neutral foot, however, I just switched out my running shoes for a new pair (same model) and looked at the wear pattern on the shoes. Interestingly, the heel of my right shoe (right knee is the one with pain) is worn down on the outside. The left shoe doesn’t have the same wear pattern.

  5. 1970kikiproject Says:

    AHHHHH!!! i didn’t know the running store you were going to go to was RR!!! THAT’S WHO I WORK FOR!!! and we have only really moved into minnesota in the states…TOO FUNNY!!! can’t wait to hear about your customer service/shoe fitting/purchase, once you get there!!
    i think new shoes will def help your knee. and you did the right thing with the foam roller and stretching.
    i love eggs for dinner, too!
    super fun weekend ahead with work, socials, and a movie sunday eve.
    hope you have a great weekend, holly!!!

    • Holly Says:

      That is so cool that you work for RR — I used to go to a little running shop (Run N Fun — I don’t think it is a chain) but then I found a RR that is way closer to our house. I went there last year and it was a great experience — the employees were friendly and really helpful and the sport beans/clif bar selection was great and they were cheaper than other stores around here.

      Have a great weekend Cathy!

  6. Alaina Says:

    Awww, that puppy is so cute!

    Today I’m just packing and cleaning. Tomorrow I’ll be working and still no plans for Sunday. I like those up in the air days! 🙂

  7. Beth Says:

    Ohhh that dish looks awesome. I’m totally with you – I love eggs and can eat them anywhere, any time, for any meal. Yum!

  8. Christin@purplebirdblog Says:

    We were on the same wavelength with eggs and tomatoes last night… I made an omelet and mixed some tomato paste into my beaten eggs! It was AMAZING! 😀

  9. AllieNic Says:

    Um…that could be the cutest dog EVER! I have a weakness for bulldog puppies! They’re like little balls of dough! I have a black lab named Chester! He is probably the second cutest dog ever…

  10. Stephanie Says:

    What a funny little puppy! How much do I want to pick him up right now?

    My dog’s 120 pounds. The closest I come to picking him up is holding his massive head in my lap. Haha!

  11. Leashieloo Says:

    Those baked eggs look awesome! Such a fun and yummy spin on the dish. And awww, that lil pup is so cute!!

  12. Kristina @ spabettie Says:

    these eggs look GOOD ! I am going to have to try this!

    cutest pup!! I have the sweetest dachshund Basil 🙂

    have a great weekend!!

  13. JewishGirl Says:

    Ah yes, Shakshuka. Delicious! Smitten Kitchen has a recipe for it, too: http://smittenkitchen.com/2010/04/shakshuka/

    I think I either used ff feta or left off the cheese when I made it. The seasonings are great, though!

  14. Beans, Beans the Magical Fruit « The Couch Potato Athlete Says:

    […] It is finally the weekend!!! Woohoo! In a few hours I will be introduced to Peter Sam: […]


Leave a Reply

