February Goals Update

Hi Friends 🙂

How is your weekend so far?

Yesterday I ran a glorious 8 miles! (on the treadmill!) It took me about 1.5 hours – I walked every couple of miles or so. My new shoes are fabulous – my feet had plenty of room to move in them, but they gave me support and felt great! To be honest, the last few times I’ve ran I’ve had bloody feet afterward – my toes were pinched in my old shoes  😦  Not any more!

I also tried out the orange sport beans and boy do they taste good! No stomach issues either, which was great. I had an America’s Next Top Model marathon to keep my company at the gym, so I was good to go!

I thought I’d give a little update on my February Goals:

1. Train for Grandma’s Marathon – I have followed my plan and I’m motivated to keep on going!

2. Read 2 books. I am finished with Love & Respect and I will have no problem finishing In Defense of Food before the end of the month. I’m loving it so far!

3. Try 2 new recipes per week. YES I have actually done this:

Week 1 (Feb 1-5):

                Microwave Banana Cakes

      Spinach Pancakes

                Orange-Cilantro Black Bean Salad

Week 2 (Feb 6-12):

                Salmon Patties

      Quinoa Burgers

Week 3 (Feb 13-19):

                Vegan Alfredo

                Eggs Baked in Tomato Sauce

                Egg Souffle (see below!)

4. Stay on budget – YES! Even with an impromptu visit to Trader Joe’s, we are on track for the month. What helped me was making lists before going to the store, planning meals, and using up ingredients I already have!

5.Blog more consistently – YES! I have blogged every day since my Feb Goal post on Feb 2nd (except I skipped Feb 3 to get on a more regular posting schedule…)

I definitely consider this month a success so far – I need to keep up on a few things, but other than that I’m feeling good!

Here is the Egg Souffle I made on Friday:

I followed Beth’s recipe…except I couldn’t find my electric beaters, so I used a whisk. I don’t think that whipped up my egg whites good enough. But it still tasted fantastic!

Click here for Beth’s recipe. The only change I made was using Garlic/Herb goat cheese instead of plain, and I didn’t add any dill to the eggs. Jason and I loved the texture of the eggs and I will definitely make this again (once I get new beaters!)

Today’s plans include some stretching/foam rolling, laundry (!!!), blog updates (blogroll, recipes, etc), relaxing, reading and resting. It should be a good day!

*Plans for the day?

*Do you make goals? (weekly/monthly/yearly) How are you doing?

*Are there any recipes you made this week that I should try this week? Feel free to leave a link!

~Holly

Posted in Dinner, Marathon. Tags: , . 15 Comments »

15 Responses to “February Goals Update”

  1. Beth Says:

    Aww yay so glad you liked the souffle! Even though you say you didn’t whip the whites enough, it looks very fluffy to me!

    Seems like you are doing great on your February goals so far! Congrats!

    • Holly Says:

      It started off very fluffy from the oven, but then it sank a little bit 😦 It still tasted so good!!! And whipping the egg whites by hand was TOUGH! Wow I need a hand held mixer!

  2. Hollie @ Lolzthatswim(andRun) Says:

    I really want to try those spinach pancakes. They sound so interesting but yet so delicious. That is one type of pancake I haven’t tried yet.

  3. 1970kikiproject Says:

    HOORAY FOR THE SHOES!! i am so happy to hear you love your new shoes, holly! yes – asic makes a lovely roomy toe box area (asics and saucony are two of the roomiest, i’d say) so you should notice the difference.
    you are so on track with your feb goals – pat on the back!
    weekend plans: worked this morning, now going to blog, work out, movie tonight. nice!
    have a great rest of day – good luck with the laundry!!

  4. Alaina Says:

    Lots to do today! My parents and my in-laws have already been by and I packed a lot of stuff with them that will be staying at their places.

    Right now I’m marinating some tofu to make dinner and I’m going to make banana bread. Then going to a fundraiser tonight and the theme is 70s, 80, 90s dance party! 🙂

    Looks like you’re kicking butt on your goals!

  5. IHeartVegetables Says:

    Wow girl, great job on your goals!!! And way to tackle the treadmill!!! I’m glad the new shoes are working out 🙂

    I need to better define my grocery budget, so I can really try to keep myself on track!

  6. Mary @ Bites and Bliss Says:

    8 miles on the treadmill takes a lot of motivation- good job!

  7. bakebooks Says:

    CONGRATS ON THAT RUN! Holy smokes! And on a treadmill?! Who are you? 🙂

    Does your gym have those personal TV’s or are there other people who were watching ANTM too? The new season starts the end of this month I think 🙂

    • Holly Says:

      Yes, thankfully we belong to a gym with the individual TVs on them — but the lady next to me saw what I was watching and asked me what channel it was on — so there was an ANTM fan next to me 🙂 I hope I remember to watch the new season, I always end up catching the re-runs!

  8. Christin@purplebirdblog Says:

    Oooo, that souffle looks just perfect! And I’m happy to hear your feets aren’t bleeding anymore, yikes! 🙂

  9. Laury @thefitnessdish Says:

    LOVE In Defense of Food!!!

    Great Goals, Holly! I am not a goal setter, per say. I set out to get things done and just do then as I can. I think I would perhaps be more efficient if I set actual goals…but maybe not too????

    I should go do some foam rolling now too!


Leave a Reply

