Smelly Scallops & Scary Scoby

Hi Friends 🙂

First things first – I have gotten a few emails from readers asking about the food I’ve been posting. I do not post all of the food I eat each day. I also do not photograph my plate of food usually – so please do not assume that is all I ate or that I ate “too much”, etc. Sometimes I just show a side dish, a breakfast, a snack, etc. I eat what is right for me – the blog is a place for me to post some meal ideas or recipes that I have tried. Thank you!

Second, the new blog name will be revealed sometime this weekend – I’m pretty excited for things to change around here!

I am DREAMING of Spring and as I flipped through an older Cooking Light magazine, I was drawn to this:

Seared Scallops with Fennel and Grapefruit Salad.

Ok – I didn’t have Fennel but I thought I could make this work. Look at the picture above and now look at mine:

So they are nothing alike except they share grapefruit  🙂  I did sauté up some scallops but to be honest they kind of grossed me out. Jason liked them – the smell was not something I enjoyed.

By the way, what is a scallop? I know it is some kind of sea animal, but I want to hear your descriptions. Does it live in a shell like a clam?

*

Before dinner, I went to the gym and pounded out 3 miles. I say pounded out because that is how my left knee/IT Band felt. It was pretty bad. I need to start foam-rolling more often because it does help ease that pain. I also need to start icing after each of my runs. I’ve been slacking in those areas – so I’m going to start doing those things and if my knee still feels terrible I’ll make an appointment with my doctor.

It feels like my knee is almost filled with fluid and feels very stiff – during my cool down it hurt just to walk.

*

I know this post is a random jumble of things – but that is how the day has been!

Let me show you the best part of my Thursday:

Getting a package from Averie which included this beast, a SCOBY:

I’m going to start brewing my own Kombucha! You can read more about it in Averie’s posts – I’ll keep you all updated on its progress. For now, it is fermenting away…

*What are your plans for the weekend?

*Am I the only person on earth who doesn’t know what a scallop is?

*Do you drink Kombucha? What do you think?

24 Responses to “Smelly Scallops & Scary Scoby”

  1. Sharon Says:

    I’m not going to lie, that scoby looks like a piece of raw chicken – blech! I have heard really good things about Kombucha though and am definitely interested in giving it a try… right after I look up that scoby and reassure myself that it’s not a big piece of rotting meat 😉

  2. Hollie @ Lolzthatswim(andRun) Says:

    I’m going to Canada this weekend.

    I actually love scallops but I grew up on the Ocean so it makes sense that I would love my seafood. 🙂

  3. 1970kikiproject Says:

    hollie (above) – where you headed to in canada?? i am in southern ontario!
    ok, other holly! 🙂 wow, i did not realize you were planning a NAME CHANGE on the blog – can’t wait to see what is up your sleeve, blogwise!
    ouch, fingers crossed re knee/IT – get it checked sooner rather than later???…for now, you’re doing everything right to treat it with the foam roller and icing…take care!!!
    this weekend is crazy busy with socials and work…oscar watching sunday eve!
    have a great friday!

    • Holly Says:

      Cathy believe me I don’t want to hurt myself further, but before I go to the doctor I want to be able to say that I tried to heal it on my own — hence the more frequent foam rolling and icing/stretching.

  4. Matt @ The Athlete's Plate Says:

    YES KOMBUCHA!

    I have a bunch of old posts on my old blog about brewing Kombucha. I used to brew it every week! Let me know if you have any questions.

  5. Alaina Says:

    I am not a huge scallop fan; too grainy for me.

    I’m moving this weekend!! I’ve done a ton of packing over the last two weeks and we’re finally out tomorrow. Then we’re having my husband’s going away party on Sunday. 🙂

  6. Alyssa Says:

    Hey Holly!! Its been a while since I’ve commented…sorry! I love kombucha! I used to brew my own but it became a bit of a hassle…hope you enjoy it! I always liked synergy better but now that it is pasturized homebrew might be better 🙂

  7. AllieNic Says:

    I drink kombucha EVERY DAY! I’m poor because of it…I should start making my own too!

    I’m definitely interested to hear how your kombucha endeavors turn out…How do you do it? Do you add juice?

    • Holly Says:

      I want to do a more informative post in a few days because I seriously just got started. Check out those links to Averie’s blog, she has lots of good info about it too.

      Basically you start with the scoby (the big mushroom thing in the juice) and you add that to 8 cups of green or black tea (already brewed and cooled to room temperature) + sugar, cover it and wait 1 week — then you’ll have another mushroom (to make another batch) and the tea is ready to drink. You can add fruit juice to sweeten it if you prefer.

      But honestly I know the bare bones, so I wanted to wait to explain the process until I feel more confident in my Kombucha brewing abilities.

      • AllieNic Says:

        Thanks! I’ll definitely check out Averie’s posts! I think it’s so cool that you’re making your own! I’m sure it’s going to be awesome!

  8. Beth Says:

    I thought that scoby was a piece of chicken too!! Crazy!

  9. Averie (LoveVeggiesAndYoga) Says:

    Nothing like the post title..”Scary Scoby” to really get some readers hating on me 🙂 Raw chicken, scary, gross…oh gosh, should be a fun one in my inbox….lol.

    I hope you love your homemade kombucha. In fact, I KNOW you will! It’s so fun making it, it’s easy, and once you get the hang of it, you can do it in your sleep 🙂

    Take care of that knee/IT band, too! Ouch!

    • Holly Says:

      Averie you have to admit that the scoby is pretty scary — but I loved how it smelled — like the Kombucha I remember 🙂

      Thanks again for sending it to me!

  10. Katie Says:

    I still need to try to brew my own….but I don’t really like the stuff at the store. Everyone tells me the real stuff is better though.

    Scallops are nasty. That’s all you need to know.

    • Holly Says:

      I hope the real stuff is better — I just wanted it because it is cheaper this way!

      I’ve had bacon wrapped scallops and those were good — but I think it was the bacon that made them taste good.

  11. Laury @TheFitnessDish Says:

    Love Kombucha! Good luck with the brewing!!!

    I am dying to know your new blog news!!!!! When will you announce????

    Happy Friday!

  12. Jess Says:

    I HIGHLY suggest foam rollers for knee pain–it helps SOOO much!!

  13. purplebirdblog Says:

    I love the way SCOBYs feel, very reminiscent to a sting ray! 😉

  14. Tortilla Casserole « The Couch Potato Athlete Says:

    […] Smelly Scallops & Scary Scoby […]

  15. leashieloo Says:

    I’ve never had kombucha, I’m a little nervous to be honest with you. I hear it’s hit or miss as far as taste buds go. However, YES on the Nike Throwdown commercials! I never watch commercials, but I always stop to watch those!


Leave a Reply

