Tortilla Casserole

Hi Friends 🙂
 
Just a quick note about the Kombucha: if you are interested in learning more, check out these resources:
 
Averie’s posts about Kombucha
How to make your own Kombucha Tea
Happy Herbalist
 
Here is a current photo of my Kombucha a’brewin. I can’t wait!


 
You can buy Kombucha tea in stores in bottles like this:

But they cost $4-5 per bottle and making it at home is way cheaper.
 
Friday was a ho-hum kind of day – I spent the day at work and spent the evening at home! For dinner I made a recipe I saw on Healthy Tipping Point:
 
 Corn Tortilla Casserole <— click for the recipe


 
I love super easy recipes and I love throwing stuff in a dish and throwing it in the oven for a while. What could be easier? I topped our casserole pieces with some avocado hunks.

Well I’m off to run 9 miles — I’ll take it easy since my knee has been feeling so funny. Later today Jason and I are going to Mall of America. And the new blog/blog name will be up tomorrow – you will still be able to access the blog through the couchpotatoathlete.wordpress.com address. I’m excited to have a self-hosted blog!

See you tomorrow!

What are you doing today?

Posted in Dinner. Tags: . 25 Comments »

25 Responses to “Tortilla Casserole”

  1. Beth Says:

    I have the corn tortilla casserole on my list, too! I’m excited to make that this week, with lots of changes of course. 🙂

  2. Matt @ The Athlete's Plate Says:

    What flavors are you going to make?

  3. Katie Says:

    I’m all about the corn tortillas. Here in the southwest, people make them like stir fries – torn up tortillas and beans and sauce. Marinara though? I’m not sure how I feel about that.

  4. Hollie @ Lolzthatswim(andRun) Says:

    I’m going to Canada today!

    I love easy to cook recipes. After swimming, I like my food to be ready in Tminus 5 seconds.

  5. Sharon Says:

    Mmm, that looks so good! Good luck on your run! I’ve been foam rolling daily. I wrote it on my to-do list. That generally means it’ll get done – I love checking things off and foam rolling is easier than a lot of things on my to do list. Anyways, it’s been helping my knee tremendously! I think it has something to do with being consistent… something I am usually not. I had a few twinges around mile 5 during a half marathon last weekend but other than that it didn’t bother me a bit. I really hope yours clears up, knee pain is just no fun =/

  6. Stephanie Says:

    I’ve been reading about kombucha on and off for the past few years, but I’ve never tried it. Maybe it’s time to take the plunge!

  7. 1970kikiproject Says:

    ok, i can’t wait to hear about the mall outing, your 9 miler and am excited to see the new blog!!!
    have a great evening…and don’t forget to foam roll!! 🙂

  8. Lisa Says:

    The tortilla casserole looks awesome!
    I’ve brewed kombucha and love it! I think I like the GT brand better…only because it is a little more fizzy and a little more predictable than the homemade kind. But…the price difference makes brewing it totally my top choice!

  9. Tina @ Faith Fitness Fun Says:

    Her version of my recipe did look good. I’m glad you liked it. 🙂

    Hope the 9 miler went well and can’t wait to see the new site!

  10. Healthy Coconut Says:

    I drink Kombucha hot tea, but that’s the only one I’ve drank so far, I drink Eden’s Kombucha tea. I haven’t even tried the cold drinks that I’ve seen at Wholefoods.

    It’s cool that you are brewing your own, I think that’s so cool.

  11. charlotte Says:

    ohmygoodness those look amazing! Def. on the menu for this week – thank you!

  12. Katherine: Unemployed Says:

    I know kambucha is non-alcoholic but some people get ‘drunk’ off of it. so is this like a beer? or it brews that simply without the big process? I’m so impressed

    • Holly Says:

      There were some Kombucha drinks that were pulled from shelves because of the alcohol content, but it should be such a small amount that you can’t really get drunk off of it. I don’t know anything about brewing beer so I can’t say it is similar or not — I brewed 8 cups of tea, added sugar, let it cool, and then added the scoby (fungus/mushroom) and that sits for a week before it is ready to drink. It really is an interesting process!

    • Averie (LoveVeggiesAndYoga) Says:

      Inherent in the brewing process, i.e. fermentation, sugar alcohols will be formed. However, after a week, this is nothing like fermenting to the point of wine or beer. So yes, there is TRACE alcohol, but I think you get more alcohol from vanilla extract or clearly cough syrup, than you would from booch. 🙂

  13. Angela (the diet book junkie) Says:

    awesome, looking forward to the new blog! good luck on your run too! WISH i was saying the same thing but my quads are not cooperating with me today…. 🙂

  14. Averie (LoveVeggiesAndYoga) Says:

    Love the looks of your scoby and brew set up.

    Can’t wait to see how it turns out! Dont touch it, dont bother it, just wait. 🙂

  15. bakebooks Says:

    What are the benefits of Kombucha? Why is it so popular?

    So excited to see the new blog!

    Did you have a hard time debating the name of it? I always fear the wrong choice…I’m not a fan of mine now 😦 (again…sigh).

    You eat so well! I should try more recipes like you do! Do you snack a lot as well?

    • Holly Says:

      http://www.foodrenegade.com/kombucha-health-benefits/

      You can read more there — but basically it is a probiotic drink so it helps aid digestion, and also works to detox your body.

      Yes it took me weeks to figure out a new name — I wanted to change it because I don’t think my current name really describes me anymore. I ran my new ideas by a few friends as well as Jason, and they helped me come up with something different.

      I do like my snacks – I have never been able to be a 3 meals-per-day kind of person.

  16. Christin@purplebirdblog Says:

    That casserole looks absolutely fantastic!! Congrats on the self-hosting move!!! 🙂

  17. Jess Says:

    Tortilla casserole sounds fantastic!!


Leave a Reply

