Back to Normal Life

Hi Friends!

*Thank you so much for your kind words about Jason and I paying off our credit card debt!!! I still need to go through and respond to the comments because so many of them were so wonderful and uplifting. It has been a crazy weekend!

Wow, it is Sunday already?!?!?!

Going out of town on Thursday/Friday really threw off my weekend. I took off work on Thursday and went to work with Jason – he had some meetings all day in southern MN, so I hung out in Barnes and Noble while he worked  🙂  When 4pm hit, I picked him up and we hit the road. At about 10pm we finally got to Kansas City, MO and entered our crazy hotel:

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Aladdin in downtown Kansas City. This place was hilarious!!! It had an Art-Deco theme which reminded me of a few hotels in Las Vegas (with the crazy glass sculptures, etc). The bartender told us that the hotel was built in the 1920s and has been redesigned several times. I just loved our room:

Friday was the seminar, which was intense (since it was 7 hours of sitting and listening – which was tough after sitting in the car for so long!!!) but to be honest, it wasn’t anything “new” and “exciting” – but it was all good reminders/suggestions that need to be reinforced in so many people. I’ll talk more about the seminar in a future post.

We left Kansas City, MO at 4pm on Friday and drove all the way back to MN – Jason was kind enough to drive the entire way, which was great because I hate driving, but it sure took a toll on his back and his arms (driving for 6-7 hours straight with your arms extended is tough work!) So Saturday was mostly spent relaxing and unwinding. I was too tired to run yesterday, so I’m off to do that this morning. Then I need to conquer Laundry Mountain and get to the grocery store.

I wish I took Monday off of work as well!

*Did you have a good weekend? Anything fun to share?

12 Responses to “Back to Normal Life”

  1. Alaina Says:

    What a funky looking hotel! Looks like a fun place to stay. 🙂

    Nothing exciting for my weekend. Just working and unpacking everything into my new place.

  2. Matt @ The Athlete's Plate Says:

    Cool looking hotel! I always love staying at places like that 😉

  3. Sarena (The Non Dairy Queen) Says:

    Laundry mountain! Good luck with that! I have baked, watched movies with the boys, cleaned out the fridge and freezer…I am trying to make today productive. Enjoy your Sunday Holly!

  4. Lisa Says:

    Sounds like a great time! I love Art Deco hotels…they’re just so funky and fun!

  5. Megan@Dirty Dishes Daily Says:

    I love the layout of that hotel. I drive to a visit family every few months and it’s a 6 hr drive and it truly gets uncomfortable.

  6. Averie (LoveVeggiesAndYoga) Says:

    The hotel is so charming! Love the pics!

    Glad you two had a great weekend and learned a lot.

    Good luck w/ Mount Laundry 🙂

  7. Jess Says:

    Glad you had a good weekend ❤

  8. Anne Says:

    love the art deco look – a friend of mine did her whole house in art deco – looks so cool. We went ice skating and out to a fun family dinner yesterday, and swimming today. I am working on Laundry Mountain now…love your blog!

  9. 1970kikiproject Says:

    i love that hotel and the room! that’s a lot of charm and spunk in the colours/design! i love art deco stuff.
    i’m in aruba! 🙂 just got in a few hours ago so i can feel you with the long travel days…
    good luck with the laundry! still think it was wonderful of you to treat jason to the seminar.

  10. Christin@purplebirdblog Says:

    That hotel room is super swanky!! I love the green!!

  11. leashieloo Says:

    I just got caught up with your posts, but holy wow! Serious props on taking charge of your debt and clearing it out. I know how it is, though not to the extent you did. It’s really tough, but it’s an exhilarating feeling to pay it off! Now I am A LOT wiser about how I spend money and use credit. I’m glad I learned my lesson when I was really young.


Leave a Reply

