Reunited with the Gym

Hi Friends!

Last night I finally went to the gym! I had not gone since last Wednesday. I skipped Thursday since we were out of town and on Saturday I was just too pooped to even think about going. And then we had Jason’s birthday on Tuesday and I skipped that day too.

But I went and it felt really good. Not at first of course – I hated every second of the first few miles. Instead of focusing on anything positive, I chose to FOCUS ON THE TIMER ON THE TREADMILL.

I do not recommend that if you want to enjoy your workout! After I was able to quit staring at the timer, I realized how GOOD I felt while I ran. The treadmills stop at 60 minutes and although I could have pushed it and ran 6 in 60 minutes, I decided to just keep it steady in case my knee decided to hurt again (it didn’t!)

Sometimes when I read other runner blogs and see that they run 7-8 min miles I start to feel bad. Like maybe I’m a slow runner? To be honest I don’t really care, but I think about it from time to time. Hell I should be PROUD that I even finished my run!  🙂

Afterward I set my timer for 10 minutes and stretched and foam-rolled. This thing is worth its weight in gold!!! It definitely helps my legs feel looser. And following up with a Hugh Jass Taco Salad was a good idea too, no?

spinach, romaine, bell pepper, onion, refried beans, browned ground beef, salsa, black olives, mashed avocado

I took the night off of reading since I’ve been reading the Hunger Games series nonstop for the past week – plus Top Chef was on!

*Did you give up something for Lent?

35 Responses to “Reunited with the Gym”

  1. Averie (LoveVeggiesAndYoga) Says:

    Did i give anything up for lent?

    Apparently sleep b/c it’s almost 5am here and I havent been to bed yet. Going to take a cat nap before Skylar gets up 🙂

  2. blackhuff Says:

    Well, I can tell you that you run one mile more than me which is awesome in my opinion.

  3. Alaina Says:

    Sometimes I get down on myself for not being too fast either but I am so happy with how far I’ve come in running. Good job on a great run!

    I haven’t given anything up for lent. Don’t know if I will. 🙂

    • Holly Says:

      And I do remind myself that some of these blogger/runners have been running consistently for years — I still consider myself a beginner in many ways!

  4. Sarena (The Non Dairy Queen) Says:

    I did not give up anything for lent. I used to, but I have cut so far back on everything “fun” in my life anyway, I don’t really have anything to give up.

    Great job on the run Holly. I don’t run, so I think anyone who does it at all is great at it!

  5. Hollie @ Lolzthatswim(andRun) Says:

    Wow-that is awesome. You should def not care what anyone else runs. Sometimes I wonder if people fudge their running times to appear “perfect” in the blogging world (among other things) but that is a rant for another day.

  6. Matt @ The Athlete's Plate Says:

    The key to getting through a treadmill workout is to mix it up! Constantly change the pace and incline! Alternatively, put on Saved By The Bell if it is in the morning 😉

  7. Kylie @ A Hungry Spoon Says:

    Three cheers for getting back to running this week 🙂 You definitely deserved a week off to enjoy yourself though! Your dinner salad looks fantastic, too–avocado adds such a nice, creamy addition to salads~

  8. Katie Says:

    I think its awesome that you run at all. I am so not a runner.

  9. Shanna, like Banana Says:

    Nope. Anytime I give something up, I want it more and end up sabotaging my healthy eating.

  10. 1970kikiproject Says:

    i love TOP CHEF!!! is it a new series that is on?
    that is a GREAT idea to set the timer and foam roll and stretch til it beeps – love it.
    and yes, DO just pat yourself on the back. you’re doing so great with your training! treadmill running can be soooo boring! i like to switch pace or incline with every song, just to keep sane. but then, i also tell myself it’s good “mental toughness training!”
    have a great day, holly!

    • Holly Says:

      It is Top Chef All Stars – hopefully they’ll air it in Canada soon, it is a really good season! I won’t spoil anything for you though!

      Treadmill running is definitely “mental toughness training”!

      • bakebooks Says:

        They are!! I’m watching it here, but apparently were behind by a few episodes.

        They’re bringing Top to Canada too! We have our own version starting April.11th 🙂

  11. Dorry Says:

    I think it’s important to focus on our own workouts and remember that everyone has different goals and abilities with fitness. Good for you for completing an awesome run! I gave up cereal for Lent and Billy and I are reading The Love Dare – a 40 day challenge for married couples. 🙂

  12. Beth Says:

    I didn’t give up anything for Lent! I’m not really religious but last year gave up meat and have stuck with it ever since!

  13. Sharon Says:

    I’m so glad the foam rolling is helping! Those things are really expensive but you’re right, they are so worth it! I know I always feel super slow when I read certain blogs but I try not to think about that and just continue to get better every time I run.

  14. Kelsey @ Snacking Squirrel Says:

    a finished run is a successful run no matte what pace, time, or distance you accomplish. its easy to just step off and give up, but to push through shows heart and determination 🙂

    for Lent i decided to give up a lot of my control and decision making that keeps me holding back from experiencing my true nature of who i am and who i am meant to be. i think saying that sounds deeper than the steps it will take to just surrender, uno?

    xoxo ❤

  15. Laury @TheFitnessDish Says:

    Um, I can;t even run 2 miles. So be proud. I can go 4 miles on a Precor. Running kills my joints. Be very proud of yourself.

    I did not give up anything for Lent. The last time i did I gave up meat and stopped eating it for 8 years

  16. Kayla Says:

    Running just 20 minutes is incredible for me. I sometimes feel bad when I see how great everyone else is at running, but it really doesn’t matter. I do what i can, ya know?

  17. Mary @ Bites and Bliss Says:

    Not looking at the timer makes SUCH a difference! But somedays it’s just hard not to glare at it, you know? Those are days for towels to be draped over the numbers so you’re forced not to look. 😛

  18. Alexandra (Veggin' Out in the Kitchen) Says:

    Hi Holly! I just found your blog and love it! 🙂

    2 to 4 miles – I think that’s GREAT!! I am so proud of myself for running for just 15-20 minutes! I’ve worked up more endurance over time, but I doubt I will ever be able to go out and just run like 8 or 9 miles straight! Oh well, I guess running just isn’t my “thing.” Riding my horse, on the other hand… now that I can do for hours! 😀

    And your taco salad looks deeeeelicious!!!

  19. Lisa Says:

    The salad looks great!
    I think that whatever running you do is just perfectly perfect for you 🙂

  20. shortystylee Says:

    That seems about the same pace as I run… but outside, not on the treadmill. I usually keep it at a 5.5-6mph on the treadmill – i just cannot sustain a faster pace on it.

    Don’t feel bad though! It’s still a great workout 🙂

  21. Christin@purplebirdblog Says:

    I would be wiped after running for about 30 seconds. You’re a badass. 🙂

  22. Megan @ Healthy Hoggin' Says:

    Don’t feel bad about your speed– I’m a slow runner and proud of it! I worry about my knees, too, so I like to take it easy on the pace. I prefer running outside, so I don’t have to stare at the timer (I can’t help myself!), but music helps me either way!

    I gave up coffee for lent– I miss it already!!

  23. thefitacademic Says:

    I always have such a hard time not focusing on the timer on the treadmill! That’s a big reason why I prefer running outside. But, my gym has TVs for each of the treadmills, so I can watch something and just zone out & it helps a lot!

  24. Stephanie @ Walking my Talk Says:

    Congrats on a good run! It’s so hard not to compare ourselves to other people – and to feel that we come up short. But just think: you ran for over 40 minutes. Holy crap! That’s AMAZING!

  25. mostlyfitmom Says:

    I think the timer is why I hate the treadmill. It just makes time seem to pass soooo slowly.

    As for speed, whatever. You’re running for yourself, not anyone else. 🙂 And a 60 minute run is nothing to turn your nose up at! I’m only back up to 25 minutes of running since injuring myself, and I mostly feel like I’m going to die for most of my run (even though I’m super slow) because that’s how hard it feels after not running for so long, if that makes you feel any better. But slow running is better than no running!

    • Holly Says:

      I hope I didn’t sound like I was complaining — it was just a comment on how I tend to compare myself to others (and I wish I didn’t!) — I’d love to pound out 8 minute miles, but I need to just be thankful I can run at all.

      I remember it took me months to get to the point of running for 30 minutes nonstop — and there are still days when I can’t do that! It is all a learning process.


Leave a Reply

