Homemade Blueberry Pop-Tarts

Hi Friends!

I think next week will be Paying off Debt/Budgeting week – I’ve been working on a few posts but I keep adding more info, so maybe on Monday I’ll finally have one of those posts up. Believe me I love talking about budgeting, I just want to make sure I’m explaining everything in the best way. If you have any questions that you want covered, you can email me at couchpotatoathlete (at) gmail (dot) com or leave a question in the comment section below. 🙂

I ran 3 miles yesterday and it felt good – my knees are feeling good and the 30 minutes or so flew by pretty quickly. Maybe it was because I was going to go home and make homemade pop-tarts!

 I’ve been slacking with my March goals – one of them being “try 2 new recipes per week”. I just couldn’t decide on what to make! A few days ago I got an email from Jason while I was at work – it was about making homemade pop-tarts.

Let me explain. Jason loves pop-tarts. I’m sure at his office he has 2-3 boxes of pop-tarts. I love them too – but I don’t eat them anymore. They don’t fill me up and the ingredient list is ridiculous.

The website made it sound so simple: make a pie crust, divide it up and roll into squares, place filling on top, place another square of dough on top of that, bake and enjoy.

I used Martha’s recipe for pie crust (who better than the master?) and made ½ batch (enough for 1 pie crust) and I used whole wheat flour. The dough was a little tough to work with, but it ended up alright. For the filling, I used 1 cup frozen blueberries and 2 TBSP brown sugar – I microwaved that in a bowl for about 1-2 minutes stirring every now and then. You could also heat them on the stovetop. The funnest part was putting them together and crimping the edges together (to make them more authentic, dontcha think?). They are so cute!

 

I’m sure you could just call these mini blueberry pocket pies, but I’m sticking with calling them pop-tarts. I think if I had used all-purpose flour they would have turned out a little better – not so thick perhaps. Either way they tasted amazing. I wouldn’t put one in the toaster though – I’d end up with blueberry goo all over my poor toaster.

These tasted so good and seriously — Martha’s recipe for pie crust is so delicious. There is a ton of butter in there so obviously it tastes good 🙂

*What are your plans for the weekend?

*What is your favorite flavor of pop-tarts? And if you don’t like pop-tarts, what is your favorite pie flavor? and if you don’t like pie, what do you like?!?!

33 Responses to “Homemade Blueberry Pop-Tarts”

  1. Kate Says:

    we used to have brown sugar pop tarts for after school snacks when we were growing up. if we were really good, mom would get the smores flavor. i am very impressed you made homemade ones. they look yummy!

  2. Beth Says:

    Ahh I’m so excited it’s Friday and that the weekend is soooo close! I have an 11 miler on my schedule since my half marathon in two weeks from tomorrow (!!!) but other than that I’m hoping to relax, lay low, and enjoy not working! =)

  3. Lisa Says:

    Can’t wait for budget week!

    The pop tarts look so yummy 🙂
    My fave flavor is something really sweet and fruity with frosting…I can’t even remember the last time I had any though, and my mom would never buy them when I was a kid!

  4. Kylie @ A Hungry Spoon Says:

    These blueberry pop tarts are adorable! I’ve never liked pop tarts, but I LOVE blueberry pie (it’s actually my FAVORITE!) so i would love to try these–and I especially love how simple the filling is. Thanks for sharing, Holly 🙂

    Hope you have a good weekend! I’m going to be baking cupcakes for one of my friend’s upcoming baby shower this weekend 🙂

  5. mostlyfitmom Says:

    Can I say yum?!?

    Weekend plans: studying like crazy!
    Favourite flavour: um, all of them, I think. Haven’t met a PopTart I don’t like. But like you, I just don’t eat them, because they are in no way healthy! Haven’t had one for years, actually. Maybe I’ll make that a treat one of these days…

  6. Matt Says:

    Wow those look good! I lived on poptarts in high school!

  7. Stephanie @ The Cookie Battle Says:

    My all time favorite pop tart is the strawberry frosted…but I have had stints where the smores or the cinnamon sugar flavors were my favs…but I always come back to the strawberry frosted. I totally want one right now.

  8. Katie Says:

    I loved all poptarts. I think the chocolate ones were kind of weird, but I still ate them. 🙂

    Have a great weekend!

  9. 1970kikiproject Says:

    those are so cute, holly! i, too, love the crimped edges.
    do you know, i have never had a poptart – honest! my mom NEVER bought them when i was a kid (that and kraft mac n cheese were NEVER EVER in our house!) so i can’t give a fave flavour!
    for pie – apple all the way. dutch apple to be specific.
    glad you had a good run!

  10. the neurotic yogini Says:

    Can’t wait for more posts on budget/debt relief! I am in definite need for that, so thank you very much for your wisdom! 🙂

  11. Alaina Says:

    I’ve been looking for a recipe for homemade pop tarts! Yeah! 🙂

    This weekend I’m working but next week is my birthday week!

  12. Parita @ myinnershakti Says:

    I am going to the Big Apple! Woo! 🙂

    You are so creative with your homemade Pop Tarts! They look delicious!

  13. Dorry Says:

    These look delicious! I loved frosted strawberry pop tarts when I was a kid. I haven’t had one in ages, but I think it would be fun to make some at home. No big plans this weekend…my favorite kind. 🙂

  14. Mary @ Bites and Bliss Says:

    Is it weird I was JUST thinking about homemade poptarts the other day after seeing a poptart commercial? No doubt they’re better than the actual thing!

  15. blackhuff Says:

    I like pies but not the sweet ones. I like savory pies like chicken or beef but don’t eat pies anymore because of the high fat content it have.
    I must say, your pies look good. You must be a good cook.
    I am glad that your knee didn’t hurt with your run. So nice 🙂
    Have a good weekend.

  16. bakebooks Says:

    Lemon. Meringue. Pie. 🙂

    Do you write up a lot of posts as drafts and save them – to post when you want??

    • Holly Says:

      I start lots and lots of posts — and some of them I never finish. It all depends. I’m trying to take my time with the budget/money ones because I don’t want to forget anything important.

  17. Sarena (The Non Dairy Queen) Says:

    I’ve wanted to do something like this for a while now, but I want to do brown sugar and cinnamon! By far my favorite flavor! Have a great weekend Holly!

  18. Katie Says:

    Holly, I’ve been enjoying your blog so much. I am training for my first 10 K in April. What is a foam roll? I have trouble with left hip bursitis, and try to limit runs in a row, to keep that in check.

  19. teenagetaste Says:

    I was always a fan of the apple pie poptarts, but my Mom would only let me get them every once in a while for a treat. Now, after looking at their ingredients list, I know why. Thanks for the healthier (and probably tastier) swap! 😀

  20. Amykinz Says:

    Those look and sound soooo yummy! But, they probably have too many carbs for my gestational body to handle. I wonder if substituting almond meal/flour would work & if so, that might off-set the carbs of the blueberries & sugar. Hmm… One question: Did these fill you up? I always had that same problem w/pop-tarts…yummy, but crappy ingredient list & not filling.

    • Holly Says:

      These were definitely more of a dessert treat than an actual meal — so in that way they are very much like pop-tarts, since those never filled me up either! 🙂

  21. Katie @ Nourishing Flourishing Says:

    That looks so delicious! I have been toying with the idea of making a gluten-free version, but to be honest I doubt they will compare 😉 These look legit!

  22. Averie (LoveVeggiesAndYoga) Says:

    The poptarts look great!

    The crimped edges are so authentic!!

    I used to eat strawberry poptarts all the time! I think growing up in the 70s/80s it was a requirement to eat some nutrition-less white carbs, right?

    🙂

  23. Jess Says:

    Those poptarts look INCREDIBLE!!!

  24. Joan Says:

    Holly! Those pop tarts look AH-MAY-ZING!!! I love pop tarts but haven’t had them in years.

  25. Christina @ Food.Fun.Fabulous. Says:

    Yum those look good! As for this weekend, I’m hoping to go out hiking tomorrow – as long as the roads aren’t all flooded from the rain we’ve had!

  26. katshealthcorner Says:

    No way!!! Homemade Pop Tarts!!! YAY!!! These are totally my kind of food! My sister would LOVE these! 😀

    xoxo
    Kathleen

  27. Mary (A Merry Life) Says:

    You made pop-tarts! I’ve never seen anyone make them before. So cool.

    My favorite pop-tarts are s’mores flavor. I love them!

  28. Christin@purplebirdblog Says:

    Blueberry poptarts were always my favorite, followed closely by brown sugar and cherry. Nature’s Path Cherry Pomegranate poptarts are INSANE. I actually can’t be trusted to buy them… I’ll eat them all too fast! 🙂


Leave a Reply

