Beans, Beans the Magical Fruit

Hi Friends!

It is finally the weekend!!! Woohoo! In a few hours I will be introduced to Peter Sam:

I have only seen pictures but I finally get to see him in real life! My sister Myra and her husband Tyler are both teachers and are on spring break – they drove all the way from Houston last night!

Last night I made some of The Non-Dairy Queen’s Red Quinoa Burgers:

Sarena once again your recipe didn’t let me down! The only change I made was using all red beans, no mung beans and I left them a little chunky! We had them with some mixed veggies – a lovely dinner! Jason LOVED these — he had quite a few!

Afterward we headed to the mall and to Target. I wanted to pick up a few gifts for some friends – I am blessed to know some very special people and I wanted to show my thanks! They read the blog so I don’t want to share what I got – they know who they are!

I could spend hours in the Yankee Candle store (and I actually worked there for a few months in high school when it was still Wicks N Sticks!). I love smelling all of the jars. Jason and I picked up two for ourselves too. The Macintosh flavor is by far my favorite Yankee candle, but who could resist Vanilla Cupcake?

The boxes are all packed up and ready to ship tomorrow (it feels good to get stuff ready, all I have to do tomorrow is take them to the UPS store and pay an arm and leg ship them!)

 A few weeks ago I showed you the Kombucha I was brewing (thanks to Averie for sending me the starter scoby!) The homemade Kombucha tastes a million times better than the store bought stuff. Here is our stocked up fridge:

Really, there is no comparison in my mind – the taste is unbelievable!

Kombucha is a detoxifying, probiotic drink that is rich in antioxidants. Too bad the bottles in the store cost $3-5 a piece. Homemade tastes better and is way cheap. You can purchase supplies at Happyherbalist.com!

*What is going on this weekend that has you excited? I seriously cannot wait to meet Peter Sam! Oh and I have 11 miles to run today. Should be fun!

18 Responses to “Beans, Beans the Magical Fruit”

  1. Matt Says:

    I LOVE vanilla candles!

    Have a great weekend!

  2. Sarena (The Non Dairy Queen) Says:

    That puppy is too darn cute! Have fun with your sister!

    Your burgers look fantastic! I am so glad you enjoyed them! Have a great weekend Holly!

  3. Laura Says:

    I love your sister’s puppy. I reminds me of my English Bullie when I first brought him home. You’ll have so much fun playing with him!

  4. 1970kikiproject Says:

    that puppy is sooo cute! i am not a dog fan, but i do like that type of dog (what kind are they? haha! sorry, i don’t know my dog brands…my friend had one similar and its name was Waffles – he was a cutie, too!)
    good luck with the run! please let us know how it goes!
    enjoy visiting with your sister and BIL!

    • Holly Says:

      He is an English Bulldog — don’t worry I don’t know many types of dogs either! Waffles is an adorable name for a dog!

      My run went so well!!! No knee pain at all. Took me less than 2 hours which is what I was hoping for!

  5. Lisa Says:

    What a cute puppy!
    I got my kombucha supplies from happy herbalist…and I had no idea what I was doing, so I called, and they were so nice and helpful too!

  6. Katie Says:

    I saw that vanilla cupcake candle at Target and almost bought it. I decided not to, because that was my sugar free week, and I thought it would be torture.

  7. leather Says:

    you do know i read your blog first thing every morning don’t you? and that i LOVE it? yep. i do! xoxo

  8. the neurotic yogini Says:

    those burgers look verrrry interesting, and nummy. 🙂

  9. Hollie @ Lolzthatswim(andRun) Says:

    Vanilla Cupcake candles are my favorite. I could seriously have the lit all day everyday…although then I never may enjoy cupcakes. Nom.

    That dog is adorbs.

    This weekend I’m just hanging out with my boyfriend and having a blogging meetup with Chef Katelyn. I’m excited for that. 🙂

  10. Alexandra (Veggin' Out in the Kitchen) Says:

    Those quinoa burgers look SO good! I LOVE grainy burgers! 🙂

    And Peter Sam is super cute! 😀

  11. Averie (LoveVeggiesAndYoga) Says:

    So glad the kombucha is a million times better for you than storebought. Yep, agreed. And once you get it going, so easy, right! Do continuous brewing in a barrel. It will save you sooooo much time now!

    Lucky friends and gifts…hope they enjoy!

    Those burgers look great! A great way to get the non bean eaters to eat their beans 🙂

  12. Jess Says:

    Those burgers look fantastic!!

  13. Beth Says:

    Wow I’m impressed you got so much kombacha!! That must have saved you sooo much money, too!

    And I absolutely love Yankee Candle, too. I love all their sweet and fruit scents, not so much the tree/piney flavors.

  14. IHeartVegetables Says:

    Woah, I can’t believe you’re making your own Kombucha!!! I love that stuff but its like $3.49 a bottle at the store, and I’m trying to stick to my grocery budget!

    Sarena’s burger recipe looks great!

  15. Maria @ Oh Healthy Day Says:

    Macintosh is my favorite Yankee scent too – I always buy the car freshener. You’ve inspired me to go light a few candles 🙂

  16. Christin@purplebirdblog Says:

    Wicks & Sticks!!! I remember that place! I love sending goodies to my friends… feels so good knowing how much receiving fun packages will brighten their days! 😀


Leave a Reply

