No Green Beer

Hi Friends!
 
Please check out my Giveaway!
 
Did you have a nice St. Patrick’s Day?


 
March 17th, 2007 was actually Jason’s and my first date! We had met a few weeks prior at the police station – I had just joined the police reserves where Jason had been volunteering for years. We all went out for dinner, Jason and I hit it off (we actually both went to the same small high school and he was in my older sister’s class) and starting talking off and on for a few weeks. We finally went out on St. Patrick’s Day and as they say, the rest is history!
 
We decided to stay home and have a low-key evening.
 
I made some TJ’s chicken sausage, baked sweet potatoes and green beans:
 

 
I love sweet potatoes. Seriously they may be my favorite food. I could eat one with every meal.
 
Jason always suggests that we watch The Boondock Saints on St. Patrick’s Day but I always say no.
 

 
Have you seen this movie? I actually watched it for the first time over our honeymoon and thought it was ok and kind of lame. Is it just a guy thing? No clue.
 
Since it was St. Patrick’s Day, we did have some beer. We had Corona, since that is what we had in the fridge. I figure it is beer, so it works, right? And the lime is green so it works out great for St. Patrick’s Day!

 

 
Workout: Run 3 miles – completed in about 28 minutes! I’m getting pretty excited about my 12 miler on Saturday!
 
*Did you do anything fun yesterday? Did you have green beer?
 
*Please tell me I’m not the only one who doesn’t like Boondock Saints.

*Anything fun going on this weekend?

16 Responses to “No Green Beer”

  1. Sarena (The Non Dairy Queen) Says:

    I’ve never seen the movie, but am curious. A publisher friend of ours put out a comic for it which is the only reason I know anything about the movie. I am going to work on the yard and wash the car this weekend…I NEED to be outside!

  2. Hollie @ Lolzthatswim(andRun) Says:

    I had no beers or drinking…my housemate…um had enough for the entire house. Great job on your run yesterday! 28 minutes is awesome!

    I have never seen Boondock Saints..but I’m not entirely sure I would enjoy it either.

  3. Matt @ The Athlete's Plate Says:

    I basically slept all afternoon yesterday! Working at 5:30 AM fried me.

  4. 1970kikiproject Says:

    that movie TOTALLY looks like a guy thing…it would not interest me at all!
    no green beer here last eve – but i did have avacado, spinach and broccoli with dinner!
    nice 3 miler, holly! you’re consistently getting in your training runs and that is going to pay off.
    have a great weekend!

  5. Lisa @ Thrive Style Says:

    No green beer for me! I’m not all that interested in beer, so it wasn’t high on my list.

    Glad you had a nice evening!

    I have a couple get togethers scheduled this weekend with friends. I’m hoping to get some work done too. Have a great day!

  6. Beth Says:

    I’m with you on the sweet potatoes – they are one of my favorite things of all time, too.

    Last night I was very tame and went to Bikram instead of drinking green beer. It was perfect. 🙂

  7. Tina @ Faith Fitness Fun Says:

    I don’t do anything St Pattys really. I would much rather have a meal like yours. LOVE TJs sausages and sweet potatoes.

  8. adventuresofpretendcook Says:

    I love sweet potatoes too. I probably eat them more than any other vegetable.

  9. Katie Says:

    Actually, I love that movie. But, when it comes to movie, I am all about the dude flicks. I like chick flicks too, but I’ll take Die Hard, The Bourne movies, Transformers, cheesy action movies. Love em. Tell your hubs that the sequel sucks though…if he doesn’t already know it.

  10. Dorry Says:

    I feel the same way about sweet potatoes! I eat almost every other day, I think. I’ve seen Boondock Saints years ago, and remember not being able to really get into it. Billy loves it! We did nothing St. Patrick’s Day related yesterday, but we rode our bikes and saw a million people in green out celebrating in Dallas. We’re moving this weekend!

  11. emily (a nutritionist eats) Says:

    My friends did put a little green dye in their beer!!
    I had some wine. 🙂

  12. bakebooks Says:

    I’ve never seen that movie!…and now I don’t think I will either 😉

    So romantic – ahhhhhhhhh! So jealous! 😦

    That sausage looks good. And ditto on the sweet potatoes! And squash…

  13. Averie (LoveVeggiesAndYoga) Says:

    Happy 1st date anniversary!

    And judging by the tiny fraction of background i can see in that food shot, you went to great lengths to get the shot! do i see snow in the background? just to get dinnertime lighting? girl…i dont miss that weather!

  14. Peggy Says:

    I actually just saw Boondock Saints not too long ago and thought it was an alright movie. It wasn’t bad though =)

  15. Alexandra (Veggin' Out in the Kitchen) Says:

    I completely forgot that Thursday was St. Patty’s Day so I didn’t do anything 😦 But I’m very glad you had a good time!! 🙂

    And thanks for the sweet e-mail girlie! 😀

  16. Christin@purplebirdblog Says:

    I love the Boondock Saints. 🙂


Leave a Reply

