Reindeer Beans

Hi Friends!

*Don’t forget to enter my book giveaway* Not my book, but you know what I mean.

The weekend is finally here! I feel like this week has gone by very slowly. Maybe it is the MN Spring weather (finally here!) that made the week drag on?

Look! Grass:

I’ve got 12 miles planned for today and I honestly can’t wait to get out there! The trails near our house are really nice and it will be such a change from being cooped up at the gym!

Last night for dinner I made a recipe that my Dad gave me! He made it for us last weekend and it was so delicious – and super easy to make too. It makes a ton of food as well which is great, since now we don’t have to do much cooking over the weekend.

Reindeer Beans

(yes the original recipe calls for reindeer meat! I used ground beef, you could omit if you prefer)

1 lb ground reindeer or venison or beef
1/2 cup chopped bell pepper
1/2  cup chopped onion
1/2 cup BBQ sauce (I used ¼ cup)
1/4 cup brown sugar (didn’t use)
1/2 tsp vinegar
1 can (15 oz ) tomatoes
1 can pork and beans (2 lbs) (I used baked beans instead)
(the original recipe also calls for 6 strips of fried bacon, cut into pieces)

Directions:

Saute chopped bell pepper and onion until tender. Add beef and cook until browned. Meanwhile, in a crockpot, add the tomatoes, baked beans, BBQ sauce and vinegar. Once meat/veggies are done, add to crockpot and cook on high for about an hour, until well heated.  You could also just add the tomatoes/beans to the pan with the beef – but my pan is not big enough for that.

This recipe was really simple to throw together, and you could easily add more chopped veggies (carrots and celery would be good) or you could skip the meat altogether and add more beans). It would taste delicious with some chopped avocado on top, or some shredded cheese. We had neither and it was still good!

Ok I’m off for my run – have a nice weekend!

*What is your favorite crockpot dish? Feel free to leave a link!

*What are your plans for the weekend?

~Holly

23 Responses to “Reindeer Beans”

  1. 1970kikiproject Says:

    enjoy your run, holly! would love to hear how it went when you are all done. will be so invigorating to complete your miles outside!
    i don’t like crockpot meals – sorry! never have…i guess i would pick chili, if i HAD to have one!
    we’re off to TO to play with the nieces! this will be fun! and the sun is out – spring IS coming!

  2. Matt @ The Athlete's Plate Says:

    I actually LOVE venison. The burgers are freaking awesome.

    • Holly Says:

      Matt I love venison too — my dad is a hunter so I’m used to eating it all the time. I’ve never had reindeer though, have you?

  3. Sarena (The Non Dairy Queen) Says:

    The stew looks amazing! I love any bean dish in the crockpot. I started loving the crockpot this winter! Good luck on the run and have a great weekend!

  4. Dorry Says:

    I hope your 12 miles went great! This weekend is for my last speed workout for half marathon training, packing and moving…and some good food in there to fuel it all. 🙂

  5. The Teenage Taste Says:

    Good luck on the 12-miler! You’ll do amazing! 😀

  6. mostlyfitmom Says:

    Our grass is still buried, but we shouldn’t be too far behind you in thawing out! Enjoy that 12 miles.

    I’m attaching the easiest crockpot recipe EVER:
    http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Slow-Cooker-Pulled-Pork/Detail.aspx You’ve got to choose a good BBQ sauce to mix in, though.

    No big plans this weekend: studying, 4k run, hanging with the family.

  7. Maria @ Oh Healthy Day Says:

    Oooh, I love that recipe: it’s like a cross of my two favorite things: chili and baked beans.

    Good luck with your run!

  8. Averie (LoveVeggiesAndYoga) Says:

    Reindeer or venison. You know you’re living in MN or WI or ND when a recipe calls for that 🙂 Hunting season anyone?

    Crockpot meals are always great.

    Have a wonderful run and day, Holly!

  9. bakebooks Says:

    I know – it’s so refreshing to see pockets of grass – and sun!! 🙂

    I’m looking for Slow-Cooker meals as you know! LOL at “Reindeer Beans” 🙂

    I made a Kale/White Bean/Turnip Veggie Soup dish one time…also works as a GREAT salsa (apparently) 😉

    http://bakingnbooks.wordpress.com/2011/02/16/white-bean-kale-turnip-vegetable-appetizer/

  10. Katie Says:

    Ahh, the midwestern springs. I am all too familiar.

    That recipe looks like something my dad would make, too. Have you actually eaten it with reindeer?

    Good luck on your run!

    • Holly Says:

      I don’t think I’ve ever had reindeer before — when he first told me that you can make it with reindeer I thought it was a joke!

  11. leashieloo Says:

    I’m trying to take it easy this weekend. Tonight I’m planning on seeing the new Bradley Cooper movie 😉 Have a great weekend!

  12. Toni Says:

    I noticed grass today also!!! It was almost strange to finally see the green stuff beneath all that snow!

  13. Alaina Says:

    I love making chili in my crockpot. 🙂

    I’ve been having a great birthday weekend so far!!

  14. gingerbreadbagels Says:

    Good luck with your run! 🙂

    YUM that looks so good. Plans for the weekend include finishing up my Foodbuzz 24×24 and shopping!

  15. Lisa @ Thrive Style Says:

    Reindeer beans look so yummy 🙂

    I tend to just put a lot of stuff in the crockpot and see what happens…sometimes it’s awesome!

    I had a lot of fun this weekend, and I’ll be working for the rest of it. We have some grass sightings in NY too–there’s hope for spring!

  16. britt is fit Says:

    I need to get a crockpot!

  17. Christin@purplebirdblog Says:

    I’ve never had reindeer, but I’d try it! 😀

  18. charlotte Says:

    You have NO idea how happy that grass made me. And we’re supposed to get more snow this week but – shhh! – I’m going to stare at the green/brown stuff as long as I can see it!


Leave a Reply

