Tremendous Twelve

Hi Friends 🙂

Today is the last day to enter my giveaway – you have until 10pm CST tonight – winner will be announced tomorrow!

Jason is actually publishing this post for me – I am away at our Sister-in-Law’s house for the rest of the weekend. I know there is a way to set up an auto-publish in WordPress but I was short on time, so I showed Jason where the powerful Publish button is and asked him to do it for me.

Yesterday I ran 12 miles – and I was so nervous about how it would go. But it went great! I started off my morning with a good breakfast:

I think it is Denny’s or Perkins that has a breakfast called the Tremendous Twelve (2 eggs, 2 slices of toast, 2 slices of bacon, 2 sausages, 2 pancakes = 12!). Yes the only connection between the title of this post and the content of this post is the fact that the #12 appears in both. Moving on…

I chose to have a bagel with peanut butter and chia seeds on top and a sliced apple. This is my go-to breakfast before longer runs. It fills me up without weighing me down. I waited about 30 minutes and then I ran out the door!

Yes that means I ran outside – no more treadmill for the long runs. I just couldn’t bear the thought. And it was pretty nice out! At about 9am (when I started my run) it was maybe 25 degrees? But the sun was shining so I felt pretty good.

I was also bundled up with a jacket, long sleeve Under Armor shirt (love that shirt so much!), capris (from Target!), gloves and hat. I also had my fuel belt:

I keep tissues, chapstick and sport beans in the pouch, water in one bottle and Gatorade in the other. It took me a while to get used to having it on me, but now it doesn’t bother me at all. During my run I drank everything and the sport beans give me an extra boost when I need it. I love those!

I ran on some trails near our house – and I knew I was running 12 total miles because I entered it all into Map My Run before I left:

This is a great tool for me. I don’t have a Garmin or anything to keep track of the distance I am running, so I have to figure it out beforehand. Map My Run is easy to use and it is free! Plus you can search for mapped runs in your area — I have never used any of these though. I think there is a subscription service (where you can save runs, etc) but I don’t know if that is free or not. So I figured out how far I needed to run so that I was 6 miles away from home, then I turned around and came back.

12 miles took me about 2 hours, which is on track for how I have been running so far. I was just happy to be done! The hardest part was the last two miles – I knew how close I was to home and yet I still felt so far away!

I came home and iced my knees (just in case!), foam-rolled and then made myself some FOOD!

I made two over-easy eggs (my favorite), with a slice of toast. I also had a smoothie: 1 cup almond milk, ½ banana, 1 TBSP peanut butter, 1 TBSP chia seeds, 1 scoop whey protein powder, ice

Delicious! After showering I took a little snooze and I felt incredible for the rest of the day!

Have a great day!

~Holly

31 Responses to “Tremendous Twelve”

  1. Lisa @ Thrive Style Says:

    Great job on your tremendous 12! That’s awesome. And your smoothie looks like the perfect recovery drink 🙂

    Have a wonderful Sunday!

  2. Sarena (The Non Dairy Queen) Says:

    Congrats on the run! You did a great job! The eats all look perfect! I am a sucker for over easy eggs these days…loving getting my B vitamins in that way. Have a great Sunday Holly!

  3. cathyk Says:

    Way to go, holly!! What an A+ run!! Glad jason could help with the publishing!
    Your run is an excellent example of all the RIGHT things to do for a long run: pre-fuel, pace, run nutrition, post-run care! Aces!
    Have a great sunday!

  4. bakebooks Says:

    I bow down to you! Amazing.

    Do you find PB sits in your stomach? I LOVE nut butters and won’t give them up – but they do sit there at times. And I’m not running 12 miles haha! Most things “sit” in my belly anyway.

    Love the flowers.

    • Sharon Says:

      I have that problem with nut butters too – I try to reserve them for after a long run, never before or I don’t make it out the door, I feel too full!

      Good job on the 12 miles Holly! Keep up the good work!

    • Holly Says:

      Some PB on a bagel or toast sits in my stomach — in a good way. It doesn’t turn into a rock, but it keeps me satisfied. I can’t run on an empty stomach, so this works well for me!

  5. Matt @ The Athlete's Plate Says:

    Great breakfast! I am having something similar right now after my 16 miler 😉

  6. mostlyfitmom Says:

    Way to go on your long run! Was the trail you ran on clear? Around here, while it’s been near freezing lately and it’s been melting a bit, we also got some more snow last week so everything is very icy and rutted. My trainer said a friend of hers actually slipped and fell a couple of weeks ago and broke her leg, putting a heck of a hold on her ironman training. I can’t take the treadmill anymore myself and just try to be careful out there.

    I’m still trying to figure out pre-run nutrition and haven’t come up with anything that works to keep the runner’s trots away.

    • Holly Says:

      Yes, the trail I run in is paved and the city keeps it plowed. There were a few icy spots and a few puddles, but it wasn’t bad at all! I have only ran outside one other time this year because I am afraid of falling on the ice.

  7. 1970kikiproject Says:

    way to go, holly!
    what an A+ run. Glad jason could help with the publishing!
    your run is an excellent example of all the things to do RIGHT for a long run: your pre-fuel, your pace, your during-the-run fuel and your post-run care…keep up the good work!
    have a great sunday!

  8. J3nn (Jenn's Menu and Lifestyle Blog) Says:

    Whoa, 12 miles? That’s incredible!!! Good for you. We went to the store today; 6 miles away and I was thinking I could totally walk there and back. Would take twice as long as running, but, I’m a walker, not a runner, LOL.

  9. Averie (LoveVeggiesAndYoga) Says:

    12 miles! You are not a couch potato! You need a new blog name. (kidding!!) Holy impressive, Holly!!! 🙂

    That smoothie…oh i am not even that much of a smoothie drinker but for some reason, that smoothie looks better than 98908 smoothies ive seen in the sphere this year!

    And tulips. I LOVE tulips!!! beautiful!

  10. Heather @ Health, Happiness, and Hope Says:

    Awesome run! Isn’t it great to be able to get outside again? 🙂

    Love the idea of chia seeds topping the bagels, and those eggs look so good. Hope you’re having a great weekend!

  11. Katie Says:

    Its Perkins!!! I used to go there all the time in high school and a friend always got the tremendous 12. And ate it all. It was kind of disgusting actually.

  12. Alaina Says:

    Congrats on a great 12 miler!! I’m still working up to that. I had my 6 miler today. It was cold but nice and clear and not windy!

    Eggs are my favorite post run breakfast. 🙂

  13. Jess Says:

    HUGE CONGRATS on 12 miles–awesome fuel too!!

  14. Hollie @ Lolzthatswim(andRun) Says:

    Congrats on your run!

    I love eggs too-I actually haven’t had them in a while…I’ll have to work on that soon. Nom. Well I have them on campus in my quiche but other than that I haven’t had overeasy eggs in ages.

  15. Toni Says:

    Congrats on the run!

    I love tulips! They scream spring!

  16. IHeartVegetables Says:

    CONGRATS on the run! That’s seriously so awesome!!!! I did 6 yesterday, which is a “long” run for me! I’m trying to work up to more miles!

  17. Allie (Live Laugh Eat) Says:

    WOW Holly!!! Congrats x12 🙂 The most I’ve ever run is 8 miles…I don’t know if my shins could handle 12. Great job though, girl!

  18. Beth Says:

    Congrats on 12 miles!!! That is AWESOME. My half is coming up on Saturday and I’m so excited about it!

  19. the neurotic yogini Says:

    Omgosh it’s still so cold up there! I’m down in Texas and it was almost 75 degrees when I left the house at 9 am!!!

  20. Dorry Says:

    Congrats on your 12 miles! I’m so glad you got to run outside, even though 25 sounds freezing to me. 🙂 BUT, it’s getting harder to run here with the warm temperatures and humidity. I’ve used Map My Run before and found it totally reliable and easy to use!

  21. Laury @thefitnessdish Says:

    AMAZING job on the12 miles! Woot Woot!

    hope you’re having a good time at your sister in laws! Have a great day!

  22. emily (a nutritionist eats) Says:

    Wow, Congrats! That is a long run!

  23. Brittany (A Healthy Slice of Life) Says:

    Wow, girl- 12 miles is awesome! And I just love those tulips 🙂

  24. charlotte Says:

    Ok so I actually counted the food on your plate before I read your explanation of the “12”. Sigh. But congrats on your long run! 12 miles is great!! And I heart my eggs over easy too:)

  25. Kath (My Funny Little Life) Says:

    Congrats on your run! I hope I’ll be able to do that one day! 🙂

    Love your smoothie, it looks totally fabulous. I’ll make one like that as well! 🙂


Leave a Reply

