No Scrubs

Good Morning 🙂
 
Happy Saturday, finally!!!
 
Last night my mom came over to watch a movie with me. We decided to watch:

It was pretty good! Denzel hardly ever disappoints. John Travolta is kind of annoying, but I don’t like him much anyway. It wasn’t a hang-on-the-edge-of-your-seat kind of movie, but it definitely had a good story that moved nicely and was easy to follow.
 
I made Crockpot Chili and it tasted so good. Its been kind of chilly here in MN!

Chilly and Chili make me think of the other Chilli:

TLC: Chilli, T-Boz, Lisa “Left-Eye” I couldn’t decide if I should name this post “No Scrubs” or “Waterfalls”. I hope I made the right choice 🙂

The recipe is super easy, and you could make it without beef/add more veggies if you choose to not eat meat:
 
Crockpot Chili
 
1 lb ground beef
1 onion, chopped
2 cans kidney beans, drained
2 cups V8 juice, or tomato juice
1/3 cup brown sugar (or less if you prefer)
¼ tsp black pepper
½ tsp salt
1 tsp chili powder
 
Instructions:
 
Brown beef with onion in large skillet. Drain, then stir in brown sugar. Combine with all other ingredients in crockpot. Set to high for 2 hours, stirring every ½ hour or so.
 
I’ve also made this by cooking it on low for 4-5 hours. Turns out great either way!

 I had my chili in my new Pier 1 mug:
 
I had a great time Mom! 🙂

Questions:

1. What are your plans for the weekend?

2. What is your earliest childhood memory? Can you remember things from when you were super young? My earliest memories were MAYBE from when I was 4 or 5? I don’t remember much when I was very young. I do remember that our backyard had these huge cotton trees and my sister Leah and I would go out and pick up all the cotton and make these big huge cotton balls. We had a huge backyard and loved to be outside.

3. What are your favorite stores to buy clothes? Work, casual or dressed up. I am the ultimate boring dresser: solid v-neck with a skirt for work or solid v-neck with jeans when I’m not at work! I wish I was kidding, but I’m not…I need cheap clothes, but I want them to look nice. Does that even exist?

***Check out Averie’s Giveaway: Zevia!

Enjoy your weekend!

Holly

Posted in Dinner, Recipe. Tags: . 19 Comments »

19 Responses to “No Scrubs”

  1. carly Says:

    It’s still super hot where I’m at, but I think I need to make a big batch of chili. I love it so much! I may make some to eat now and freeze the rest for later in the year.

    I love stores like Old Navy, Kohl’s, H&M, Forever 21 and Macy’s (which is my all-time fave.) If you hit department or specialty stores up when the seasons change, you can get FABULOUS deals. One time I got this fantastic black dress, originally $79.99, for only $3.99. H&M and Forever 21 are for when I want something trendy but cheap. I also stock up on fun T-shirts for weekends at Forever 21.

    Accessories, one word: eBay. Pretty much all my purses are from an eBay buy. I get shoes from anywhere and everywhere … I love shoes! If I want jewelry, I either buy cheap for myself, or get a boyfriend. 😉

    Target is also a good place, but I’ve found I can get clothes for just as cheap if not cheaper by following my rule to shop at the change of seasons. I shop for winter clothes when it starts getting hot, and summer clothes when it starts getting cold. And then I maybe get something that’s new for that season.

    And some people may turn up their noses, but depending where you live, Goodwill/Salvation Army may have amazing finds. There was this fabulous Goodwill near where I was living in Atlanta where all the rich ladies would dump their “last season” clothing. I found FABULOUS Dolce & Gabbana boots for $10. $10!!! Except they were brown, which I hardly ever wear, so I sold them on eBay for I think $130. It’s great to go at the end of year, when everyone is donating to get a tax write-off. It can be hit-or-miss, but I like to check in on those places every so often.

    Sorry for the long comment! But I can talk about shopping and deals all day long. 😉

  2. Michelle @ Chasing Ambulances Says:

    Yummy chili! My favorite stores are usually the ones I can’t afford at full price – Banana Republic, Ann Taylor & Ann Taylor Loft. They have great sales if you wait for them. For basics I’ll go to Old Navy & Target, and for something trendy I’ll go to H&M – it’s not worth paying much for trends IMO!

  3. Di @ http://thetreadmilldiaries.com/ Says:

    I was curious about the Taking of Pelham 123. Thanks for sharing your thoughts on it. Sounds like it might be worth a rental.

    As for clothes shopping, I tend to go where the mood strikes while I’m strolling the mall. If the right cut or color catches my eye, I’ll go check it out. I admit to actively watching the sale flyers too – just in case there’s something of interest. Always prefer to pay sale over full price. 🙂

  4. Mary @ Bites and Bliss Says:

    haha I now have that song playing in my head. 🙂 I love chili..whenever I’m home my mom makes some awesome stuff made with Morningstar recipe crumbles and it tastes just like the real thing. Except I’ve always been a fan of the kidney beans so I usually pick around the meat and try to get as many beans as possible!

  5. Anne@ Food Loving Polar Bear Says:

    Heh! I think my earliest memory is when I got lost in Spain in a hotel. I was 3 and abroad with my parents and walked around the lobby where our room was and suddenly I could not find my parents anymore. Huh, but luckily a lovely old couple found me my parents 🙂

  6. Sarena (The Non-Dairy Queen) Says:

    I am making chili tonight! I am actually kind of excited about it even though it is supposed to be 92 degrees out today. I think I may crank up the air and put on a sweater to enjoy it!

  7. Averie (LoveVeggiesAndYoga) Says:

    Thanks for the Zevia linkage!

    I need to buy a crockpot. I dont have one but I should get one b/c making easy things i dont have to tend to would be great. But I dont cook with meat OR with things like jarred sauces of bbq, ketchup, salsa, etc as the sodium content makes me feel icky and my hubs doenst need the sodium either but i do love the looks of the crockpot…sorry rambling…

    Work clothes. Forever 21. Seriously if you want to look nice but dont want to spend much, go there. Some of their clothes look cheap. Some dont. Or go to Express. They have decent sales. I mean if your goal is under $50 an outfit, you need sale Express, Forever 21, maybe Target. And if it’s far less than $50 an outfit, then you better make good friends with F21. 🙂

  8. crispandverdant Says:

    My fav stores to buy clothes are 1. Kohl’s and 2. This store called Plato’s Closet, which is a funky consignment shop. I’m all about getting great deals!

  9. Kylie @ A Hungry Spoon Says:

    It’s definitely getting to be chili-season…we put veggie chili on our weekly menu for this week as well!

    Plans for the weekend? Yard work the rest of the afternoon, then an evening at the bookstore coffee shop…and probably a stop at Coldstone Creamery somewhere along the way 🙂

    Happy Saturday!

  10. Matt Says:

    I LOVED that movie!

  11. Katie Says:

    I just wrote “make chilli” on my to-do list for tomorrow. I was thinking I needed something that will make a ton of food for the busy week I have. I have never made chilli with ground beef, so I was going to have search out a recipe online, but not anymore! I am so making this!

    I get my clothes at the Gap. I have zero fashion sense, though, so maybe don’t listen to me. Unless you want more jeans and v-necks, because that’s about all I wear too.

  12. Wendy @ Seriously Sassy Says:

    A movie night with your mom sounds so nice! Glad you liked the movie. 🙂
    And the chili looked great too. Loooove chili!
    This weekend….let’s see…today the neighbor kids hung out over here all afternoon, we got Chinese for dinner, and now I’m totally vegging cuz I feel like cow poop. Hopefully I’ll feel a lot better tomorrow because we have church and then a birthday party to go to!

  13. Jessica (Fit and Clean) Says:

    Chili sounds so good. But it’s in the 90’s here, so we’re still grilling out! We spent the day poolside today, LOL!

    I’m an Old Navy girl all the way. Cheap and good quality 🙂

  14. leashieloo Says:

    I loved TLC back in the day! Totally reminds me of my middle school days. And yay for Zevia, thanks for the link!

  15. eatmovelove Says:

    I haven’t seen Denzel in a movie in a long time…great Actor, but I find he has the same demeanour in a lot of his films -still super cool and collected though 🙂

    There’s something about Kidney beans that I can’t get over to eat…I think it’s their look – I know that’s lame, but still…Love black beans and pinto beans though! …and definitely brown beans in tomato sauce…that come in a can…with a lot of salt…and I don’t care – it’s love 😉

  16. gingerbreadcake Says:

    Mmm chili, I’ve been thinking about making that lately! 🙂 YUM!

    Now onto some of the questions…

    This weekend I’m doing lots of baking and shopping. (for baking stuff of course!)

    My favorite store to shop at is Old Navy. It’s casual and not too expensive. I’m not much of a clothes shopper though. I’d much rather buy a new rolling pin or vanilla extract. haha! 🙂

    Have a great weekend!

  17. Angela (the diet book junkie) Says:

    i used to LOVE TLC! 90’s music in general tends to be my favourite, i wonder if that means i’m old 😛

    my earliest childhood memory was stepping into Kindergarten on my first stay. everything before that remains a blur.

    haha….i’m a pretty boring dresser too. i used to be stylish, but i just can’t get into this
    80’s and skinny jean craze. (oh man, is that another sign that i’m old :P)

  18. My busy morning « Making Food and Other Stuff Says:

    […] married. It’s practically an antique. I’ve never made crockpot chilli with meat before. This recipe was my inspiration, but I tweaked it a lot, as is my […]

  19. thoughtsappear Says:

    Yum…chili. I’ll have to try out this recipe before my mom asks for her crockpot back. Thanks for posting!


Leave a Reply

