First Attempt at VOO

Hi Readers!

Last night I decided it would be the perfect time to try out Angela’s Oatmeal Raisin Cookie Vegan Overnight Oats. I had to make a few changes, I omitted the raisins (didn’t have any) and I used chia meal instead of chia seeds (didn’t have any seeds!). I was hopeful that the recipe would still work.

Last night:

 I whipped them up, just like Angela suggested.

This morning:

 I thought they would solidify more (?)

In the glass with some maple syrup on top:

It seemed pretty thin:

 (those were all the chunks from the bottom)

It was ok. I think the chia seeds would give it a better texture than the chia meal. I am picking up more seeds today and will give this another shot. It smelled absolutely divine. And I ate it anyway! I will try again later this week.

I updated my blog roll last night – if I missed you, please let me know! I’d be happy to add you to the list. I love finding new blogs to read and learn from.

J and I recently signed up for the Medtronic TC 10 Mile Race in October. Our last race was a Half Marathon in July (before that it was our marathon!) and I’m excited for a shorter race. I am working on a training schedule that can incorporate running, TurboFire and strength training. I recently read this book (FBB for short) and will use the workouts in here as well:

I’ll do a more thorough review of this book later on today. I need to reread a few parts and get my schedule all figured out. I’d love to get some feedback on it as well. FBB is all about lifting weights (and not the pink “Barbie doll” weights). The author writes about how strength training is key in getting the body you want.

I’m ready for my TurboFire workout, then I am off to our beloved Target store, which recently added fresh groceries. I can’t wait to see what the store looks like! For now I shop at 3 different grocery stores and it would be great to only have 1 or 2. Cross your fingers that Target has everything I need!

Question of the day: Where do you shop for groceries? Do you have to go to a few different stores to get everything you need?

Enjoy your Sunday!

Holly

9 Responses to “First Attempt at VOO”

  1. Michelle Says:

    I usually use at least 1 Tablespoon of chia seeds in VOO, and just enough water/milk to cover the oatmeal.

    I go to three places to get groceries and none of them are a regular ‘ole grocery store: Whole Foods or PCC, Trader Joes and a produce stand. Sometimes the Asian food market too.

  2. sophia Says:

    I got to different grocery stores for different things:

    Costco: things that I buy in bulk, like vanilla, sugar, butter, bread, oats, nuts, snacks
    WF: bulk bin for things that I wanna try in smaller quantities, like grains and beans
    TJ: Greek yogurt, cheese, some produce
    Korean market: ethnic stuff like gochujang, kimchi, and produce because it’s so cheap!
    Latino markets: cheap produce
    general American supermarket: miscellaneous items like syrup

    It’s like I go grocery shopping every single day!

  3. Maria @ Oh Healthy Day Says:

    Argh. I hate having to shop at 2-3 grocery stores to get exactly what I want. I mainly stick to Whole Foods though because for the most part, it does have what I want, even though Trader Joe’s is less expensive. We do one Costco run a month to stock up on pantry items.

    P.S. I think you need chia seeds, rather than meal. The first time I made VOO, I omitted the seeds because I didn’t have them and they turned out terrible!

  4. Lauren @ BIOCHEMISTA Says:

    Hi!!!! Thank you for commenting on my blog! 🙂

    I looooove TurboFire!!!! And I totally agree – Chia seeds are the way to go in overnight oats!!

  5. Holly @ Self-love and Running Says:

    I am totally going to try overnight oats soon. Seeing them everywhere makes me want them!

    I generally grocery shop at farmers markets and hit up a regular chain grocery store (Giant) for things like pasta and rice. Every once in a while we also go to a local health food store.

  6. kaztronomic Says:

    I tried to make VOO the other night without chia seeds, and it was a bust, too. I’m glad they tasted delicious, at least!

    I usually go to Winco (it’s like Cub Foods) for most of the stuff, but I buy my peanut butter/almond butter at Costco and I find my “treats” (Larabars, fancy grains and cereals) at the Co-op. =)

  7. Kate Says:

    overnight oats are a bit touchy sometimes. i really like just soaking oats in almond milk and letting it sit in the refrigerator while i sart cofffe and “wake up” the house for the day. they soften up pretty nicely.

    i buy stuff at the Super Target, Whole Foods, a local Co-Op and the farmers market depending on what i am shopping for. LOVE grocery stores!

  8. Maria Says:

    Holly, glad to “see” you again. I used to post to the SOPer board. I’ve been doing FBB for a couple months now and really am enjoying it. I need to focus on getting the the Met Circuits better, but am seeing a real improvement in my arms and abs.

    Great blog BTW.

    Take care,

    Maria


Leave a Reply

