Burgers & Pancakes

Good Morning Readers!

Last night J and I had a great time at the Twins game! We are not baseball fans, but somehow going to a game to watch it live is different, you know what I mean? The ballpark is absolutely beautiful.

There you can see TC Bear our mascot!
The Twins won 4-0, and 3 of the runs happened in the first inning, so it wasn’t the most exciting game. However, the FOOD was the exciting part. Here is what we all shared:
The Vincent Burger: a beef patty with braised short ribs and smoked gouda stuffed in the center:
It was worth the $12 for only a few bites! Yes we paid $12 for a burger!
J had a steak and onion sandwich:
I’m still dreaming of the Vincent Burger. It was named the Minneapolis Best Gourmet Burger in 2007. How could I ever eat another burger after that? It will pale in comparison.
This morning we got up and I had one thing on my mind: pancakes. But I really didn’t want to bust into the Bisquick mix, I wanted to make my own. Here they are:

Quick Banana Oatmeal Pancakes
  
Throw into blender:
½ cup oatmeal
½ cup almond milk (or milk of choice)
1 scoop whey protein powder
1 banana
¼ tsp vanilla

Place skillet on stove and turn burner onto medium heat. Use a ¼ cup measuring cup to measure batter for nice sized pancakes. I added a few walnuts to mine:

When edges start to brown, flip and cook about 1 minute on the other side. You know how you like your pancakes, so cook them that way! I like mine with a slightly doughy/mushy center, so I didn’t cook them completely. There aren’t any raw eggs in the batter so I wasn’t worried!

I topped mine with more sliced banana and a dribble of maple syrup. J thought they tasted chocolatey – even though there isn’t any chocolate in them.

Plans:
Workout: TurboFire Fire 55 EZ, Stretch 40 (didn’t get to this yesterday)
Read The Lovely Bones
Watch the local parade (and maybe visit the beer garden)
Clean kitchen
Relax
Watch TV: anything good on today?
QUESTION OF THE DAY: What is your favorite breakfast?
21 Responses to “Burgers & Pancakes”

  1. Sherris Says:

    super awesome banana pancakes without the grains. 1 egg 1 banana 1 tbs of almond butter they are my sat morning staple and turn out fluffy. although your pancakes look really good… makes me wish i could eat oats.

  2. michellestgermain Says:

    I am a scrambled egg kinda girl.

  3. Stephanie@ avocado nation Says:

    The Twins game was on in the bar I visited last night and I totally thought of you because I knew you’d be there! I love blog friends. 🙂

    Also, if you are still thinking about that burger, it was definitely worth the 12 bucks. There is nothing I love more than smoked gouda. Looks delicious.

    • couchpotatoathlete Says:

      It was so good — We didn’t know what the ingredients were until we bit into it (and then looked it up online to know for sure). Who would think to put pulled pork INSIDE a burger? Only a genius.

  4. Becky Says:

    Oatmeal and pancakes are in a neck ‘n neck race to the finish. I love both so much! Breakfast is by far my favorite meal of the day…probably because it usually includes something sweet.

  5. Nicole Says:

    I’m not into baseball either, but actually being there is always fun!

    I tried to make protein pancakes awhile back and I couldn’t get them to hold together…maybe I’ll give your recipe a shot!

    Breakfast is my favorite meal of the day…I am pretty much happy with anything! Oatmeal, cold cereal, pancakes, french toast, cinnamon roll, an omelet back when I ate eggs…just about anything will do!

  6. Sarena (The Non-Dairy Queen) Says:

    Sometimes, the experience of food is worth the splurge on the wallet and the calories, right! It looks like you had such a great time! The pancakes look delicious too! Have a great night!

  7. Wendy Says:

    Look at that cool burger! Unique. I bet it was a real treat! The pancakes look delish, too.
    I am a MAJOR breakfast girl! My fave is gluten-free bread with AB, a big ol’ bananer, ice water and coffee. LOOOOVE OJ but I don’t wanna drink my calories so I have it very seldom.

  8. Kate Says:

    how have i not been to a game yet this summer?! my brother raves about the vincent burger. i guess he waited in line 25min for it once which is A LOT for him.

    don’t even get me started on my favorite breakfasts……. 🙂

  9. 40apples Says:

    Favorite breakfast: definitely PANCAKES!! 🙂 Although I rarely get the chance to make them on my own, which I really need to do something about. These guys look incredible and I love how simple the recipe is! Plus it has my 2 favorite ingredients: oatmeal and banana. Gotta try it.

  10. Megan @ Healthy Hoggin Says:

    That burger looks AMAZING! I love smoked gouda! Yum.

    My usual breakfast is green juice… mostly because I like the way I feel when I drink it! But if I could eat ANYTHING for breakfast, I’d eat buttermilk pancakes or a fried egg sandwich! (and I do, but I try to save those for special occasions) 😉

    Those banana-oat pancakes look great!

  11. kaztronomic Says:

    I love breakfast! I think my favorite is hot porridge. Something about the hot creamy groats with cool fruit and oodles of nut butter makes me want to get out of bed. =)

  12. Angela (the diet book junkie) Says:

    aw! looks like you guys had an amazing time at the game! i know what you mean…totally more exciting when you’re actually there.

    oh – and i LOVE breakfast. it’s my favourite meal of the day for sure, cereal is tbe bomb! i’ve had it every day for the past 5 years!


Leave a Reply

