Breakfast for Dinner

Good Morning!
Yesterday J and I were at a local parade near our city. It was a beautiful day and we had a great time. Check out these great floats:
A huge mosquito – only in MN!
The “Up” house – it was a float for a guy running for Sheriff — the slogan was “things are looking UP in MN”. Dumb I know, but that movie makes me cry so I liked it.
This guy had a GREAT time — as you can tell.

hahaha – did you own Zubaz as a kid? I can honestly say I didn’t. Thank you Mom and Dad for never buying me any!
I was so tired from walking around at the parade (we walked non stop, back and forth for over 2 hours) – so I skipped my workout. I needed the rest, but today I am back to TurboFire.
Remember all of my Farmers Market veggies from Saturday? When I bought the kale I KNEW I needed to make my first batch of Kale Chips:
They turned out really well. Even J ate some! They really were crunchy and salty like good potato chips.
Last night at dinnertime I was craving breakfast foods — specifically this:
Denny’s Heartland Scramble: Two scrambled eggs with bacon, country-fried potatoes, green peppers and onions and Cheddar cheese
Instead, I made my own without all the cheese and deliciousness grease.
Couch Potato Scramble
Ingredients:  Italian sausage, eggs, onion, green pepper, red potatoes

Start by washing, cutting and roasting your veggies:
(I roasted them with canola oil, salt and pepper for 30 minutes at 350 degrees)
After veggies are done roasting, turn oven off, but keep veggies in there. Brown crumbled sausage pieces in a skillet, and cook eggs over easy in another skillet. Arrange ingredients this way in a bowl: first layer veggies, second layer sausage, third layer egg.
This was a really filling meal and very easy to make. Next time I’ll mix in some mushrooms and tomatoes. The best part was cutting into the egg and letting the yolk ooze out onto the veggies. Egg yolk is good on just about anything.
Question: Do you like parades? What is your favorite part? I love seeing the unicycles, or the little kids doing karate moves. I also love the food and beer gardens that usually accompany parades…
39 Responses to “Breakfast for Dinner”

  1. EmbraceYourSkin Says:

    I’m not a giant parade person simply because they are always so crowded. I love the music and dancing though 🙂

  2. fitandfortysomething Says:

    i love the pic of that guy! he was having a great time for sure 🙂 yes you sure did get in a lot of walking-no workout needed. love how you made an unhealthy breakfast healthy and for dinner-yours looks great!

  3. TheHealthyApron Says:

    I’ve never been a big parade person but when you go to Disney World and experience their parades…you feel like a kid again!

  4. Becky Says:

    On Columbus Day my city always has a huge parade. My boyfriend’s family lives along the route so we always turn it into a huge shindig. The parade is nice, but the party is better!

  5. TanyasDailyProductReviews Says:

    parades bring out funny things in some people

  6. carly Says:

    I love parades. I grew up in a small town (and now live in a different small town), and the annual parades just seem so perfectly Americana.

  7. Kenzie (Healthy Purpose) Says:

    i like your remake of the greasy original! I’m not a huge parade person… but those are some fun pics! I guess I like when they throw candy and free stuff out though, that’s a high point for me.

  8. lizlivingvegan Says:

    Man those kale chips look great! I’m going to have to make some tonight 🙂

  9. rc1001 Says:

    I love parades! They are fun!

  10. greensandjeans Says:

    I LOVE breakfast for dinner! I haven’t been to a parade in years, but they are always a good time!

  11. Laury @thefitnessdish Says:

    I used to always LOVE breakfast for dinner!! The zebra bus is great! Parade looks like a great time!! I never owned a Zubaz? Never even heard of one!! I had care bears, smurfs, Barbies and pound puppies…and Teddy Roxban 🙂

    • couchpotatoathlete Says:

      Oh my, google Zubaz right now, if you don’t know what they are. They are the most hilarious clothes in crazy zebra prints and wild colors. Maybe they are a regional thing, I had no idea!

  12. 40apples Says:

    Awww I LOVE that “Up!” house!
    I do like parades; full disclosure, I used to be in marching band (woot!) and then on my high school’s dance team, both of which marched in our city’s annual parades. The sound of marching bands brings up all these great memories of excitement and fun 🙂
    I’ve also seen a few Mardi Gras krewe parades, which are so spectacular – the floats, the bead throwing, the costumes – all so awesome!

    Well done on the Denny’s remake – yours looks much better!

  13. Brittany (A Healthy Slice of Life) Says:

    Oh I love your scramble remake- looks yummy! Way better than Denny’s greasy mess 🙂

  14. Tina Says:

    I love parades. Although I don’t know about that huge mosquito!

    Your scramble looks really good. And it probably ends up being more satisfying than the other bec you don’t end up with a grease tummy ache.

  15. Mary @ Bites and Bliss Says:

    Breakfast for dinner’s my favorite. It always makes me think of Scrubs when JD and Turk were so fascinated with “Brinner” haha 😛 Hopefully you know what I’m talking about otherwise that might sound a little strange. And I love parades! The best part- the candy. 😉

  16. arsenalfamily Says:

    Parades are always so hot! I loved them as a kid though!

  17. annecalista Says:

    I haven’t been to a parade in so long! And I didn’t know you lived in Minnesota! Most of my relatives live there 🙂

  18. shannon (The Daily Balance) Says:

    parades are the best! I still have yet to go to one this year, i must change that ASAP!

  19. Wendy Says:

    Oh yes, love parades! We went to a great one on the 4th of July! My fave part is the firetrucks and ambulances cuz quite often, firemen and paramedics are smokin’ hot!!
    The omelette looks yummmmmy!

  20. Autumn @ Good Eats Girl Says:

    I love parades! And your omelet looks GREAT!!!

  21. kaztronomic Says:

    I actually had to google Zubas, so I guess I’m one of the lucky ones. x)

    That parade looks like it was so fun! I can’t remember the last time I went to one, but I think I’d do one again if they offered me candy. (I must be a creep-in-a-white-van’s dream. >.> Hah!)

    That scramble looks fantastic! I’m not keen on runny eggs, though, so I’d have to either scramble mine or fry it. xD

  22. Kate Says:

    i used to march in parades in my youth as a part of our dance studio. it was great fun! two years ago i had to dress up as the mascott of the nonprofit i worked at and marched in two parades. that sucked a bit as the eye holes weren’t at the right level for me. other than that, i like parades!

  23. Katie @ Health for the Whole Self Says:

    One Thanksgiving my husband’s family thought it was would be a good idea for all of us to participate in the Philadelphia parade. I believe I was part of the Barney float. It was…interesting. Ha!

  24. Angela (the diet book junkie) Says:

    i totally gotta make those kale chips! everyone’s saying how awesome they are, and they look so easy. the last parade i saw was the Santa Clause here in Sydney. it’s so funny because it’s summer, +28, and they have fake snow on the floats! (i’m from Canada, right, so i’m used to snow and cold!)

  25. Stephanie@ avocado nation Says:

    Hahahahaha. I love baton twirlers. I don’t know what it is, but I think that takes real talent. That giant mosquito cracks me up! Are mosquitos a problem in MN?

  26. Wendy Says:

    Girl, I am still WAY jealous of alllll the comments you get! Lol! Come read my blog too, you guys – I promise it’s awesome! 🙂

  27. Megan @ Healthy Hoggin Says:

    I don’t really go to parades very often… but I enjoy watching the big ones on TV, like Macy’s Thanksgiving Day parade! (although, I’ll admit… I lose interest pretty quickly!) And I love Disneyland’s Electrical Parade– I could watch that over and over! 🙂

  28. Hannah Says:

    That mosquito ives me the absolute heebie-jeebies. UGH! They’re the one bug that really really freka me out. I think I need to calm myself down my pretending I have your Denny’s breakfast for dinner waiting for me at home… 😛


Leave a Reply

