Smart Dough

Good Morning!

I feel so privileged that I got to share Zubaz with so many of you! I remember at one point in my childhood seeing almost every 30-40 year old man wear a pair of purple/gold Zubaz with a Vikings jersey or sweatshirt. Yikes.

Tuesday morning I got in a great 3 mile run with J – it is so hot in the morning (we got up at 5:30am!) but we got through it. I saw a 8 wild turkeys all huddled together too – not something you see every day! I only wish I had my camera with so you could see them all.

For dinner I really wanted pizza. Normally we order from Papa Murphys (where you pick it up fresh and then bake it at home), but I wanted to make my own. So, I got some help from Bob:

I really wanted this to work, since it is dairy free (for J) and had decent ingredients. I started by mixing up the crust dough. I was bummed to see that I had to let it rise for 20 minutes (I know, I know, I’m not much of a baker and forget that you have to do these things!) I followed the instructions, divided the dough in two and let it rise.

Meanwhile, I busted out a TurboFire HIIT workout (20 minutes long!) – I think the dough “knew” I needed to workout and the timing was just right.

After 20 minutes I was covered in sweat. The dough had risen quite a bit in just a short time. I pressed the dough in a cookie sheet (no pizza pan here, folks!) and baked it for a few minutes. Meanwhile, I chopped my veggies and shredded my soy cheese:

Red pepper, orange pepper, onion, spinach

I took the crust out of the oven and saw how amazingly thick this crust is. YUM! I threw on the tomato sauce, veggies, some cooked Italian sausage and the soy cheese:

And after 15 minutes in the oven:

Delicious pizza. The crust was so thick and crunchy (and soft at the same time) – it was just perfect. I wasn’t expecting much from a dairy free/wheat free/gluten free crust, but it was awesome!

I did look for some new shoes, but I couldn’t find anything I liked. Where do you like to buy shoes?

I did find something to buy:

I can’t wait to read it!

Question of the day: What are your favorite pizza toppings? Do you prefer to make your own, or do you have a favorite pizza place?

34 Responses to “Smart Dough”

  1. Becky Says:

    I love making my own pizza, but I usually use the TJ’s whole wheat dough. The last time I tried to make my own it turned into a disaster! This mix looks great and I’ve seen it at the store. Maybe I’ll give dough-making another shot!

    I am total shoe hoarder! I love shoes! I mostly wear comfy ones, but I love all shoes! Nordstrom’s shoe department is my absolute favorite place!

  2. Holly Says:

    That pizza looks delish!

  3. Kelly Says:

    We love the GF pizza frust by Gillians…it is already premade and you just have to roll it out. AWESOME!!

  4. kelsey@snackingsquirrel.com Says:

    its so hard to make a delicious and yummy looking gluten-free pizza! THIS LOOKS INCREDIBLE! bob’s red mill makes the best grain products around, both gluten-free or not! this really looks yummy girl! ❤

  5. 40apples Says:

    That pizza looks delish. I have been wanting to make my own with Trader Joe’s dough, which I’ve used before and love. My ideal pizza would have lots of veggies (peppers, tomatoes, mushrooms) and fresh mozzarella, OR goat cheese and something fancier like figs and arugula.
    If I wanted to be kind to my stomach, though, I’d use non-dairy cheese. Maybe Daiya? What kind do you use?

  6. Shanna, like Banana Says:

    Lvoe making homemade pizza..a homemade pesto is even better on it!

    I load mine with onions and like to top the last couple minutes of baking with arugula

  7. Brittany (A Healthy Slice of Life) Says:

    Oh yum, that pizza looks great! I am always a little skeptical of gluten-free, but it’s nice to see it turn out so delicious looking 🙂

    my friend loves Zappos online for shoes… but I am a horrible shopper, so no help here!

  8. Michelle Says:

    I love as many veggies as possible! Just pile them on top! haha

  9. Stephanie@ avocado nation Says:

    Hmmm…I really like Discount Show Warehouse (DSW) for shoes. Lots of designer brands for a good price. Not sure if they have it everywhere though. I also like Aldo and Nine West.

    Also, thank you so much for the shout out on Becky’s blog. I am so honored, really. Thanks.

  10. Alycia @ Fit n Fresh Says:

    Your pizza looks fantastic! I would wayyy rather eat a homemade pizza than a delivery one. And everyone is buying her book! I really should join on in that lol

  11. Heather Says:

    i don’t LOVE making my own dough, but i like buying it from whole foods and then topping with different stuff! i’m still a fan of pepperoni, but i also love mushrooms, spinach, and chicken sausage too 🙂

  12. Wendy Says:

    Oh that pizza looks amazing, Holly!!! You’ve definitely inspired me to give it a shot with the Red Mill crust mix. THANKS for your review on that! I’ve seen it but haven’t tried it yet. Gluten-free! Woot!
    I actually don’t get all that excited about shoes (unless they’re Asics or New Balance!). As for those, I like Dick’s Sporting Goods a LOT. For nonathletic shoes, it’s usually Target or Walmart!

  13. Laury @thefitnessdish Says:

    Ohhhhh…YUM! When I tried to make GF pizza, the crust was just OK..but yours looks GREAT! My fav toppings are Spinach and Goats cheese 🙂

    I can’t wait to read the Operation Beautiful book!!! I was on Amazon earlier, I am going to buy it tonight I think!

    I buy shoes at DSW.

    My fav place to get pizza is Whole Foods, their multi-grain crust I have them make and load with veggies, or the Tomato Basil, YUM!

  14. Katie @ Health for the Whole Self Says:

    I always use Trader Joe’s whole wheat pizza dough (99 cents!) but I don’t know if they have a gluten-free variety. My favorite toppings are mushrooms and caramelized onions – yum!

  15. fitandfortysomething Says:

    i am lucky because hubby can make a mean pizza from scratch!

  16. rc1001 Says:

    I love to make my own! Pile on the veggies and extra cheese please!

  17. Nicole @ Getting Back to the Basics Says:

    I am cracking up at the MN Zubaz problem!

    I was totally debating buying pizza dough at Trader Joe’s this weekend and ended up deciding against it…now I’m going to have to get it for sure! Your pizza looks so good!

  18. Nicole @ Making Good Choices Says:

    I love making my own pizza dough, but if I am making gluten free pizza I’ll use Bob’s. I buy shoes usually at Bloomingdales or online at Piperlime.com.

  19. Ashlei Says:

    Favorite pizza placed used to be Mellow Mushroom before realizing my gluten intolerance…and I got sick on their GF pizza 😦 But I take a little help from Bob as well and love the crust! Tomatoes are my favorite topping 🙂

  20. Angela (the diet book junkie) Says:

    i’d have to say pumpkin would be my favourite pizza topping, followed by smoked salmon. (i know; sounds not-so-normal, but it’s quite common out here.) wish i could help you in the shoe department, i’m like the only woman alive who hates shoe shopping! (lol) that’s awesome about the wild turkeys, i too wish you had a camera 🙂

  21. kbwood Says:

    that pizza looks SOO good!!!!! I made a meat lovers pizza tonight- it was BALLER

  22. Kate Says:

    uh, may or may not have had those exact zubaz that you described. don’t judge too much:)

    i had pizza tonight for dinner tonight! and i like DSW for shoes. they have a rewards card which is great. some locations seem to be better stocked than others so sometimes it is a bit dissapointing.

  23. kaztronomic Says:

    “I remember at one point in my childhood seeing almost every 30-40 year old man wear a pair of purple/gold Zubaz with a Vikings jersey or sweatshirt.” I read that part out loud to Amor and he started laughing — evidently he grew up with that as a familiar sight, too. 😀

    Delicious looking pizza! I haven’t had pizza in ages, but your review of the GF crust now has me craving it again. I love all veggies on mine, like thin-sliced tomatoes, onions, green peppers, mushrooms, olives…I’m getting hungry just typing this out.

    I buy my shoes at Ross. I’ve gotten some seriously cute shoes there for 20$ or less. =)

  24. Tina Says:

    We do love to make our own pizza. We haven’t done it in awhile though for some reason. I’m not huge on having a ton of cheese on my pizza. I love sauce, a bit of cheese, then mushrooms, peppers, onions, spinach, olives, and I’m sure I’m missing something. LOL

    Crazy to see 8 wild turkeys on your run!!

  25. Mimi Says:

    I’ll have to check out that crust mix! The only bad Bob’s Mill experience I’ve had is their almond flour…it doesn’t work as well as some others I’ve used.

  26. lizlivingvegan Says:

    Now I’m craving pizza! I haven’t had cheese since I went vegan (obviously) but I haven’t tried soy cheese yet. I’ve been craving pizza, so I just might have to give it a try!! I’ve heard it doesn’t melt as well… but that pizza looks amazing! What brand of cheese did you use?

    • couchpotatoathlete Says:

      I already threw the wrapper out but it is called Soy Kaase I think — a wierd brand I found at my regular grocery store. I’ve bought Daiya (?) at Whole Foods and that worked nicely as well.

  27. Allison @ Food For Healing Says:

    i love just putting a bunch of veggies on my pizzas; usually when i make pizza at home it has red and green pepper and mushrooms! and of course lots of cheeeese!


Leave a Reply

