10 Things & 2 Treats

Good Morning!

First of all, sorry I have not had a chance to comment on many blogs this week – I have family in town staying with us. But next week I will be back 100% commenting and posting. Thanks for understanding!

Last week Michelle challenged me to write 10 random things about myself. Here they are:

10 Random Things About Me

1. I can wiggle my ears.
2. I’ve worn glasses since the 2nd grade. My first pair was purple with pink diamonds in the corners.
3. I got my first cell phone in 2007. Yep, I lived that long without one!
4. I am terrified of swimming in lakes, the ocean and most swimming pools. When I took swimming lessons as a child, I would throw myself on the floor, kick, scream, anything to avoid jumping into the deep end. I was terrified! (and still am sometimes!)
5. I got kicked out of a basketball game in the 6th grade for bad sportsmanship. The ref called me for traveling (I think) and I got mad and pounded the ball in the court and it bounced all over the place. I stomped around and got kicked out.
6. I’ve been tazed. Yes, with a real tazer by a real police officer. I was a volunteer for a demonstration. Maybe I’ll post the video in the future πŸ™‚
7. When I was young I wanted to own a B & B. I still do, most days.
8. My first job was scooping up poop at a petting zoo. The owner would scream at kids, parents and his employees. I didn’t last long there. The worst was llama poop. Don’t ask.
9. My favorite meal is a Big Mac, french fries and coke. Yes, this is true.
10. I always straighten the ketchup, mustard, salt/pepper shakers at restaurants. It is a habit and one that J likes to point out often. πŸ™‚

I took the day off of workΒ yesterday to go swimming (in a 4 foot pool, so not scary for me!) with my sister L, niece F and nephew H. It was so much fun!. They live in Oklahoma and are up here in Minnesota for the rest of the week. I love having those kids around.

Last night I was busy making little treats: Pecan Babies.Β  (treat #1!)I took Megan’s idea and made some with almonds – Almond Babies!!! (treat #2!!!) The basic idea is to mimic the Larabar flavor – with dates, nuts and sea salt. They turned out great! Thanks Megan for the idea:

Pecans and dates being ground up in the bullet:

They kept sticking to the outside of the cup, so I kept scraping them down and grinding them more:

Finally I flattened the doughΒ out on a plate:

I threw them in the fridge to harden overnight, and then I rolled them into balls:

They turned out a little crumbly (I will add less nuts next time). But they were still delicious! You can’t go wrong with only a few ingredients — and the flavor was exactly like the Pecan Pie Larabars!

Question:

What is your favorite easy dessert/snack to make? These babies were super easy and tasted delicious. I also love HEAB‘s protein ice cream. πŸ™‚

Tell me a random fact about yourself!

Have a good one!

Holly

41 Responses to “10 Things & 2 Treats”

  1. Meg Says:

    Note: bookmarking this recipe…I ADORE Pecan Pie Larabars! πŸ˜€ Thanks, girl!

    I used to pick up poop too, except not at a petting zoo, but around my neighborhood, hehe. Gross, right?? Aren’t you glad as you get older, jobs get seemingly better, and more clean? And PLEASE post the tazer experience – I am SO curious πŸ˜€ Haha! You rock! Have a great Wednesday!

  2. Brittany (A Healthy Slice of Life) Says:

    Oh I like the 10 things idea… I might borrow it πŸ™‚ I love getting to know the writers of blogs I love better!

  3. Laury @thefitnessdish Says:

    I can’t BELIEVE you went that long without a cell phone!!!! That’s crazy!! But it’s nice to know you survived πŸ˜‰

    Sounds like you overcame the swimming fear yesterday? Or did you stay in the shallow end? I had a scary experience in a swimming pool when I was in 3rd grade, in my friends in ground pool…I started swimming to the deep end, she was having a pool party and all the girls were in the deeper end, and I panicked bc I couldn’t swim that well, I was dead in the center and it seemed like the edge was SO far away… and my friends mom jumped in with all her clothes on to get me!!! SO embarrassing at the time! But scary now thinking about how young I was then. I made apoint to learn how to swim after that!

    My fav quick dessert is soft serve, if you haven’t noticed πŸ˜‰

    • couchpotatoathlete Says:

      I wish I got over my fear of swimming! It was ok, the pool is only 4 feet deep. Anything deeper than that and I get all tensed up!

      When I first got the cell phone I thought ” I don’t need this” Now that I have it I can’t imagine living without it!

  4. Sarena (The Non-Dairy Queen) Says:

    I love pecans! I have made pecan butter before and it tastes like pecan pie without all the goop! Randome…hmmm, I have a 4 leaf clover tattoo on my ankle. My parents thought I would regret it, but 17 years later…I still love it!

  5. carly Says:

    We have a lot of things in common! I started wearing glasses in second grade, too! Also, I have been tazed as a demonstration. And I don’t know if I would call it my fave meal of all time, but I definitely have a strong appreciation for a McDonald’s #1, large fries and coke, please. πŸ˜‰

  6. Tina Says:

    Love the random facts. Some of those are crazy! Like the tazing. I can’t believe it. I also think its great that you admit to your favorite meal being a Big Mac, fries, and a coke. There’s no shame in that. It’s about balance and if that’s something you love, no shame in having it now and again.

  7. Maria @ Oh Healthy Day Says:

    You must elaborate more in the future about your random facts – I’m intrigued!

    My favorite easy dessert is No-Bake Cookies. Unfortunately, they are full of butter and sugar and I’ve got to learn to make them healthier -but they take only minutes to make and a few hours in the frig and are done πŸ™‚

  8. tanyasdaily Says:

    those look great!

  9. Kristy Says:

    Love the random facts, so fun!! I, too have a soft spot for Mc D’s, no shame in that!! All in moderation, right?! πŸ™‚
    My quick dessert, Graham Cracker Sandwiches. Spread some cool whip between two crackers and place in freezer for a few hours. Perfect snack for a summer night!

  10. lisaou11 Says:

    So, what does tazing feel like? Does it hurt? and yes, sadly, I’d prb think the videos were funny!

    • couchpotatoathlete Says:

      Oh yes it does hurt! To me, it felt like pins and needles traveling through your whole body, but you couldn’t move! It only lasted a few seconds, but it felt like an eternity. The video is pretty funny – I just have to track it down!

  11. rc1001 Says:

    What great random facts. I feel like I can never come up with anything interesting for those!

    I like toast with peanut butter or Nutella on it for dessert. Super easy. I don’t even think that would quality as a recipe!

    Random fact about myself: If I don’t eat fruits/vegetables for a few days I completely lose my taste for them and really struggle to eat them.

  12. Tia Says:

    I can use my feet just like my hands lol creeps people right out I change channels on the remote a lot with my feet. My favourite easy snack is rice crispie squares, super yum! That is a SUPER long time to go without a cell, I had mine from Grade 8 I believe, maybe 7, which was .. 2001 LOL! I cannot believe you would volunteer to be tazed!! That looks SOOO painful! Crazy lady!

    • couchpotatoathlete Says:

      Everyone I know has had a cell phone for longer than me. I don’t know what took me so long — and I am so annoyed when I forget my phone at home — its like I can’t live without it!

  13. Megan @ Healthy Hoggin Says:

    Ha, I always straighten up the salt, pepper, and ketchup at restaurant tables, too! I think it’s a habit from years of waitressing– or maybe it’s just OCD. πŸ˜‰

    Glad you liked the pecan pie babies! I think it works best if you roll them into balls while they’re still sticky, fresh from the food processor (but it helps if you get your hands a little wet, so that they roll easier and don’t get too messy!), and then freeze them! And of course, I highly recommend them with a bit of melted dark chocolate drizzled on top! (totally indulgent!) πŸ˜‰

    • couchpotatoathlete Says:

      I wanted to make them like yours, but they were so crumbly and I was out of dates — I guess I could have thrown a little PB in the bullet to thicken it up.

      I want mine to look just like yours — your pecan babies always look so good!!!

  14. Becky Says:

    Tazed! Wow – that’s intense!

    Those pecan babies look so adorable and delicious. I may have to break out the Magic Bullet myself.

  15. mostlyfitmom Says:

    Llama poop, hey? That sounds…pretty bad, not gonna lie.

    Random fact: I went skydiving with a bunch of guys when I was 18 because they didn’t think I’d do it because I’m a girl. I only did the first of two jumps, though, as I have a problem with heights and jumping out of a plane once was enough LOL

  16. 40apples Says:

    My fave easy dessert/snack: HEAB’s ice cream is definitely one, or simply yogurt topped or mixed with such yummy things as nut butter, cookies, or chocolate chips.

    Hey I used to clean up poop TOO! haha I volunteered at a zoo in high school. Snake poo is also really, really weird.
    Very impressed about the tazing. Would love to hear that story… πŸ™‚

    My random factoid: I was desperately into theatre when I was in high school. I thought I wanted to be an actress (and yes, still kinda do πŸ˜‰ ).

  17. Shanna, like Banana Says:

    You’ve bee tazed? Good lord girl, what did you do??? πŸ˜‰

    Love the idea of a B&B…I’d like to have a B&B on my own vineyard!

    Great nut lara bar…I might steal this!

  18. kbwood Says:

    WOW girl!!!! those look so good!!
    TAZED?!?! haha you are HARDCORE!! please explain!

  19. Nicole @ Getting Back to the Basics Says:

    I really need to get into making “babies”…I will be cooking up a storm this weekend!

    I too was scared to death of swimming as a kid. My mom couldn’t even convince me to take lessons until I was 9. It then took me 2 1/2 rounds of swimming lessons (one round was once a week for about 6 weeks) for me to get my feet off the bottom of the pool! After that, I was okay…but boy, it was a long road getting there!

  20. Maria Says:

    Holly, I wonder if you could cut the pecan babies like bars – maybe after they sit in the fridge for awhile?

    They sound great though.

    • couchpotatoathlete Says:

      That was the original plan, but I think I used too many nuts/not enough dates and the mixture was really crumbly. Don’t get me wrong, I still ate the crumbs πŸ™‚

      I can’t wait to make them again!

  21. Stephanie@ avocado nation Says:

    Those look delicious! If I had pecans, I would totally do that. I also love that you have been tazed. It reminds me of the time I pepper sprayed myself in the eye. I also love that you’re a big mac girl. Warms my heart. πŸ™‚

  22. Heather Eats Almond Butter Says:

    I think for an easy dessert, I would love one of your almond babies atop a big bowl of protein ice-cream! πŸ™‚

    Something random about myself: I can’t whistle, and I love that your favorite meal is a Big Mac + fries. There is just something about McDonald’s fries + a fountain Coke, no?

  23. Kate Says:

    have fun with your fam!

    fun story about poop and pools : three summers ago i took a big group of day campers to an outdoor water park. i spotted a turd float by and altered the life guard. said life guard held up two fingers which altered another lifeguard to bring over some magic sprinkles and a net. the turd was scooped up and the sprinkles were sprinkled and that was that. GROSS! ever since, i really struggle getting into a public pool.

  24. caronae Says:

    I love protein ice cream or fruit smoothies for desserts! Mmmmm. Chocolate-Covered Kaie has a ton of bar/ball recipes like laras!

    The chocolate chip pb lara is sooooo good! Anyways, happy hump day.

  25. Angela (the diet book junkie) Says:

    haha…..i didn’t get my first cell till 2007 either! can’t believe you’ve been tazed. how’d you get it on video? lol!

    can you believe i haven’t had a Big Mac in 15 years and yet i still remember exactly what it tastes like? funny how that stuff sticks with you.

    i’m not really a baker, but i sure love my muffins. cereal muffins with chocolate chips….i eat them everyday. i almost need rehab πŸ™‚

  26. Beer and Burrito Body Says:

    I can also wiggle my ears. I do not wear glasses, but when I wear sunglasses the little muscles I use to wiggle my ache. It’s like they are tired of holding up the glasses. I try to relax, but before you know it, the ear muscles are tensing up. Perhaps yours are practiced and much stronger than my little weaklings. πŸ™‚

  27. kaztronomic Says:

    Spend time with your family, girl. The blog is secondary to guests, always!

    I’m terrified of water, too. If I can’t see my feet, I panic. My fella can wriggle his ears, but I can’t. And I’m totally myopic, too. πŸ˜€

    Your babies look delicious! (Okay, that just sounds wrong. >.>)

    My favorite easy snack is probably banana soft serve. =)

  28. Katie Says:

    Hi love!!!!! Hope the week is going great with your family visitors! Thanks for the get well wishes, you are too sweet!

    I never had the pecan pie larabar, but Im sure its yum, I bet your recipe tastes better! I need to buy a food processor!

  29. Autumn @ Good Eats Girl Says:

    I’ve had to wear glasses since I was in elementary school too! I love the ten random facts!

  30. michellestgermain Says:

    I have a fear of large bodies of water! If I can’t see the floor, who KNOWS what’s down there – lots of creepy crawlies – or that’s what I freak myself out about πŸ˜‰

  31. Janna's Keeping it Real! Says:

    yum! i am for sure bookmarking this recipe!

    on a completely opposite (and disgusting) note…my first job involved scooping poo too! i worked at a vet, and one of my duties was tending to the animals being boarded (when their owners went on vaca, and the like). i detested that part of the job, but all of the other aspects of it totally made it a worthwhile first job! =0)

  32. Anne @ Food Loving Polar Bear Says:

    I love it that you can wiggle your ears, the only other person I know how can do that is my German granddad! πŸ˜€

    Random fact about me: I read in shower πŸ˜€


Leave a Reply

