Pumpkin Butter Sweet Potato & Craigslist Success

Hi Friends :)

How was your weekend? I slept in yesterday morning and took it easy all day – no time for blogging. It does feel good to disconnect once in a while. I don’t know how some of you daily bloggers (or multiple posts per day bloggers) do it!

Another flower in my bouquet opened up:

These are just so beautiful. I’m glad Jason likes to buy me flowers once in a while. They sure do brighten up my kitchen. Here is where I blog by the way:

Excuse the stuff all over the counter. Yes that is a rubber mallet next to the vase. I don’t know why it is there! (And can you find my beaded orange bat???)

*

The biggest change for us over the weekend:

YES THAT IS MY CAR IN THE GARAGE!!! We had a couple come and pick up our old washer/dryer set on Saturday and as soon as they left I pulled my car into the garage. We bought my car back in June and Saturday was the first day I put it in the garage. In case you “forgot”, here is what our garage has looked like for months:

We used Craigslist to sell a lot of things: dining chairs, washer/dryer, dishes, glassware, computer parts, old cell phones, curtains, patio furniture, our old grill, old tires, etc. It was sometimes a hassle to set up times to meet with potential buyers, but it made us some money and you can’t beat that! Here are some of my Craigslist tips:

  1. Post pictures in your ad. People want to see what you are trying to sell, and no matter how many words you use, a picture is so much easier.
  2. Don’t post your phone number, name or address in the ad. Use landmarks to give buyers an idea of where you live: a nearby mall, museum, lake, etc.
  3. Be specific in your ad. If you only want to accept cash, say so. If your price is firm, say so. If you’ll take the best offer, say so.
  4. Try to meet buyers away from your home: at a coffee shop, mall, grocery store parking lot, etc. Bring someone with you and tell at least one person where you will be going to meet with a buyer. If the buyer has to come to your house (for example, Jason and I were not going to load up the washer and dryer to meet someone) – make sure someone else is home with you. Meet in your front yard or garage. Don’t let the buyer in your home unless you have to. This isn’t to make you paranoid or nervous about buyers, but you need to have some common sense to protect yourself and your belongings.

Any other tips I am forgetting? Have you had any success selling on Craigslist?

*

And as promised in the title:

Pumpkin Butter Sweet Potato:

Take in the glory:

A large sweet potato, baked, and topped with drizzled peanut butter and a big ole blob of Pumpkin Butter. It was like eating dessert for lunch :)

*

And, this is my 100th post  :) Thanks everyone who reads, comments, links back to me, etc. I truly do appreciate it and I look forward to what the next 100 posts will bring!

*Any Craigslist success/horror stories to share?

*Any good news/fun stories from over the weekend?

*What is your favorite Holiday and why? What do you enjoy about it?

29 Responses to “Pumpkin Butter Sweet Potato & Craigslist Success”

  1. Matt Says:

    I love craigslist! I bought my bike on there :)

  2. Hollie @ Lolzthatswim(andRun) Says:

    That is great 100 posts! I can’t wait to read your next 100 posts. :)

    I love your tips for Criagslist. I agree, pictures will sell much faster than 1000 words will. I would say always bring someone with you and use common sense. Don’t be discouraged if a buyer says they will meet you and don’t. I’ve sold quite a bit of juniors clothing on criagslist but always bring someone with me.

  3. Brittany (A Healthy Slice of Life) Says:

    Ah! I’m so inspired by your car in the garage! Right now only one of our cars fits in our garage, so cleaning it up and organizing so we can park both cars inside before it gets cold is on our to-do list.
    And that sweet potato… mmmm!! :)

  4. Mary @ Bites and Bliss Says:

    Sweet potato and pumpkin butter?! That’s a double whammy!

    Congrats on getting your car in the garage!!! Some people really take being able to do so for granted. :P

  5. Myra Says:

    Holly… that sweet potato looks like barf. I’m sorry but it’s true. I’m sure it tastes good… but man alive.
    Tyler is a craigslist champion. Pretty much all of his video gaming hobbies are brought to you by Craigslist. Same with both of our computers…
    P.S. I think all 100 posts have had the word “Pumpkin” in the title. Well… maybe not 100, but definitely the last 20! A bro loves her pumpkin. We finally found some Libby’s pumpkin at wal mart this weekend and bought some. Can’t decide what to do with it yet…
    XOI

  6. leashieloo Says:

    My boyfriend sold his car on Craigslist and we bought our washer/dryer for a steal on there as well. Good advice, especially the safety bit, the world is kind of crazy sometimes!

  7. Maria @ Oh Healthy Day Says:

    Woo-hoo! Congrats on 100 posts!

    My favorite holiday is by far Christmas. I love family events and Christmas is full of them.

  8. christyn @ All Ways Nutritious Says:

    your sweet potato looks sooo good!!

  9. Shanna, like Banana Says:

    Yippeee! Congrats on your 100th post!!!

    Craigslist story: I was selling my car earlier this year…a guy asked how many bodies I could fit in the trunk. :( EEEK!

    Weekend story: I went to a wedding in Illinois. There was a photobooth. I thought I should do a headstand in the booth for my pic. My husband stopped me. Good thing.

    Favorite holiday: Thanksgiving by a landslide. It’s all about FOOD!

  10. eatmovelove Says:

    I’ve only had success with CraigsList once…and even then I got the short end of the deal. Oh well – glad you got your garage cleaned out!

  11. Katie Says:

    Congrats on hitting 100! I furnished my entire kitchen and living room with Craigslist for under $500. If that isn’t success, I don’t know what is.

  12. Naomi(onefitfoodie) Says:

    when I was looking for an apt to live in there was an add for “naked living” hahhah it was so random, and its still on there, 6 months later!!!

  13. Anne@ Food Loving Polar Bear Says:

    Congrats on the 100th post :) I really enjoy reading your blog and hope to see many many many more posts in the future!

  14. Michelle (Housewife in the Raw) Says:

    I love CraigsList and use it often. I meet in a grocery store parking lot near our house and usually bring my husband with me. Even if he isn’t coming, I always say ‘my husband and I will meet you’ in the email correspondence.

    Only in MN would you give a lake as a landmark. :)

  15. Laury @thefitnessdish Says:

    Congrats with getting the garage cleaned out!!! That must be SUCH a great feeling….especially now that winter is coming and you won’t have to clean off your car when it snows! Yey!!

    I don’t know how multiple posts/day bloggers do it either! I need a break on the weekends!

    YUMMY pumpkin butter sweet potato!

  16. Dorry Says:

    I love craigslist – have had wonderful success selling things on there…and agree, you have to post pictures! Comes naturally to us bloggers. ;)

    So great that you tackled your goal to get the garage cleaned out – way to go!

  17. Kylie @ A Hungry Spoon Says:

    Congrats on your 100th post! What a great milestone to mark :)

    I took a mini-road trip to Cleveland to visit one of my best friends for the weekend. We had a blast! Funniest part? I completely forgot my luggage. Yes, an embarrassing true story.

    Favorite holiday is definitely Christmas. I love baking all month, decorating, and taking some time off from work for a few days :)

  18. rc1001 Says:

    Luckily I only have good stories from Craigslist. Sold some things, bought some things, it is a great source! Also keep in mind that people post garage sales on there so if you want to do a little in person shopping, make sure to check the garage sale section.

    I also got my first paralegal job on there! It is still the job I work at today. :)

    The weekend was great! I got a bunch of clothes from Goodwill and American Apparel to start putting together our Pebbles and Bam Bam costumes for Halloween.

    Halloween is an awesome holiday. I’m having trouble thinking of anything better, but maybe that is because it is coming up soon.

  19. Becky Says:

    Way to go on the garage clean up! I have never sold on Craigslist, but I’m always browsing on the site and my parents have found quite a few bargains.

  20. Heather Says:

    woohoo! i’m so happy for you on the garage clean-up! we are still working on ours, but it’s baby steps for now :)

  21. Averie (LoveVeggiesAndYoga) Says:

    I am a HUGE CL’er but you already knew that. Your tips are great. I confess that after reading your tips, I sound sooo loosey goosey. The thing is when you have a 2 yr old and you’re trying to sell off the high chair, baby walker, and bulky items, hauling them into the car is not even possible b/c i dont have an SUV and so the buyer just had to come over. I would reduce the price if they would carry it up and down flights of stairs so I didnt have to…not kidding :)

    Cash only. My god would i take a check from a fruit loop?! NO!!!

    Btw after moving from MN, I realized that almost no one in the entire USA is as trusting w/ check writing and receiving as MN ppl are.

    Other tips…if someone comes to look at something and you have it for $50 if you say hey I’ll give it to you for $40 AND I will throw in xyz item in my garage (that i was going to donate anyway to a charity rather than sell) it works. Once a person is at my house, it’s time to BUY. Not look. I have unloaded all kinds of excess crap that way.

    The sweet tater is truly a dessert tater…mmmm, good!

  22. lizlivingvegan Says:

    Holy cow that sweet potato looks sooo good! I wish I had picked one up at the grocery store today! :(

  23. Angeal (the diet book junkie) Says:

    congrats on your 100th post, girl! that’s awesome!!

    i guess my favourite holiday is Christmas, but then again, it’s always very complicated. we usually go back to Canada but because our families live 15 hours a part, the husband and i obviously can’t see everyone on Christmas day, SO we spend a lot of the holidays a part. (i know, lame. but you do what you gotta do…sigh…)

    p.s. is your desk is so clean!! you don’t wanna see mine, trust me, it’s a disaster zone. :P

  24. kbwood Says:

    WOW THIS IS SOOO GOING ON MY “TO TRY” LIST!!!

  25. Natalie Says:

    We have had so much success using Craigslist both buying and selling. I think the picture tip is number one and talking to the person on the phone before you meet them just as a safety measure!

    Your lily looks so pretty!

  26. Allie (Live Laugh Eat) Says:

    Oh my gosh pumpkin butter on a sweet potato and (pea)nut butter is the best idea yet!!!!

  27. mostlyfitmom Says:

    Love the flowers. :) Congrats on taking back your garage!

  28. Mimi Says:

    Great CL tips! Sometimes I use it to pick up freelance assignments, but I have yet to sell anything.

    As for the tater…OM NOM NOM.

  29. I’m Getting Ripped! | The Couch Potato Athlete Says:

    […] Blogroll ← Pumpkin Butter Sweet Potato & Craigslist Success […]


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 37 other followers

