Pumpkin Schmumpkin

Hi Friends 🙂

Look at the lovely Fall flowers Jason brought home for me:

What a nice guy. I think I’ll keep him 🙂

Fall is by far my favorite time of year. I love the cool, crisp air, the need for sweaters and jackets, and the return of my favorite shows. But I also love the seasonal soaps at B&B Works:

The pumpkin decorations and Fall scented candles:

Halloween décor:

And of course PUMPKIN in all forms:

Pumpkin Beer:

Pumpkin Banana Bread:

Vegan Pumpkin Pecan Blondies: (and sorry I just love that bat!!!)

Pumpkin Tofu:

Pumpkin Pie Cookies:

Pumpkin Pie Smoothies:

But what else can you do with a pumpkin? CARVE it of course 🙂 Carly over at Swim, Run, Om is holding the Great Blogging Pumpkin Carving Contest 2010. Please check out Carly’s post for rules!

I am one of the judges, along with Carly and Caitlin at Healthy Tipping Point.

Here are some pumpkins I have carved (ok not really, but check them out anyway!)

Ok maybe I could pull off the last one 🙂

*

1. What is your favorite pumpkin recipe?

2. Do you like to carve pumpkins? Will you participate in the Carving Contest?

Have a good one!

Holly

40 Responses to “Pumpkin Schmumpkin”

  1. Kylie @ A Hungry Spoon Says:

    I made the pumpkin blondie recipe last night…amazing! They’re so dense and chewy in the best possible way. Thanks for linking to the recipe in your blog 🙂

    My favorite pumpkin recipe is definitely a tie between pumpkin cookies and pumpkin-cranberry-walnut bread 🙂

  2. Heather @ Side of Sneakers Says:

    I love everything fall & pumpkin- especially fall-themed candles!

  3. Tina @ Faith Fitness Fun Says:

    I’m going to have to look into that contest. I have NO artistic talent and especially when it comes to carving pumpkins, but it sure sounds fun. 😀

  4. Kate Says:

    lovely flowers! what a sweet man you have!

    i carved pumpkins at the work party i went to on saturday. carving is very much not my thing so i got a tiny pumpkin and did a basic face complete with triangle eyes, nose and toothy smile.

    fav pumpkin recipe? my pumpkin hummus! i may of may not have killed the leftovers last night with the remaining ginger snaps while catching up with glee on hulu 😉

  5. eatmovelove Says:

    I need to make your pumpkin loaf recipe. Pumpkin is great in breads, or warmed up mixed with oatmeal and maple syrup ;).

    I noticed you decided on Vegas!? Woot woootttt 🙂

  6. Matt Says:

    You know I am all about to pumpkin pancakes 😉

  7. Brittany (A Healthy Slice of Life) Says:

    I love carving pumpkins! But I lack the talent necessary to win a carving contest. But I certainly enjoy looking at all the fancy pumpkins other people carve 🙂

  8. Michelle @ Chasing Ambulances Says:

    I love the first pumpkin! Wow. I can draw, but carving pumpkins is HARD. I will have to check out the contest 🙂 I’ve eaten so much pumpkin in the last month that I would not be surprised if my skin starts turning orange. But don’t even think that’s going to stop me from eating it.

  9. Beth @ Beth's Journey to Thin Says:

    I have been loving pumpkin oats recently. I also made an open faced veggie meatball sub with pumpkin and tomato sauce and it was GOOD.

  10. Alyssa Says:

    I love me some pumpkin chocolate chip bread!! So good 🙂

    Hubby doesn’t like carving pumpkins and thinks they look better in tact. I agree, but i’m in it for the seeds!!!

  11. Emma Says:

    I’m from Holland and I have never carved a pumpkin in my life! 😦
    It’s insanely difficult to find pumpkin things here! I have been looking for anything pumpkin for weeks now! I guess it does make it that much more fun when I finally do find something though! 😛

  12. Heather Says:

    i’m going with a great, classic pumpkin pie or pumpkin cheesecake…yum!

  13. Mary @ Bites and Bliss Says:

    I love allll things pumpkin- my favorite being in muffin form 🙂

    Those carvings are awesome. My brother’s really into the pumpkin shaving thing while I’m more of carver. I’ll definitely be partaking in it this year. 😛

  14. Shanna, like Banana Says:

    Aww how festive! I love it =) I’m pretty jazzed about pumpkin curry and pumpkin tofu, but I gotta say that pumpkin pie is my all time favorite!

  15. Maria @ Oh Healthy Day Says:

    I think I’m just traditional and I love basic pumpkin pie.

    May be participating – sounds fun!

  16. leashieloo Says:

    What a sweet guy! Those are some loverly flowers 🙂 My fave pumpkin items are pumpkin cookies and pumpkin spice lattes!

  17. Katie Says:

    Ooooh, pumpkin. Do you mind if I link to this post on my pblog, since it’s pumpkin week, and all?

    I don’t carve pumpkins because I would hurt myself. I like how they look, but mine always end up looking…special. 😉

  18. Anne Says:

    my new favorite pumpkin bread recipe is at Hungry Spoon. made it yesterday and it is wonderful. it uses pumpkin and applesauce without any oil.

    cool pumpkins. I am not a pro at carving – just happy to get something done with two kids “helping.”

  19. Natalie Says:

    Those blondies look incredible! I think pumpkin pancakes top my list too 🙂

  20. Wendy Says:

    Okay, I have four cans of pure pumpkin just begging to be baked into something awesome. I’m trying to decide between:
    – the pumpkin blondies
    – the pumpkin pie cookies
    – pumpkin scones
    …… Decisions, decisions!

    1. What is your favorite pumpkin recipe?
    My sister’s pumpkin bread. It needs to be healthified, though!

    2. Do you like to carve pumpkins?
    Very much, but I have developed some kind of allergy to pumpkin guts so I have to scrub my hands like crrrrrazy after I carve. 🙂

  21. Rachel @ FitFunandFabulous Says:

    I love all this fall stuff!

    I’m not a good carver, and scared that I’ll slice myself open during the process.

  22. Amy @ Second City Randomness Says:

    I’m finally getting to go to a pumpkin patch this year with a couple friends- I may be a nerd, but I’m an excited nerd! 🙂

    I haven’t done too much cooking/baking with pumpkin yet, but I can promise you this weekend there will be pumpkin seed roasting…

  23. Averie (LoveVeggiesAndYoga) Says:

    didnt even know that blog existed with the pumpkin carving..love her name. Anything with Om in it! I have an Om tattoo on my foot.

    Anyway saw you mentioned pumpkin tofu 🙂

    And all the other pumpkin goodies!

    There is nothing better than candles. Holiday candles from pumpkin to gingerbread to even like evergreen…scents are just so important and I love them all!

    Carving pumpkins…yea I need to get on that for real this year with Skylar 🙂

  24. Becky Says:

    My boyfriend’s family is hosting a big pumpkin carving contest. I can’t wait! I need to get the creative juices flowing. I want to win!

  25. Dawn Says:

    Great post – I love pumpkin! And pumpkin tofu – wow! Must try that.

    I don’t really have a favorite recipe, but I just made some baked pumpkin oatmeal and I can’t wait for breakfast tomorrow so I can eat it. I’m hoping it’s a keeper!

  26. Laury @thefitnessdish Says:

    Awwww, how sweet are the pretty flowers!!!

    The Harvest Moon looks SOOOOO good, I LOVE Blue Moon…too bad I can’t sample any this season 😦 All worth it though!

    I love carving pumpkins!!! I NEED to get over the the Orchards to pick pumpkins and apples… I need to make my annual Phillies Pumpkin!!!

  27. kbwood Says:

    pumpkin GALORE!!! I LOVE it!!! I LOVE pumpkins and pumpkin flavaaa!!

  28. Angela (the diet book junkie) Says:

    great collection! the blondies and tofu look like something i need to try. i’m telling you though, the best is roasted pumpkin pizza. something about sweet and salty just go so well together. 🙂

  29. mostlyfitmom Says:

    I love good ol’ pumpkin pie. Also love pumpkin whoopie pies: http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Pumpkin-Whoopie-Pies/Detail.aspx

    I enjoy pumpkin carving with the kids, but we seem to run out of time to get it done most years! Maybe this year?

    Love the Bath and Body Works stuff you posted – they all sound heavenly! I think that’s my favourite part of fall – the scents. 🙂

  30. Hollie @ Lolzthatswim(andRun) Says:

    I love carving pumpkins…I normally just carve a happy pumpkin ha.

    This blog is great. I love anything and everything pumpkin which is why this is my favorite time of year. 🙂

  31. lisaou11 Says:

    I love all that is fall too! colors, scents, sights—cool weather! YES!

  32. How’d that mushroom get there? « Making Food and Other Stuff Says:

    […] This post from Holly has a great list of pumpkin recipes that Holly has tried and liked recently. *Gratuitous self promotion alert* My pumpkin pie cookies made the cut! I’m such a proud mama. […]

  33. Sarah Says:

    I love pumpkin in my oatmeal 🙂

    And I just purchased all those soap varieties at Bath and Body Works. The Caramel Apple is my favorite and makes me want to make millions of caramel apples for my culinary enjoyment!

  34. Holly at Greek Yogurt and Apple Slices Says:

    I love your bat mug….and that pumpkin tofu?!?!? WHOA- now that sounds different..but in a good way 🙂

  35. Lori Says:

    OMG I must make every pumpkin thing on this post! Must! Wow. The blondies, the cookies, the TOFU! Delicious! You’re awesome. I love fall and pumpkins too. 🙂

  36. 5 Things Friday~Friday Five Says:

    […] A Harvest Moon from Holly: […]

  37. Jaime Says:

    I LOVE fall! You can NEVER have too much pumpkin stuff, smelly good lotions and decorations! 😉

  38. Pumpkin Butter Sweet Potato & Craigslist Success | The Couch Potato Athlete Says:

    […] Excuse the stuff all over the counter. Yes that is a rubber mallet next to the vase. I don’t know why it is there! (And can you find my beaded orange bat???) […]

  39. Training Plan & The Return of Pumpkin « The Couch Potato Athlete Says:

    […] banana (instead of 1 whole banana), lots of cinnamon and nutmeg.     IT WAS SO GOOD!!! I think I was on pumpkin overload in November but now I’m ready to slowly add some back into my meals.     No need for any peanut butter on […]


Leave a comment