Whodunit, Howdunit and Whydunit

Happy Sunday ๐Ÿ™‚

Last night we had a great time at a Murder Mystery Dinner. It was held at the Zuhrah Shrine Center in Minneapolis in one of the banquet halls. We showed up in our Gangster Era clothes and had a great dinner and a fun night! The food was catered by Buca’s — Twin Cities readers will hopefully recognize that name ๐Ÿ™‚

Dinner started with some appetizers: bruschetta, cheese/salami with crackers — we don’t have cheese in our house very often since Jason doesn’t eat dairy, but I sure enjoy it once in a while!

A salad with gobs of dressing. I had a few bites and had to call it quits! But the crusty bread sure tasted good!

The main entree was Pesto Penne with Chicken and Broccoli: (the other option was spaghetti and meatballs)

and for dessert, a Cannoli:

After one bite I decided I didn’t like it — This was my first cannoli and it sure didn’t taste very good.

All in all the night was fun — I didn’t take many picture because it was just a lot of talking between the actors who walked around andย acted while we ate. They’d go from table to table and we could ask them questions to hopefully figure out who killed Tony and Louie. I tried to pay attention but I gave up pretty quickly ๐Ÿ™‚

Jason participated in the best costume contest. You can see him on the far left (and those are the actors on the stage):

The guy next to him (with the big cigar and fake gun) won! We should have had props! I had spent too much time of Saturday trying to make a flapper dress for myself and ended up wearing some of my regularย clothes. I added the pearls and had fishnet stockings to at least show an effort in dressing up!

Needless to say we didn’t “win” — Jason and I each guessed the wrong person. It was so hard to keep track of who said what — the rum and cokes probably didn’t help…

*Would you rather see a movie or a play?

*How did you spend your Saturday?

Enjoy your Sunday!

~Holly

Posted in Dinner, Life. Tags: . 24 Comments »

24 Responses to “Whodunit, Howdunit and Whydunit”

  1. Hollie @ Lolzthatswim(andRun) Says:

    Oh that’s difficult. I think I would rather see a play actually. I like that they are more interactive.

    I love your outfit though-you look so beautiful. I’m glad you had a good time-I went to a murder mystery party once and my date and I didn’t win either. We were both way off ha.

  2. Michelle @ Chasing Ambulances Says:

    I think there is a Buca’s in Omaha? I went there for my brother’s rehearsal dinner. Good food! I went to a murder mystery thing a couple of years ago and it was hard to figure out who the killer was.

  3. Kylie @ A Hungry Spoon Says:

    Looks like such a fun night! I’ve never tried cannoli before, but I’ve always wanted to. Maybe not such a good idea after all?

    Happy Sunday ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Matt Says:

    Looks like fun!

  5. Teresa Tastes & Travels Says:

    What fun! The costumes are great! Especially the guys’—those hats!

  6. spabettie Says:

    looks like fun!! ๐Ÿ™‚ plays are really fun, especially these interactive kind ๐Ÿ™‚

    you both look great!

  7. Mary @ Bites and Bliss Says:

    Looks like so much fun!! I’ve never had a cannoli either, but we’re making them for Thanksgiving this year. ๐Ÿ™‚

    I’m not really sure if I’d rather see a movie or play..I kind of get bored either way unless they’re really good, so it all depends.

    And I spent my Saturday with haunted forests and friends. It was so much fun! ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. Christina @ Food.Fun.Fabulous Says:

    I went to see a stand up comedian last night – Bob Marley- but a murder mystery dinner sounds fun!

  9. leashieloo Says:

    LOL, I had just commented on your older post and suddenly this new post appeared. The party looks like it was awesome! I haven’t had Buca in forever, your pasta looked fab. If it was between a movie and a play, it would really depend on my mood. Plays tend to be longer and I’d have to be in that sort of mindset. I enjoy both!

  10. Wendy @ Seriously Sassy Says:

    You took pictures of your food! Yay!! It all looks great (except the canoli – I don’t think I’d like that, either)!

  11. Katie Says:

    Sounds like a real-life version of Clue. I loved that game. And the movie.

    Too bad the flapper dress didn’t work out. There’s still time before Halloween!

  12. Bianca @ Confessions of a Chocoholic Says:

    Sounds like a fun night. I love dressing up and would love to go to more events with theme attire. Too bad you didn’t like your first cannoli!

  13. grocery goddess jen Says:

    I’m more of a movie person, but that looks like it was fun! My Saturday was pretty laid back – lots of cooking, watching a movie with the boyfriend, a walk.

  14. Myra Says:

    buca’s isn’t just in the twin cities – there’s one by us!
    and good job getting too dunk to figure out the murder.

  15. Averie (LoveVeggiesAndYoga) Says:

    love that in the end, you just said screw it to making a flapper dress and wore something you already had.

    rum and cokes in plastic, the shriner center, Buca…OMG this is a Mpls post all the way. I LOVE IT!!! Oh they do have Buca in Chicago, too, and probably other cities but that and Olive Garden = childhood memories!

    Movie or a play…dare I say probably a movie. But i havent seen one in 5 yrs. I was pregnant and went to the movies to get in some a/c because we didnt have any. That was the last movie i saw. Play? Oh my parents used to take us to plays all the time, does the Guthrie ring a bell? ๐Ÿ™‚

  16. Averie (LoveVeggiesAndYoga) Says:

    p.s. I have a picture of a banana roll up on my site today that you’d probably like better than a cannoli. I am not a fan of them either. At all.

  17. Karen Says:

    How fun! I’ve done one murder mystery dinner and had a blast with it!! :0) We didn’t dress up, though! Cute outfits!

  18. eatmovelove Says:

    Oh my gosh – that sounds like so much fun! Love your dress and pearls too – so pretty!

  19. Natalie Says:

    I’ve never done a murder mystery dinner but have always thought it would be fun! I think I like movies more than plays…but I haven’t seen that many in the past five or so years.

  20. Allie (Live Laugh Eat) Says:

    Ahh you and Jason are so cute!!!

  21. candicemccoy Says:

    How fun! I’ve heard of murder mystery dinners, but have never done one.

    I used to would have said movies all the way, but as of the last year or so I’ve really gotten more into plays!

    Have you ever seen the show Cake Boss? They make cannolis, and I’ve always wondered what they taste like, but I’ve never had one. Now I’m not sure I wan to;)

  22. Shanna, like Banana Says:

    That seems like such a blast! My MIL wanted to do something like that their xmas party but it never came to fruition

  23. Anne @ Food Loving Polar Bear Says:

    I think I would rather see a movie… maybe. Depends on the play too ๐Ÿ˜€

    I would love to participate on a mystery dinner party, I just read about them online and they sound like a lot of fun ๐Ÿ˜€

  24. Holly @ Self-love and Running Says:

    Cannolis are so good! I’d say give them another shot some other time because they are divine!


Leave a Reply

