Wunderbar Hemp Protein

Hi Friends 🙂

I spent a few hours with my mom yesterday – and one of the things she said was “is it just me or is time just flying?” And isn’t that true? I swear the past few months have gone by so quickly – and before we know it Thanksgiving will be here and then soon after 2011 will be here! It is truly amazing how fast time seems to be going. Makes me want to focus on enjoying each day!

I started Sunday with a Pumpkin Smoothie:

In the Big Mac glass! My favorite 🙂

Instead of my normal protein powder, I used this Hemp Protein sent to me from Manitoba Harvest.

They were kind enough to send me some other samples to try:

Along with some Hemp Seed Butter – which I will be trying later this week.

Thanks Manitoba Harvest 🙂

I spent the afternoon with my mom putting together some party favors for her job. She works for an Assisted Living Facility as their Activities Director, and this Wednesday is their Oktoberfest Party. Check out the wunderbar favors (they are little bags of pretzels)

Cute, huh? I had time to help her because Jason was gone for most of the afternoon. He is currently back in school (along with working full time). His school is undergoing some sort of accreditation program and he was asked to be interviewed by the accreditation evaluators. Basically he gets interviewed for an hour and gets free dinner 🙂

But he sure looked nice for the interview, right?

I put those roses there – I’m such a good photographer, right? You better be shaking your head “yes”…

I didn’t get super far on our Halloween costumes, but by the middle of the week I should have some good pics for you 🙂

*Best part of your weekend?

*Do you enjoy crafty stuff like putting party favors together or scrapbooking? I love crafts and I’d probably enjoy scrapbooking, but some of that stuff is super expensive – all the papers, stamps, stickers, tools, etc. I’d rather use my money for something else!

*Have you ever tried Hemp Protein products? What did you think?

*Don’t forget to submit your entry for the Great Blogger Pumpkin Carving Contest (open to anyone, not just bloggers!)

Enjoy your Monday! ~Holly

25 Responses to “Wunderbar Hemp Protein”

  1. Alex @ IEatAsphalt Says:

    I had to laugh at your big mac glass because one of my friends is going as the Hamburglar. We decided to do a food character theme so Im going as the Jolly Green Giant.

  2. Kylie @ A Hungry Spoon Says:

    I’ve never tried a Hemp product before, but I always see them at our Co-Op in the nut butter section. I’ll be interested to see your review!

  3. Kate Says:

    i had some vanilla hemp protein and wasn’t the biggest fan. it didn’t blend too well. i tried a sample of the chocolate that they had out at the co-op and liked in much better!

    jason does look very nice for his interview! have a lovely week!

  4. Matt Says:

    Time really is flying! I feel like it was just January!

  5. Susan Says:

    Best part of my weekend was the dog park on Sunday – I’m a dork I know! 🙂

  6. Laury @thefitnessdish Says:

    I spent the day with my mom too yesterday!

    I LOVE being creative, doing favors, crafts, etc. My mind is way more creative than anything else….my husband has the logical/mathematical mind….I have the creativity, think outside the box mind 🙂

    Time is flying. but not—I feel my pregnancy is going in slow motion because I just can’t WAIT for certain doctors appointments….but at the same time, October is like almost over, it’s crazy!

  7. 1970kikiproject Says:

    i’ve never tried hemp products, so i will be looking forward to your comments. that’s so nice that you got free samples!
    i LOVE doing crafty things like putting together treat bags, wrapping christmas presents…but my FAVOURITE craft is knitting. love love knitting and knit daily! so nice of you to help your mom!
    i agree, time is flying. i am already thinking about 2011 and goals, travel plans etc. will be here before we know it!
    have a great day and good luck with the hallowe’en costumes!!

  8. leashieloo Says:

    Ah! I always smile when I see your McDonalds glasses. They take me back.

  9. lizlivingvegan Says:

    I’ve never tried hemp protein! Is it good? I’m wondering if it tastes more like whey or rice protein… Since going vegan, I haven’t been using whey protein, but I don’t really like the taste of rice protein…

  10. Tina @ Faith Fitness Fun Says:

    We can’t carve our pumpkin until Thursday because of our schedules. I really wanted to enter too. 😦

    And I would not mind if the rest of 2010 FLEW by. Hehehe.

  11. TheHealthyApron Says:

    I would not consider myself crafty. I enjoy doing crafts but not in a scrapbooking sense. It comes and goes. ha

  12. Katie Says:

    I love crafty stuff, but you’re right – a lot of times it is cheaper to buy. And I’m all about the cheap!

  13. Beth Says:

    I’ve never tried hemp protein powders before but they are supposed to be sending me some too so I’m looking forward to it! And I haven’t yet made a pumpkin smoothie but can’t wait to get into one this week. 🙂

  14. Brittany (A Healthy Slice of Life) Says:

    Jason looks so handsome! Love the added in roses, you fancy photog, you 😉

  15. Michelle (Housewife in the Raw) Says:

    I did some scrapbooking pre-kids, but now find that making digital photobooks is so much faster. My scrapbook box just sits sadly neglected in my closet.

    I like hemp seeds in my salads, but am not the biggest fan of hemp powder in smoothies. It’s too gritty for me. I tend to make a drink with liquid and hemp powder and then ‘chase’ it with a big green smoothie.

  16. Sarena (The Non Dairy Queen) Says:

    I actually like hemp protein! I make fudge with it and it is so good! I made pumpkin rice pudding this weekend and I was in heaven!

  17. Angela (the diet book junkie) Says:

    aww!! that is a great picture of your husband. (good job on the roses too, Holly!)

    lol….i’m totally not a crafy person. nor do i know how to sew, or garden, or anything remotely domestic. i was a stubborn tomboy as a kid, and suspect i still am. 😛

  18. kbwood Says:

    Aw he looks so nice!!!!!
    that pumpkin shake looks gooood! ive never had hemp protein!! I want to though- i wonder if its easier to digest than whey??

  19. sarahsscrumptioussamplings Says:

    I love crafting 🙂 After sitting at my desk all day I love to do something creative. I bead/make jewelry and stamp my own cards. Scrapbooking supplies can be expensive but Michael’s and AC Moore always have sales plus dollar stores typically have supplies too so I stock up when items I want go on sale.

    Best part of my weekend: seeing my baby sister!

  20. candicemccoy Says:

    oh my gosh, I totally agree about time flying by! It sounds cliche, but it really is so true. I about died yesterday when I realized that it was October 25th. So crazy!

    I like to do crafty things, but unfortunately I have the attention span of a 4 year old. I have a really bad habit of starting things and then never finishing them. Especially scrapbooks. Now I’ve taken to making them in iPhoto, and I haven’t even been able to finish that one!

  21. Averie (LoveVeggiesAndYoga) Says:

    i used to do crafts in h.s., college, and early 20s. Then a hubs, child, FT job, FT wife, FT blogger, FT cook cleaner and butt-wiper, you get the picture, no time for crafts. But I love to bead and paint and draw and do puzzles and fritter around..I just dont. I read blogs, that’s my “Fritter” time these days.

    So nice of you to help your mom..and what a genuinely lovely job she has..I bet she is the star for those folks. She is where it’s at for them, what a giver!

    Hemp. I have some opinions 🙂 yes. Most of it is too dirty tasting for me. Gritty, dirty, earthy. I dunno, maybe I am trying the wrong kinds!

  22. Anne @ Food Loving Polar Bear Says:

    The whole year has flown by! I’m amazed it end of October AGAIN 😀

  23. Carolyn @ texaseats Says:

    Everytime someone mentions hemp, the first thing I think about is the large warning sign at the local grocer that sells it. Apparently you can fail drug tests when eating hemp.

    Probably not a worry for most people; it’s just always the first thing that pops into my head. I’ve never had it before though, interested in reading your thoughts.

  24. Sue Says:

    That Big Mac glass brings me WAY, WAY back – love it!!!!

  25. maike@letslearntofeelfree.blogspot.com/ Says:

    LOve the irony of drinking a healthy delicious pumpkin smoothie out of a mc donald glass with a “meat” fsce 😉


Leave a Reply

