Roasted Tomato Grilled Cheese

Hi Friends 🙂

Earlier this week someone posted a recipe for tomato soup – please let me know if you know who I’m talking about. Reading “tomato soup” inspired last night’s dinner.

I was thinking of grilled cheese with tomato soup – or tomato soup with really crusty bread. Then I thought of a recipe I saw on this show months and months ago:

When Jason and I were marathon training earlier this year, we would often go to the gym and run on the treadmills. When we starting training (January) it was way too cold to run outside (not to mention kind of unsafe with the ice, etc). Luckily our gym has little tvs hooked up to the treadmills 🙂

I liked to do my long runs on Saturdays over the lunch hour. The gym was slow then and usually Bravo had a America’s Next Top Model Marathon on – that made 16 miles just fly by! But one day I caught 5 Ingredient Fix and the meal looked amazing.

Roasted Tomato-Bread Soup

Basically you roast a bunch of tomatoes, add a canned of crushed tomatoes, basil and chunks of sourdough bread. It sounded great but I was worried the bread would taste mushy. And I don’t like mushy bread.

So I changed my mind and went back to tomato soup and grilled cheese – only I wasn’t going to make soup.

Roasted Tomato Grilled Cheese

Cut and deseed 3-4 vine ripened tomatoes:

Chop into bitesize pieces and combine in a bowl with ½ sweet onion, chopped and mix with 1 TBSP of garlic infused olive oil:

If you don’t have Garlic Gold, just use regular olive oil and maybe throw some chopped garlic in the bowl as well. Toss to mix well and spread out on a baking sheet and roast at 400 degrees for 20 minutes.

 Meanwhile, take 2 slices of bread (I used a small loaf of French bread) and top with a slice of cheese. I used this:

When your tomatoes are ready, take them out of the oven and pop your bread/cheese under the broiler for a few minutes until the cheese melts. Top bread/cheese with tomato mixture and serve:

I’m not one to toot my own horn, but this tasted really good. It was grilled cheese + tomato soup without the soup. I bet it would taste good with some roasted peppers added, and maybe throwing some turkey or ham on the bread as well.

*What is your favorite comfort food?

*What are your plans for the weekend?

20 Responses to “Roasted Tomato Grilled Cheese”

  1. Kate Says:

    i too have been thinking about soup and grilled cheese for a while now. i just havent plugged it into the meal schedule yet.

    my fav comfort food = cheesy eggs!

  2. Alex @ IEatAsphalt Says:

    I am obsessed with grilled cheese sandwiches on cold days. Its always been one of my favorite foods. But I cheat on the soup end and buy the boxed stuff from Trader Joes.

  3. Jessica @ Fit & Clean Says:

    I LOVE grilled cheese and tomato soup. If I weren’t going out to lunch today, I think that would have been the perfect meal. It’s cold here in GA! Comfort food all the way 😉

  4. Michelle @ Chasing Ambulances Says:

    There is nothing better than roasted veggies. The oven is a magical, magical thing 🙂 Oh, and toot your own horn away!! That does look good.

  5. Alyssa Says:

    Looks great!! I love homestyle mac n cheese! Gf of course 🙂

    Foodbuzzzz!

  6. Nic Says:

    Looks good and pretty easy to make… pefect combo 🙂

    My fav comfort food is most likely some type of chili with a sprinkle of cheese on top!

  7. lizlivingvegan Says:

    Woah that looks so good! It’s like a twist on the classic grilled cheese & tomato soup thing! How is the tofutti cheese? I’ve never tried that kind before. I have the daiya cheese, and I’ve heard that’s good as a grilled cheese… but I haven’t tried that either. haha.

  8. Beth Says:

    Yum! I looove adding tomatoes to my grilled cheese, and roasting them beforehand seems like such a good idea because I love roasted anything.

  9. Shanna, like Banana Says:

    Mmm, my Italian love is piqued! Very nice!

    I wish my gym had tv’s on the treadmills..I get bored..

  10. Katie Says:

    Grilled cheese and tomato soup is such a classic. Roasted tomato soup is really great, if you haven’t tried it ever.

  11. Anne @ Food Loving Polar Bear Says:

    I need to start shipping that Garlic Gold sauce since I cannot buy it here 😀

  12. Laury @thefitnessdish Says:

    LOVE grilled cheese and tomato soup!!! Reminds me of my childhood!!! I neer liked soy cheeses, afraid to try it….how do you like it?

    Favorite comfort food is veggie chili or PIZZA!!!!!!

  13. Jaclyn (Ananda Prana) Says:

    My go-to comfort panini as of late has been avocado, tomato, pesto and cheese 🙂 So good!

  14. rc1001 Says:

    Wow cool! My favorite comfort food is mac and cheese!

    Headed out to West Texas for a wedding this weekend 🙂

  15. spabettie Says:

    I have always loved tomatoes on my grilled cheese – I have never made it like this before, I am SO going to now!! 😀 YUM – thanks for the awesome idea!

    HAPPY WEEKEND !

  16. Michele @ Healthy Cultivations Says:

    That looks like gourmet grilled cheese!!

  17. Nicole @ Making Good Choices Says:

    Tomato soup and grilled cheese is definitely one of my favorite comfort foods. I love how you combined the two!

  18. grocery goddess jen Says:

    Megan made tomato soup earlier this week! I love tomato soup with grilled cheese, or grilled cheese with tomato…oooh, and with avocado! Definitely comfort food.

    This weekend we’re going to run errands and go out to lunch and watch stuff on Netflix…there’s snow on the ground and it’s freezing! It won’t be a good weekend for outdoor activities, unfortunately.

  19. leashieloo Says:

    That looks scrumptious, I love the flavors of grilled cheese and tomato soup. That combo is definitely up there in my fave comfort foods but I tend to love a roast meal with mashed potatoes. This weekend I’m going to take it easy, it’s been a stressful week!

    Have a great weekend!


Leave a Reply

