The Holly Llama Gets New Shoes

Happy Saturday 🙂

Did you see the beautiful Full Moon last night? Jason and I were on our way to Running Room when we saw it. I didn’t bother taking out my camera – I just decided to look at it instead of scrambling to get my camera. I hope you saw it!

I have bought shoes at Running Room before and now that almost an entire year has gone by, I decided to get a new pair. Plus my knee has been hurting when I run, so I figured I’d try new shoes to see if that helps.

I was amazed when I opened the door – Bill – one of my parents’ neighbors (and the father of my childhood friend) was working there! I had to tell him who I was, but he immediately remembered me! We had a nice time reminiscing – I don’t think I’ve actually seen him/talked to him in well over 10 years. But he still looks the same! He laughed so hard when I reminded him that he used to call me The Holly Llama (Dalai Lama…)

He fitted me for new shoes – meaning he had me lunge, squat and walk across the room. He determined (as have every other running store employee)  that I am an over pronator (click to learn about the different types) and recommended a few different shoes. I decided to get the Asics GT-2160 – they felt great on my feet!

I also picked up a few other things: sport beans, Clif shotblocks, and a Hammer gel. I have used sport beans before, but they upset my stomach sometimes, so I wanted to try a few different products to see what works well for my body.

After leaving Running Room (which I recently learned that Cathy works for them too!), we headed to Trader Joe’s. I only get to TJ’s about once per month at the most – the closest location is only 15-20 minutes away, but it still feels so far away! We picked up the “essentials”:

Three Buck Chuck, Bean/ Barley soup, stir-fry mix, almond butter, low sugar jelly, trail mix, brown rice pasta, chicken sausages, goat cheese, dates, larabars, sushi

And by “essentials” I mean anything that looked good at the time!

Well I’m off for an 8 mile run! See you tomorrow!

*Anything fun going on today?

*Do you stay loyal to a certain brand when buying running/exercise shoes or workout clothes? Why or why not?

20 Responses to “The Holly Llama Gets New Shoes”

  1. Lisa @ I'm an Okie Says:

    I have a question for ya: at one point (mileage wise) in a run do you take the gels or chews?? I am newbie to longer distances and I have no idea!

    • Holly Says:

      I am by no means an expert — but I usually take some gel or a few sport beans starting at about mile 5 or 6 (if my run is 8+ miles). They usually give me a little boost in energy which is all I need.

    • Beth Says:

      They say you have enough stamina to go for 60-75 minutes without fuel, but you need to eat before you feel tired. Usually I eat fuel around the 5 mile mark (50ish minutes) and plan of fueling for all runs over 6 miles.

  2. Alaina Says:

    I’m doing some more packing today, then working this afternoon.

    I used to get New Balance running sneakers, but lately I’ve been loyal to Asics. With workout clothes, I love Under Armour for my compression shorts. Everything else, I’m easy. 🙂

  3. Sarena (The Non Dairy Queen) Says:

    I am so glad you got some new shoes! Hopefully that will help with the running. Looks like you got the essentials from TJ’s! I hope you have a great weekend Holly!

  4. Matt @ The Athlete's Plate Says:

    I spy some almond butter! Totally essential 😉

  5. Sharon Says:

    Today I’m relaxing, going to a fitness expo… half marathon tomorrow. Boy am I wishing it was a marathon!

    I don’t stick to one brand. I buy what’s cute and what’s cheap. With my most recent shoes I bought a clearance shoe (that I actually really liked) and then I found a store on ebay that was selling them for $30 and bought several pairs. I love good deals 🙂

  6. Jenny Says:

    I love getting new running shoes! All the gel packs look fantastic..I need to try some:)

  7. Hollie @ Lolzthatswim(andRun) Says:

    I am a big Nike fanatic for 90% of my workout gear. I still run in my Newtons though.

    Nothing fun on my end…unless you count the foot of snow we are getting.

  8. Mary @ Bites and Bliss Says:

    I tend to buy Nikes just because they fit my foot the best. All others seem to have the arch a bit off or not enough support. But of course, everybody’s different. 🙂 As for the beans and energy stuff..how many miles do you run before tkaing them? I’ve been running 10-11 lately on my long days without them but I’m thinking they’d be a good idea.

  9. Averie (LoveVeggiesAndYoga) Says:

    I am totally brand loyal to Nikes, they are narrow and provide extra cushioning and are what my feet and me need!

    The running room…the MEMORIES i have of the one on Hennepin in uptown. Not sure if it’s still there but i used to go there ALL the time in h.s. and college!

  10. leashieloo Says:

    Loving your TJ’s haul! And I completely know what you mean about your store feeling “far away.” 20 minutes is actually a journey in my book!

  11. 1970kikiproject Says:

    wow, what a small world, eh, to meet bill like that!
    asics 2160s – great choice, holly!!! asics is known for their cushy-feeling shoes (that great gel technology), and roomy toe box area. i hope you enjoy them – can you give us a review after you try them out? i do hope they help your knee, and that you had a strong 8 miler!
    thanks for the mention! 🙂

  12. Samantha @ Health, Happiness & Skinny Jeans Says:

    I have come to realize that my feet prefer Mizunos so I am sticking with them. As for clothing I am not too pick and will buy a variety of brands.

  13. Lisa Says:

    I love shoe fittings and new running shoes that feel great! How funny (and fun) that you ran into someone from your past.

    I wish there was a TJs close to me—I’d have to drive 5 hours to get to one 🙂

    Nothing fun going on here–we’re having a blizzard, so I definitely didn’t see the moon!

  14. Christin@purplebirdblog Says:

    ” the closest location is only 15-20 minutes away, but it still feels so far away!”

    Girl, if there was a TJ’s within 10 HOURS of me I’d trek there occasionally! 😉

  15. Angela (the diet book junkie) Says:

    i used to only buy from the Running Room, but last summer i decided to switch to a minimalist shoe (from a high stablity) and it’s really worked out for me. my feet are still getting used to it a bit, but i’ve definitely noticed the less “heel striking” is good for my quads. good luck with your new runners, you’ll have to let us know how they work out! 🙂

  16. mapollard Says:

    I am so jealous that you have a TJ’s! We finally just got and Earthfare within 2 hours of where we live and we make a trip about every 1.5 months or so. I think it would be dangerous for me to have a TJ’s even 20 minutes haha 😉


Leave a Reply

