Eleven Miles!

Hi Friends!

Meet Peter Sam: (again)

He loved modeling all of those hats – he didn’t squirm at all — it probably helped that he had just woken up from a nap!  🙂  And I love that with the first hat he is Uncle (Peter) Sam!

 

I even wore my UMD (Univ of MN-Duluth) sweater! Our mascot is the Bulldog! How perfect is that?

Jason totally laughed at me when I pulled this sweater out – he said “we’ve been together for 4 years and I have NEVER seen that sweater before!” True – I never wear it, but I just love it so much. My dad found it for me at Goodwill (or another thrift store, I can’t remember) before I started college.

Peter Sam is such a sweetheart!!! Sometimes I wish Jason and I had a dog, but Jason is allergic (and to be honest I don’t know how to take care of a dog!)

Rewind to Saturday morning –

I ran 11 miles.

I ran 11 miles in under 2 hours (my goal!)

My knee didn’t hurt. At. All.

I think the biggest difference has been my trusty foam-roller. In case you don’t know what one is, click here and you can see a picture of one and someone showing a few common stretches using it. Like I said earlier last week, this thing is worth its weight in gold. I really think daily foam-rolling is something I need to keep up with (and I intend to!)

And a few days ago I mentioned that reading about bloggers who run 7-8 min/miles – I didn’t mean to sound like I was complaining. I get caught in the comparison trap and I shouldn’t let those thoughts creep in. Running AT ALL is something I should be happy about – thanks to all of you who pointed that out in the comments or through emails.

Plans for the day:

-More work on the new blog (hopefully to be unveiled in a week or two…
-Grocery store
-Meal planning for the week (any suggestions on recipes to try?)
-Laundry (!!!)
-Yoga
-Read
-Relax!

Enjoy your day!

~Holly

28 Responses to “Eleven Miles!”

  1. mostlyfitmom Says:

    Way to hit your goal! Love the hats. 🙂

  2. Sarena (The Non Dairy Queen) Says:

    The pup is so stinkin’ cute! I hope you have a great day Holly!

  3. Jen Says:

    Peter Sam looks so cute! 😀

  4. Hollie @ Lolzthatswim(andRun) Says:

    Laundry is something I really need to go when I get back to college ha.

    I’m glad your knee didn’t hurt Holly! That is fabulous. I think I’m going to have to get a foam rollar very soon.

    The dog is adorable. 🙂 My dogs are too rambunctious to ever keep a hat on.

  5. Alaina Says:

    Great job on the run!!

    And that dog is so cute. 🙂

  6. Lisa Says:

    What a cutie! I don’t have a dog either…we’re not against them or anything, just don’t really want that additional responsibility (and cleaning)!

    I so agree about foam rollers…they are saving me 🙂

    I haven’t checked my email recently, but when you get a chance, send me your mailing address for the avocados if u haven’t already! Have a great day.

  7. Tina @ Faith Fitness Fun Says:

    Great job on the run! And foam rolling makes such a difference for me too!

  8. bakebooks Says:

    Glad your knee is good! Sound like a busy day. How is your new blog coming along? Do you have a specific focus?

    Do you mind what I ask your job is as well? Do you work full-time?

    • Holly Says:

      The new blog is coming along slowly — but I’m making progress. The focus isn’t really any different than the current blog — just organized better (in my opinion) than this blog and the name suits me better (again, in my opinion!)

      I don’t talk about my job on the blog — I like that keep that part of my life separate. But I do have a full time job — I work Mon-Fri 8-5.

  9. Averie (LoveVeggiesAndYoga) Says:

    Wow Holly, congrats on your run!!!!!!! That is amazing…11 miles and sub 2 hrs. You are awesome!

    Your new blog and changes…yeah girl, it all takes time. Massive amounts.

    Better go pour a glass of kombucha for that one 🙂

    • Holly Says:

      Thank you so much! And yes, you know the blog headaches I’m talking about!!!

      I’m kidding but kind of serious — have you ever mixed kombucha with any type of booze?

  10. Katie Says:

    You ran 11 miles?!?! WOW. You seriously rock. I couldn’t do that.

    I didn’t know you went to Duluth! My cousin goes there, and I’m going to be teaching at Northland in Ashland starting this fall. 🙂 Small world.

  11. Alicia@ eco friendly homemaking Says:

    Congratulations on your run. So glad that your knee didn’t hurt!

  12. Dorry Says:

    Such a cute dog! And BIG CONGRATS on 11 miles! That’s so awesome and I’m so glad you didn’t have any pain. I love my foam roller, too – that’s a good reminder I should use tonight.

  13. Kalli Says:

    oh he is so precious! glad to hear you had a great run!

  14. Colleen @ The Lunchbox Diaries Says:

    11 miles?! That is so awesome. I know what you mean about getting caught in “the comparison trap” but just think – someone is always comparing themselves to you, too! 🙂

  15. Christin@purplebirdblog Says:

    Awwwe, I wanna kiss his big ol’ sweet nose!!! 🙂

  16. Laury @TheFitnessDish Says:

    I LOVE Peter Sam!!!!!! SO adorable!

    The foam roller and I have been having a love affair for almost 8 years now? Best invention ever.

  17. FutureFitGirl Says:

    Super cute puppy!!!

    and awesome run!! I am so inspired!! I’m on my journey to lose 100 lbs and get fit.. 9 lbs down, 91 to go! feel free to motivate me – http://www.futurefitgirl.com

  18. 1970kikiproject Says:

    haha, it’s so late, your day is now done! 🙂
    hope you got thru your to do list!
    your mileage is getting HIGHER!! so exciting!!
    glad the foam roller is working so well for you.
    just this morning, i remembered about your new blog – thanks for the update, and hope it’s coming along!

  19. charlotte Says:

    Ohmygoodness that is the cutest dog ever!!! I love animals in hats – cracks me up. And yay for your knee! Another foam-rolling devotee – I really need to figure that thing out!

  20. Kate Says:

    oh my goodness! i want that dog!!!!!! the pic with the first hat cracks me up.

  21. Sam (the neurotic yogini) Says:

    Too cute! Haha, I’m an Aunt Sam!! 😉

  22. leashieloo Says:

    Tehe! I love all of the hats and little costumes, I do the same to my cat, but she’s not a very good sport about it!


Leave a Reply

