Christmas Crack

Hi Friends 🙂
We were SNOWED IN all day yesterday:

Here is our basement window:

Some areas of the Twin Cities got 12-20 inches – can you believe that?!?! I am so glad that this happened on a Saturday and that we had no plans. (I was supposed to go to a Cookie Exchange Party, but that got switched to today, so it worked out fine).
While Jason did homework, I caught up on laundry, vacuumed, and BAKED:
Mama Pea’s Christmas Cookie Dough Balls (I used butter instead of Earth Balance)
These made the house smell soooooo good! I can’t wait to share them this afternoon.
I also made Christmas Crack. My sister-in-law sent me the recipe, and I had heard of it before, so I’m not sure who should get credit for this recipe – either way it is not mine!
Christmas Crack
1 sleeve saltine crackers
2 sticks of butter
1 cup packed dark brown sugar
1 bag semi-sweet chocolate chips
½ cup crushed pecans (I didn’t include this, I just used sprinkles on the top instead)
Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Line a 9×13 pan with the saltines (note: line the pan with parchment paper first. I wish I had done this!). Boil butter and brown sugar for 2-3 minutes. Spoon quickly and gently over the crackers. Bake for 5 minutes. Remove from oven and sprinkle chocolate chips on top. Let it sit for 5 minutes and then spread the melty chocolate chips around. Sprinkle with pecans (or just sprinkles!) Cool in fridge (or freezer) until solid. Cut or break into pieces. Enjoy!

After baking for 5 minutes:

Cut into chunks:

I loved the salty/sweet taste of this – not a healthy treat by any means. It tasted like toffee with a chocolate layer on top.  I will be giving these away today as well 🙂
What is the weather like near you?
Do you like salty/sweet treats or do you prefer one over the other?

22 Responses to “Christmas Crack”

  1. Faith Says:

    Mmm, that christmas crack definitely looks aptly named 🙂 I usually go for sweet snacks but when you can get the best of both worlds rolled into one…gotta go for it!

  2. Matt Says:

    Mmm those look awesome. I am such a sucker for saltines. LOL.

  3. mostlyfitmom Says:

    It’s snowy here, too, but not nearly as much as you!

    Thanks for the sharing the Christmas crack recipe. Simple + delicious = hard to beat, right?

  4. Holly Says:

    The snow was absolutely insane! It was literally the first day since moving into my apartment complex that I didn’t leave at all. It was weird! But today it is quite beautiful, indeed. 🙂

    The Christmas Crack looks incredible!!! It looks like a simpler but just as tasty version of what I grew up knowing as “Club Cracker Bars.”

  5. Hollie @ Lolzthatswim(andRun) Says:

    Wow-we got snow like that a week ago but now it is raining. It seems the weather doesn’t know what it wants these days.

  6. Averie (LoveVeggiesandYoga) Says:

    I need to email my mother and see how much they got. They live in Mntka/Chan area. That snow is the REASON i dont live there anymore!!!!! All growing up, in college, you name it…that snow. Our basement windows, not just the underground ones, but the above ground ones, and oh real windows too that face the outside above ground…always covered/packed in with snow. Oh I dont miss it!

    The saltines crack. I have had things like that before at, you guessed it, MN holiday parties! That is such a MN looking dessert! Just really easy but really good. And I cant believe you didnt use parchment. Omg. Omg. Nothing like a lil elbow grease 🙂

  7. Katie Says:

    I’m with Averie about the snow and the midwestern easy crack desserts. I love them, but I hate them (the snow and the desserts!)

    I’m flying into Minneapolis next weekend….here’s hoping the snow is GONE by then. What are the chances? 🙂

  8. Mary @ Bites and Bliss Says:

    Ohh that Christmas Crack looks awesome! I’ve never had something like that before.

    That snow’s ridiculous, too. The last time we were snowed in was when I was 7..ever since then the most snow we’ve had was 1/2 inch lol

  9. Alex @ IEatAsphalt Says:

    I made those very same snickerdoodle balls for a Christmas party yesterday. I hope that you managed to get yourselves shoveled out. This time last year Philly got nailed with 20+ inches of snow… it was NOT fun to have that much.

  10. Aimee Says:

    Judging by the photo, the name crack is certainly right on! That looks amazing! 🙂 We aren’t getting snow yet, though it is in the forecast. Crazy how much snow it looks like you had though! I hope that you can dig out soon.

  11. Allie (Live Laugh Eat) Says:

    Holy smokes that’s a lotttttta snow!!! WOW.

    Christmas Crack looks right up my alley. But, Holly…NO PECANS?!

  12. Maria @ Oh Healthy Day Says:

    I’m so jealous of the snow! We don’t get snow here in CA and I miss it like crazy! I plan on trying the dough balls today – looks like yours turned out great!

  13. Jess Says:

    Wow- stay safe! I thought of you when I saw the metrodome collapsed on the news!

  14. Kylie @ A Hungry Spoon Says:

    I love the Christmas Crack recipe! I’ve tasted it before, and it’s truly addictive. I really love they salty n’ sweet combo (hello chocolate-covered pretzels!)s, but if I had to pick one over the other I’d definitely go with sweet 🙂

    The snow you have is heading East, so we’re supposed to be getting it tonight and tomorrow.

  15. emily (a nutritionist eats) Says:

    We missed the snow storm!! Kind of bummed. I would love to get snow-ed in!

  16. bakebooks Says:

    Wow – you got snow! Did you have to dig your way out? 🙂 I seen in a previous post you seen Tangled – I’ve heard good stuff about it but didn’t think it would be great. But maybe I should see it – to lift my spirits 😉

  17. leashieloo Says:

    Christmas Crack looks awesome, I’ve never seen anything like that before. We’re having a snow storm too, I have my fingers crossed for a snow day!

  18. purplebirdblog Says:

    This crack looks seriously ridiculously amazing!! 😀

  19. Need to Make: December | Tiny Green Kitchen Says:

    […] Ice Cream + Pecan Bars Epicurean Vegan: Glazed Chocolate Avocado Cupcakes Couch Potato Athlete: Christmas Crack Veganlicious: Raw Nanaimo Bars Vegan Eats & Treats: Mocha Almond Fudge Biscotti Eat Chifully: […]


Leave a comment