Super Size Me

You’ve all seen this movie, right? Morgan Spurlock spends 30 days eating McDonalds food for breakfast, lunch and dinner. If you haven’t seen it, I highly recommend it! The way his health deteriorates is ridiculous and downright scary.

What have you tried for 30 days straight? A new diet or an exercise routine? Or maybe you did what I did, which was participate in Tina’s 30 Days of Reflection for Self-Love.

This series really helped me a lot, and I think every comment I left for Tina included the words “thank you” – because although it was emotionally tough and overwhelming at times, it was totally worth it and I appreciate the time and effort she put into those posts. You can click *here* to read all of the posts – they are listed at the bottom of that post.

So do I love myself now? Well, I can’t honestly say “yes” – it is not something that (I believe) can be achieved in 30 days (no offense Tina!) – but the 30 Days series was definitely a big move in the right direction. Appreciate what you have and love the body that you were given.

The posts titles “Gifts of the Body” were my favorite because for so long I have beaten up my own body – eating too much or too little, exercising too much or not enough. Squeezing myself into clothes that made me feel uncomfortable and unattractive which led to more body bashing. My inner negative dialogue was so loud sometimes that it was hard to truly SEE myself in the mirror – all I saw were the negative qualities, when I really have plenty of positive ones!

So thanks to the 30 DRSL I do feel more confident in myself — and that is also the result of my own self reflection and movement towards a healthier lifestyle and a healthier outlook on life in general. So I guess I Super Sized my self esteem??? 🙂

So thanks Tina and everyone who had participated over there — I loved reading others’ comments.

*I know I said I’d take weekends off, but if I have something to write about I’m going to write! I’m just going to take it day by day.*

Questions:

1. Did you participate in the 30 DRSL? What did you learn about yourself?

2. What are your plans for the weekend? Jason and I are going to a MN Twins game today –woohoo! Tomorrow we are running in the TC 10 Mile race (wish me luck!!!) followed by a birthday party for Jason’s Grandma — she recently turned 70!

3. Do you have any goals for October? I’m in the process of figuring mine out 🙂 and will be posting them hopefully tomorrow or Monday morning. As usual, I want to focus on nutrition, fitness, spiritual wellbeing, intellectual wellbeing and my marriage. I try to cover all my bases!

4. What are some of your nicknames? Did you parents call you something when you were younger? Do they still? I’m sure I’ve forgotten a few, but my Mom used to (and still does) call me Holly Dolly 🙂

Have a great weekend!

Holly

19 Responses to “Super Size Me”

  1. Matt Says:

    Glad the 30 day deal helped you out! It is important to love yourself 🙂

  2. Chelsea @ One Healthy Munchkin Says:

    That’s so great to hear that those 30 days helped you in your confidence. 😀 I agree it takes longer than that, but if you keep on being positive each day, you’ll eventually truly believe it! Keep at it girl!

    My plans for the weekend are celebrating Homecoming. I’m heading off to a pancake kegger and the football game today. Hope you have a great weekend too!

  3. Tina @ Faith Fitness Fun Says:

    Haha! For sure its not something to be achieved in 30 Days. It’s just meant to start taking steps in the right direction, which you certainly did. I’m very proud of you and also very humbled by your support. Thank you so much! Keep up those good thoughts, because you deserve the best. And to see yourself as the fabulous person I just know you are.

    Have fun at the football game!

  4. Jessica@tastyandtrim Says:

    This was a great post! I want to try the 30 days of reflection for self love. It sounds like it really helped you better your relationship with yourself! I’m definitely guilty of thinking negatively about my body leading to unhealthy habits. Maybe doing 30 DRSL would help! My little sister used to call me “caca” when she was younger because she couldn’t pronounce Jessica. My mom also calls me “chip” as a joke because of how big my cheeks were after having my wisdom teeth removed – I looked like a beaver!

  5. eatmovelove Says:

    Holly Dolly. Cute.

    I did watch that movie a long time ago. Recently, the Doctor, Travis Stork, from “The Doctors” did something similar – for only one week though. I don’t know what resulted though because I only seen a clip of it on TV.

    I want to go to a Ball Game!!! Grrr….if only for the hot dog 😉

  6. Mary @ Bites and Bliss Says:

    I don’t know if I’ve ever stuck with a plan for 30 days stright intentionally..besides working out consistently, but that’s just habit lol.

    My boyfriend calls me Kitten ’cause I like to be pet. Not in a “bad” way, but ever since I was younger, I’ve liked to be pet- I’d even insist my mom do it while I was going to sleep. And my parents used to/still kind of do call me Mare Bear 😛

  7. FAITH, FITNESS, FUN » Blog Archive » a hello from little m Says:

    […] Couch Potato Athlete (loyal, smart, silly) –  Holly shares many topics of life and is becoming her best self […]

  8. Beth Says:

    I am just relaxing this weekend and enjoying my first weekend with nothing to do in a while! My parents called me/still call me sometimes Betty Boop! ha.

  9. Lori Lynn Says:

    I just found your blog today from Tina’s blog. I’ve been getting closer to being more consistent with being able to run almost a mile, so I’m wanting to be able to do more strength training to help with it.

  10. Averie (LoveVeggiesAndYoga) Says:

    Holly Dolly = I love that!

    Nicknames, honestly no, I never had one as a kid but Scott and I have pet nicknames for each other. They are so silly that I am not even gonna write them 🙂 But we have our names for each other like I think most couples do…ha!

    Tina’s challenge…I didnt participate formally but read all her posts and loved the message and am always learning things about myself. Each day, things that people say and tell me, I am learning about myself…like how to keep my chin up and keep going in the face of adversity.

    Rock your race girl, xoxox!!!!!

    🙂

  11. Maria @ Oh Healthy Day Says:

    This is just a little accomplishment, but pretty much the only thing I’ve stuck with for 30 days is no Diet Coke (in fact, it’s been almost 6 months). After reading about the horrors of artificial sweetener, I quit cold turkey. And have never felt better about it.

    My plans for the weekend is cleaning and shopping. Nothing super exciting 🙂

  12. Tanya Says:

    I just wrote down my monthly goals (fitness anyway) for the first time ever on my blog. It really helped me get out and run a 5K this morning even though I so did not feel like it. I didn’t participate in the challenge, but I loved the idea.

  13. Katie Says:

    I’m still trying to comprehend the fact that September is over… how did that happen?!?!? I’ve never done monthly goals, but I like the idea. Might have to try it out.

  14. muddy Says:

    hi, holly dolly,
    our secret’s out now 🙂 you saw the twins actually WIN a game today! i (and others) took the residents to the game on wednesday, september 22 and they won that one, too. we had seats RIGHT BEHIND home plate — the residents couldn’t stop commenting on how GREAT the seats were. at first, the perspective from behind home plate threw me off a little since all the camera shots on television are from the pitcher’s perspective. but, i, too, thought the seats were terrific.

    your weekend sounds very busy and fun — and i’ll be watching the blog to hear all about it. love you!

    muddy

  15. Kylie @ A Hungry Spoon Says:

    I LOVED the movie “Supersize Me!” Fascinating stuff (and I love that his partner is a vegan!). Thanks for such an inspirational post today–Super-Sizing your self-esteem is always a positive thing 🙂

  16. mostlyfitmom Says:

    Super Size Me was pretty disturbing, I thought. Just, yuck.

    I thing I’ve gotta lay out some goals for October and try to stay focused on my priorities. I’ve been feeling like I’m running around like a chicken with it’s head cut off. That’s still a saying, right? I’m not that old, yet, am I? LOL

    Glad to hear about the boost to your body image/self-esteem. 🙂 It’s hard to compliment yourself, but oh-so-easy to find the flaws in that mirror.

  17. Angela (the diet book junkie) Says:

    what i learned about self love……well, i think i learned it doesn’t have to be perfect, and that perfection is just another pressure women can put on themselves. please don’t get me wrong, we should love ourselves, definltely ( 🙂 🙂 🙂 exclamation point.) but i think it’s okay to have weak days, and when we have weak moments, that doesn’t mean we don’t love ourselves necessarily. it just means we’re human. (gosh, i hope that made sense. :))

    good luck and have fun with your race!! i’m glad you posted today, i say post when the spirit moves you, girl!

  18. 40apples Says:

    That’s awesome what you’ve gotten out of Tina’s challenge. That kind of self reflection and self appreciation is so valuable!

    I love “Holly Dolly” – so cute!! I’ve had a number of nicknames, including Lo, LoLo, Laurence of Arabia, Hegs (after my last name), Legs, Captain, Rascal… the silly list could go on and on 🙂

    Hey good luck on the 10 miler today!! Woohoo!
    x

  19. Anne @ Food Loving Polar Bear Says:

    Haha, I’ve seen the movie twice 😀 I don’t know if I have ever made anything specific for 3o days like yoga month etc. but maybe someday!


Leave a Reply

