Easy Guac Rocks!

Hi Friends 🙂
 
Thanks for all the nice wishes for Jason, I think he’s feeling much better! I swear, Potbelly chili is the ultimate healing food. It works every time!
 
It has been super gloomy here in MN. Raining off and on, cold, windy and gray. We have a high wind warning! It seriously sounded like the house was going to blow away last night — the wind whistled the entire time!


So instead of going with the regular hot soup/sandwiches (our go-to meal when it is cold and gloomy out) we went with Tacos! I had also read Averie’s blog yesterday and her quick guac recipe had me craving tacos 🙂 

I love that sticker!

I chose to have mine in lettuce cup form: romaine leaves held salsa, bell pepper, ground beef,  pinto beans and avocado. The salsa made it pretty messy, but it worked.

Usually I just go with mashed up avocado as our “guac” – but I tried Averie’s suggestion and mashed it with some seasonings. I used some Garlic Gold nuggets and Mrs. Dash spicy seasonings. It sure made it taste wonderful!

I had Jillian help me with my workout today:

This is definitely one of the better dvds I have – it is less than an hour long and it really “feels” effective. I like that she uses some Jane Fonda floor moves at the end. It brings me back:

1. Do you still have a VCR? Do you use it?

2. How do you make your guac? Or do you just use the quick method (mashed avocado) like me?

3. How is the weather near you? Is it still really warm or is Fall and Winter slowly moving in?
 
Happy Humpday 🙂
 
Holly

Posted in Dinner, DVDs. Tags: . 30 Comments »

30 Responses to “Easy Guac Rocks!”

  1. Kate Says:

    it has been super icky out. i don’t like it at all! the cursed w word can’t be too far behind when the weather gets like this 😦

  2. Matt Says:

    Mmm I love avocado 🙂

  3. leashieloo Says:

    I must admit that I still have a VCR and I still use it! I have a bunch of VHS tapes from back in the day and recordings that I have done.

  4. Sara Says:

    No VCR, I do not like guac and it’s windy and rainy in Central Virginia.

  5. Beth Says:

    I loooove guac! I usually mash avocado up with some red onion, cilantro, salt and pepper, and add in chopped tomato if I’m feeling feisty. 🙂

  6. Heather Says:

    i totally have a VCR and i still use my VHS tapes! love it 🙂 and guac with red onions, tomato, diced jalapeno, cilantro, TONS of garlic, salt and lime…heaven!

  7. Laury @thefitnessdish Says:

    It is VERY gloomy here today too. Unseasonably warm, like 71 degrees—but gloomy and rainy.

    I do not own a VCR, was just thinking about people that collected VHS tapes, and what you do with them now…wonder if anyone recycles them?

  8. Katie Says:

    I just got rid of my VCR a month ago – gave it to goodwill with some amazing movies.

    My guac is basic (salt, lime, garlic) if it is for me, but if others will be eating too, I do it up with tomatoes and onions and whatnot. Sometimes, I am lazy and just add a bit of salsa…no one seems to notice. 🙂

    Your weather forecast is IDENTICAL to mine. I’m not ready for this cold.

  9. 1970kikiproject Says:

    i really want to try that jillian DVD! must pick up very soon (note to self). nope, no VCR any more, just a DVD player.
    today is gorgeous in southern ontario (canada). sunny and very mild. appreciating every second as winter will set in soon enough!
    your tacos look and sound delicious! i like using lettuce leaves as “wraps,” too.

  10. Christina @ Food.Fun.Fabulous Says:

    It was nice in Boston yesterday but the cold weather is moving back in. I totally still have that Jane Fonda video (or I should say my mother does). We still have a vcr but don’t use it anymore. We like to keep it just in case 😉

  11. Thehealthyapron Says:

    hahah how funny! Love the VCR tape. I do not have one!! I love that jillian workout! Kicks serious butt!

    Alsom guac is my fvaorite! I usually just add lime juice and red onion! YUMMMERS!!

  12. Brittany (A Healthy Slice of Life) Says:

    I need a VCR! All my Disney movies are VHS and I really feel like watching them 🙂

  13. spabettie Says:

    I like guac that is simple – not too many ingredients – so I do just mash an avocado with some lemon juice and garlic… so tasty that way!

    We do not have a VCR anymore… (I think we still HAVE one, in a closet, not set up) and I have some really great movies I want to buy on DVD 😀

    It’s cold but SUNNY here right now… and SNOWING in the mountains! I love the sound of whistling wind… 😀

  14. Maria @ Oh Healthy Day Says:

    Definitely feeling like winter this morning. It was a chilly 47, though by 2pm it will be in the 60’s. Not too hot, not too cold – just the way I like it!

    I’m jealous of your winters though! We never get snow and I miss it!

  15. grocery goddess jen Says:

    I really wish I still had a VCR – I have an awesome step workout that I would still do if i had one, but it died a couple of years ago and I was only able to get a DVD player, not one with a VCR.

    I usually just mash up an avocado and add salt, though sometimes I’ll add chopped onions or lime juice or even pre made salsa.

    The weather here is weird: warm, but rainy and windy. It LOOKS like fall, but doesn’t feel like it.

  16. Wendy Says:

    I KNOW what you mean about the obnoxious wind!! It’s been that way here too, since yesterday morning. Supposed to last through tomorrow. I will be very happy when it stops!! Stay safe!

    1. Do you still have a VCR? Do you use it?
    Nope

    2. How do you make your guac? Or do you just use the quick method (mashed avocado) like me?
    I have never made homemade quac. I think I will throw some avocado slices on our salads tonight, though – thanks for reminding me! 🙂

    3. How is the weather near you? Is it still really warm or is Fall and Winter slowly moving in?
    Windyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy, and getting REALLY chilly tomorrow through the weekend. I love chilly weather!!!

  17. Averie (LoveVeggiesAndYoga) Says:

    Thanks for the linkback, you’re just whipping up lots of goodies and linkbacks lately…thank you!!!

    Glad you liked the guac. It’s a total cheaters method if you dont want to dice garlic, onions, figure out what other seasonings to put in…a quick shake of the ole Mrs Dash and youre in biz 🙂

    Glad that Jason is on the mend…whew, that’s good!

    Omg it got hot here. As in like mid to high 70s, not a cloud in the sky. Sports bra on my run today and as I type this on the 4th story of my house, I am hot, sweating actually. And it takes alot for me to sweat LOL. Perhaps the huge coffee i just chugged has something to do with that 🙂

  18. tangyh Says:

    It is crazy windy with wind advisories here in Illinois, too!! Our trees outside are almost bare with all this wind and there are new tree branches all over the yard!!

    I do not have a VCR. Sometimes I wish I did (although I have no tapes lol) because my kids like to open the dvds and touch them and then they won’t play!! Tapes were so much more indestructable!

    I think I’ve only tried guac once!! I’ve definitely never made it but we did finally find an awesome Mexican restaurant and it was really good!

  19. e m l Says:

    I haven’t really gotten into Avocodo. That should change.

    As for the VCR – I remember being devastated when I found out movie stores like Blockbuster weren’t renting VHS anymore a couple of years ago!! I didn’t have a DVD and thought the world was coming to an end 🙂

  20. Shanna, like Banana Says:

    I’ll take your weather please. I want to wear more jeans and boots please!

  21. Becky Says:

    I love Mexican food and the guacamole is my favorite part. I mash avocado with tomatoes, minced garlic, a bit of diced red onion, and a squirt of lime juice. It’s super easy and addictive!

  22. Natalie Says:

    Oh my I love that Fonda workout tape! My sister and I used to do it all the time back in the day! I wish I still had a VCR so I could watch the few videos I still have: Troop Beverly Hills, Little Women, and the Sex and the City collection.

  23. Allie (Live Laugh Eat) Says:

    I’ve NEVER seen that sticker before–jealous! I love my banana stickers 🙂 I’ll be on the look out for that one.

    …I’m a dork!

  24. Anne @ Food Loving Polar Bear Says:

    Wow, those lettuce wraps look great! I must admit I’ve never had one *gasp* 😀 anyway, fresh and home made guac is the best. Mine usually consists of avocados, garlic, tomatoes 🙂


Leave a Reply

