Costumes Fail & P.P.Pudding

Hi Friends 🙂
 
Well, do you have a costume picked out for this weekend? What are your plans?
 
Jason and I have a pumpkin carving party to go to on Saturday and then later that evening we have a Halloween party to go to. My costume making skills are not the greatest, and as I work more and more on our costumes I am getting more and more frustrated 😦

Here is the lump of fabric that SHOULD BE a nice long cloak for Jason to wear as Obi Wan Kenobi.

So after hours of work, it doesn’t really fit right — and now I just want to throw the whole thing away. I have 2 days to really get that thing put together! Wish me luck!
  
Workout of choice for Wednesday night was my beloved TurboFire 45EZ:

It isn’t EZ, let me tell you that much. As silly as some of the moves are, it gets my heart pumping and I can always feel it the next day.
 
For my post workout meal I had some Pumpkin Peanut Pudding. I got the idea from Katie, on her blog Making Food and Other Stuff.

The recipe calls for a mixture of pumpkin, peanut flour, pumpkin pie spice, ice and a bit of sweetener. I used a sprinkle of brown sugar and it seemed to do the trick! It tasted like cold pumpkin pie — without the crust obviously. Thank you Katie!
 
I *love* pudding. A few days ago I made this Chocolate Avocado Pudding for Jason:

I don’t remember which recipe I used, but I’ve tried both Averie’s Chocolate Mousse and Gina’s Chococado Pudding and they both taste amazing. I think I used a mixture of these recipes? Jason loved it.
 
1. Are you a pudding lover? What is your favorite flavor?

2. Did you watch The Biggest Loser on Tuesday? Or have you ever? Do you find it to be motivating or are you just sick of it? I personally find it motivating to see the contestants working out and losing weight – although I wish it were in a more healthy way and not so drastic. I also *hate* the game play – the alliances, lying, etc. I wish the person with the lowest percentage of weight loss each week was kicked off. Keep it simple and keep the drama out of it. But then maybe no one would watch it. And don’t get me started on the product placements…those are super annoying.

3. What are your plans for Halloween? Do you hand out candy or do you go party?
 
Enjoy your day!
 
~Holly

37 Responses to “Costumes Fail & P.P.Pudding”

  1. Kylie @ A Hungry Spoon Says:

    Although I still tune into the Biggest Loser on Tuesdays, my attention span is definitely shorter with it this season, and I find myself wandering to other tasks while we watch. Adam and I said the exact same thing this week–cut the game play and just eliminate the person with the lowest weight loss. That’s the whole point of the show!

  2. Brittany (A Healthy Slice of Life) Says:

    Not a big fan of pudding, although I’m intrigued to try the avocado pudding I always see on Pure 2 Raw. 🙂

  3. Candice @ ChiaSeedMe Says:

    I do like pudding, but I hardly ever make it. This one looks really delicious though…anything with pumpkin gets an A+ in my book!

    I really like TBL, and I did watch the last half of it this week. I had my DVR set, but it doesn’t do any good if TV is unplugged) doh. Anyway, I agree with everything you said. It is motivating to me + I really just love Jillian. But this past week I got really annoyed at how immature the contestants seemed. I think this season might be worse than ever. For better or worse, I still watch it though:)

  4. Laury @thefitnessdish Says:

    No Halloween for me this year 😦 😦 I am am halloween lover…my husband, not so much..and theres nothing good happening so I didn’t bother trying to even organize anything. boo.

    The pumpkin peanut oats look amaze!!!

    Ugh, Biggest Loser…used to watch, made me cringe (as a trainer)…can see why its inspiring, but exercise doesn’t have to be torture to be effective, and all the overweight people sitting at home watching think their ONLY chance is getting on that show..I know that because I have seen people say it on tv and in mags and stuff. Losing 20 pounds in a week, not healthy. Jillian’s fat burners with bitter Orange—total sellout and makes me angry.

    My mother in law LOVES the show. We used to watch, but it really is too much, I mean 2 hour episodes, such a commitment. If they came up with a show where people with normal lives, working 9-5 or whatever lost weight the right way..not being on a ranch working out 7 hours a day eating 1400-1800 calories a day and all food that is controlled….whwre they learned the skills in the real world, fitting into their real life..I would have more respect for it.

    On another note..if I EVER spoke to or treated my clients the way Jillian does, I would be out of business. I am not on TV so I can’t get away with screaming at people and pushing them to the point of injury. I’d get sued.

    Sorry….I get really sensitive about that stuff, LOL…it is my life 😉

  5. Beth Says:

    I didn’t watch the Biggest Loser on Tuesday but I did DVR it and plan to catch up. I think in a lot of ways its very unrealistic with the amount of weight they lose and its frustrating as a viewer when they get so upset about losing ONLY 6 or 8 pounds in one week. But somehow its still addictive for me.

  6. Sara Says:

    I agree with what you said about the Biggest Loser. I don’t watch it often. I did watch Jillian’s series this summer ‘Losing it with Jillian.’ I found it inspiring and not as intense. We hand out candy on Halloween. This our second married Halloween so it will probably be similar–I’ll make hot cider and chili and we’ll watch a movie. We watched ‘Nightmare Before Christmas’ last year. It has a Halloween feel to it … mixed with Christmas!

  7. Jess Says:

    I don’t like pudding for some reason! And Biggest Loser is just old to me for some reason, I don’t really find it inspiring anymore.

    I am going to DC for the rallies this weekend, so I’m not sure how much Halloweening I am going to do! Have a great weekend!

  8. Megan @ Healthy Hoggin' Says:

    I love pudding!! My very favorite lately is my Cherry Chocolate Bomb pudding– I eat it almost every day! Who knew avocados could taste so good? 😉

    I did finally get burnt out on Biggest Loser. I watched it for years, but I grew tired of the product placements and drastic weight loss expected each week. It just doesn’t seem very healthy anymore!

    For Halloween, I still need to think of a costume– we’ll probably go to the West Hollywood “parade” on Sunday. It’s crazy!!

  9. lisaou11 Says:

    Last year for Halloween I stayed home with my parents and handed out candies. This year I will probably be going out!

  10. kbwood Says:

    I really need to introduce the avocado pudding back into my life!!!! i already had a halloween partayyy this year- it rocked!

  11. Cathy K Says:

    no party this year and since we live in a condo, no handing out candy. that’s what i do miss about owning a house – i loved to decorate and then hand out candy! i need to borrow someone’s house!
    haha, i am the opposite – i like pie crust more than pie filling. so i need to make up and empty pie shell instead of a pudding!
    good luck with the costumes!!!

  12. Maria @ Oh Healthy Day Says:

    That stinks about the costumes, but I seriously give you props for trying. I can never pull a good costume together, though I try my best.

    I tried to get into The Biggest Loser but could not. To me, it’s just not realistic. Not everyone can quit their jobs temporarily and have time to work out for hours each day. I want to see how people lose weight in real life circumstances – what they pack for lunch at the office, when they find time to workout, etc.

    • couchpotatoathlete Says:

      I too would love to see real people with real lives losing weight — plus I would think that would be more motivating for the viewers — because they would see that anyone CAN do it, they just need to do it!

  13. grocery goddess jen Says:

    I am SICK of TBL. I used to watch it pretty regularly, and I always cry at the end when they say how much they’ve learned, and how they’re now motivating and helping other people. However, the show makes it seem like you have to workout a zillion hours and they BARELY cover food, which I think is the key to weight loss. And of course there have been all sorts of stories popping up about how they’re not getting the food and nutrition they need, Jillian pushing people to unsafe limits, and on and on. I do like the concept of the show, but two hours is too long and there’s too much stuff that I don’t like about it now.

  14. Katie Says:

    Glad you like the pudding – now I want some again….

    I can’t stand Jillian. I’ve never seen TBL, but seriously – 2 hours?!?! That’s a movie, not a tv show. I’ve tried to like her, but there is just so much I don’t…I won’t ever get started. I agree with Laury though. Ugh.

    I’ve been there with the costumes too. Sorry. It sucks and is SO frustrating!

  15. spabettie Says:

    I always watch Biggest Loser EXCEPT this week… the TrailBlazer game was on!! BOO!

    I think it’s replayed over the weekend, so I’ll need to catch up!

    I feel the same way – I think you saw my post about it several weeks ago – it would do so much to actually SHOW a plan for fitness AND meals – but it would drastically change what actually happens on the campus – they don’t want to show 800 calorie days with 8 hour workouts!! 😀

  16. Mary @ Bites and Bliss Says:

    Ohh I havent had pudding in forever!!! I need to try pumpkin pudding, sounds incredible!

  17. Tina Says:

    I’m starting to get sick of TBL for all the drama it focuses on. I wanted to slap that Frado dude! I still watch though. I can’t stop. LOL

    Good luck with the costume. I’m not crafty at all so I feel your pain.

  18. Christina Says:

    I watch BL and must agree I hate the gameplay! It won’t stop me from watching though.

  19. Thehealthyapron Says:

    We have NO plans for Halloween…so sad. This is literally the first year. I was going to go as Barbie to work tomorrow though! haha

    ps. don’t like pudding…never have.

  20. Healthy Coconut Says:

    I’m not sure what we’re doing for Halloween yet. I have a costume just in case and the fiance has an event at work and I wanted us to get dressed in couple’s themed costumes. We’ll see what happens. if we do stay home, then I’ll need to make a run to the store for some candies.

    I made the avocado pudding before and I really liked it, too bad it doesn’t keep well because I would love to make a batch. Mine only lasted a day before the taste and look changed.

    You are so crafty making DIY costumes. Do you own a sewing machine? I always wanted one and I used to make bags and clothes back in high school with my grandma’s sewing machine.

  21. rc1001 Says:

    Partying it up as Pebbles and Bamm Bamm this weekend! My fiance’s brother and his girlfriend are coming in town and we are going to see midnight Rocky Horror Picture Show on Friday night and our friend is throwing a party on Saturday. Yay!

  22. Averie (LoveVeggiesAndYoga) Says:

    Hween plans…
    I dressed up for a work party. And I am fully excited that my lil princess is going to be a…princess. her choice! For the 3rd year in a row 🙂

    Your costume. Girl. So sorry you spent money on the fabric, and your TIME on sewing and in the end, it’s not really happening and now you’re gonna have to just buy something or wing it with what you’ve got going..but yeah, i understand, not how you’d choose to spend your time/energy/$$

    Thanks for the mousse linkback. Glad you like it and it’s so easy and fast! That’s all that matters in my house! haha!

    Katie, love her and glad you tried her pudding too!

    CCKatie…saw her make muffins sorta inspired by you…I told her i love you and think you’re a great girl!!!

    Jillian…I left this comment on Gina’s site yesterday….I dont watch TBL, never have. Have no time for sleep, let alone a show like that. I dont get her appeal w/ her exercise videos, diet pills, food/shakes, etc whatever else she has that she’s marketing. I mean, I’m sure she’s a lovely lady behind the marketing but I just know that her life path on both fitness and food are not mine. So I dont buy, read, watch, etc her stuff 🙂

  23. Angela (the diet book junkie) Says:

    i’m sure Jason’s costume will turn out lovely! you guys are gonna be so cute together, can’t wait to see the pics!

    we’re going out with friends this weekend, but there won’t be any halloween celebration. i *think* some bars will have halloween themes, but for the most part the holiday isn’t celebrated over here. (shame. no fun sized candy for me… )

  24. eatmovewrite Says:

    I am definitely a pudding lover. I love anything with chocolate or lemon (but not those two together).

    I’ve never seen Biggest Loser.

    We don’t have plans for Halloween. Usually we go to a party though. Kids just don’t trick or treat in apartment complexes, it seems. (Not that I blame the parents.)

  25. leashieloo Says:

    We handed out candy today and this weekend I’ll be going to a Halloween shindig. I can’t wait to see everyone’s costumes!

  26. Natalie Says:

    I haven’t had pudding in so long but used to love chocolate pudding cups. I think the pumpkin pudding looks delicious!

  27. EZ Pumpkin Muffins | The Couch Potato Athlete Says:

    […] Blogroll ← Costumes Fail & P.P.Pudding […]

  28. Sarah @ The Smart Kitchen Says:

    I LOOOOOOOOOVE pudding. 🙂

    Halloween = costume parties.

  29. Anne @ Food Loving Polar Bear Says:

    We do not celebrate Halloween like in the US, we actually hand out candy during Easter Sunday 😀 anyway, can’t wait to see all the costumes and party recaps in blogs!
    Enjoy your halloween weekend!

  30. Last Chance Workout & Turducken | The Couch Potato Athlete Says:

    […] Last Chance Workout! Now, I’ve explained some of my Biggest Loser thoughts before and you all have left me some great comments as well, but as a whole I do enjoy their […]


Leave a Reply

