First Night in Vegas

Hi Friends 🙂
 
I thought about writing one long Vegas recap, but I decided to break it down a bit.
 
Let’s start with Thursday. Jason and I both worked until noon that day – then met up to get haircuts. I decided to get a few inches chopped off and I also got some bangs. I have no idea why I wanted to do that. I haven’t had bangs since 6th grade! It is so nice to be back to shorter hair though…
My dad drove us to the airport where we learned that there were seats available in First Class – for $200 we upgraded and didn’t have to pay for our 2 checked bags (which would have cost us $50) so we decided it was a good deal and was worth it (and it was!)
 
It was so nice to have 3 hours to eat, drink and talk! I’m planning on making some blog changes in the next few weeks and it was nice to have the time to really talk about it all. After 3 hours we were in Vegas!!!
We ended up renting a limo to get to our hotel – I forgot to snap a picture, maybe it was the excitement from getting there, or the drinks from the plane…
 
The Trump Hotel was fabulous – just a block off the Strip and across the street from the Wynn and Encore. Every day I reminded myself to take a pic of the outside of the Trump hotel – and I kept putting it off and then I never took one!  Here’s a pic from their website:

But seriously, the service at Trump was great and we would definitely stay there again. I only wish they had a shuttle that would drop you off at the other end of the Strip (Mandalay Bay). I didn’t like paying for taxis all the time and walking around sure got tiring (more on that tomorrow).
 
Our room was lovely and the room service on Thursday night was wonderful:
I had a big Cobb salad with romaine, hard boiled eggs, bacon, bleu cheese, grape tomatoes, turkey breast, avocado:

Jason had the hot pepper sandwich with waffle fries:
And we shared the chips/salsa/ (and unpictured) guac:

And the guac was so good 🙂
 
We actually went to bed around 10pm on Thursday night – too tired to get out and do anything. I kept asking Jason if we are super boring for staying in that night – and he kept saying no, so please tell me he was right 🙂 
Tomorrow I will write about our day on Friday – I am still getting into “back to normal” mode. You know the routine: laundry non stop for days, going back to work, etc. Don’t get me wrong, I’m not complaining!
 
What do you like do after getting home from a trip? I like to get a load of laundry started, take a shower and then take a nap.
Posted in Life. Tags: . 19 Comments »

19 Responses to “First Night in Vegas”

  1. 1970kikiproject Says:

    love your new bangs and haircut, holly! super cute!
    glad you did the upgrade on the seats – what a way to add fun to your vacation!
    totally understand about being backlogged when you come home – i like to get everything tidied up, cleaned up etc asap!
    looking forward to the next recap!

  2. Myra Says:

    drinks from the plane??? just kidding. please tell me you went to mickey d’s at 3am!
    gad wu had a koooooooooo time. i can’t wait until we can afford to go again. we were hoping to go next year sometime. maybe it can be for all bro’s? since da keem will be of age 🙂

  3. Tina @ Faith Fitness Fun Says:

    I love coming home and getting back into a regular routine. I thrive on routine. Can’t wait to hear more about your trip!

  4. Beth Says:

    I love the haircut – its adorable!! I like to unpack first thing when I get home from a trip so I can put my suitcase away, and then start laundry!

  5. Shanna, like Banana Says:

    I’d totally stay in too! I’d rather not burn out before all the fun can begin!

  6. Katie Says:

    I put everything away the second I walk in the door. I hate clutter. And then I sit down and enjoy my living room and silence.

  7. Maria @ Oh Healthy Day Says:

    I love how Jason is rocking the Vibrams at the airport 🙂

    You guys were totally living it up. First class, limos…I need to travel with you! Can’t wait to hear more about it! And yes, Vegas is walkable, but I don’t recommend it either!

  8. Brittany (A Healthy Slice of Life) Says:

    sometimes it’s best to get caught up on sleep the first night so you’re ready to go for the rest of the trip!

    I always clean my house before leaving for a trip, so when I come return it is less stressful 🙂

  9. Megan @ Healthy Hoggin' Says:

    Looks like such a fun trip! I’ve never flown first class before, but it looks totally worth it!

    My favorite thing to do when I get home from a trip? Make dinner at home, and veg-out on the couch with our dog!!

  10. ihearteggs Says:

    Getting back from a trip my first thing is usually laundry… and groceries. I hate an empty fridge!

  11. Laury @thefitnessdish Says:

    Ohhh, looking forward to hearing more!!!!

    When I get home from a trip, I always take a day off work to get back to normal…do laundry, get back on my sleep sched (esp after Vegas 3 hour difference for me).

  12. Mary @ Bites and Bliss Says:

    The first day looked like fun! Can’t wait to see the rest of it!

  13. Averie (LoveVeggiesAndYoga) Says:

    Getting home from a trip…UNPACK! Do laundry, sort the mail, go groc shopping, and my HSP self is usually in a bit of a tizzy…trust me. THAT is more overwhelming to me than being in other loud situations.

    So glad you guys had a blast and loved Trump.

    Renting a limo..NICE!

    And upgrading to first class basically only costing you $100 bc of the baggage situation..smart thinking.

    Blog changes…oh boy. Cant wait to hear 🙂

  14. leashieloo Says:

    He was right! Boyfriend and I were so worn out from traveling, we took it easy the first night. We kept commenting how crazy it was, being in Vegas and not running amok. There was plenty of time for that later!

  15. Angela (the diet book junkie) Says:

    oh. wow. looks like a GREAT hotel!! and don’t worry, we were guilty of going to bed early in NZ too. wine makes me sleepy. 🙂

    and i’m the same. as soon as we get home from vacation, i start laundry and cleaning up ASAP. i can’t stand to sit around in clutter, it drives me nuts. :p

  16. spabettie Says:

    great hair!! you look awesome!

    no… you’re totally not boring! Jason and I usually gamble A LOT and stay up SUPER late in Vegas… last month, I did not place one chip on one table or roll one dice in craps… I was confused and thought, oh, this is it. I’m old. Jason just said we went on that trip for different things – restaurants, spa and shopping. 🙂

    Can’t wait to hear more!

  17. Anne @ Food Loving Polar Bear Says:

    I always put the laundry machine on first thing when I come home after a trip. I need to organise myself again 😀

    Cute hair! 🙂

  18. rc1001 Says:

    We were so sick during our trip to Las Vegas so we ended up taking huge afternoon naps and calling it a night pretty early each day. But I usually went to bed early and he stayed up with his dad to do more gambling.


Leave a Reply

