Holiday Balls & Bark

Hi Friends!

Loooooooong time, no blog, huh? Sorry for the disappearing act — I have been enjoying my “time off” — getting more rest, being more productive at work and at home and just not worrying about the blog. I was putting too much pressure on myself to blog every day — and with my all-or-nothing mentality, when I took a day off I decided to take a few WEEKS off.

Thank you for all of your kind emails and comments about where I am 🙂 For sure during the month of December I will blog when I can, but it will definitely be on a random schedule!

Last night for dinner I made a Pillsbury recipe: Chicken with Orange-Pecan Rice.

It turned out pretty good — I didn’t follow the recipe exactly, using less orange juice and subbing walnuts for pecans (we were out of pecans!). The chicken cooked nicely in the wild rice “bed”.

And for the rest of the evening, I spent my time in the kitchen. I have a Cookie Exchange party to go to on Saturday, so I got a head start on my baking:

Oreo Balls

Paula Deen’s Peppermint Bark (I think this is her only recipe without butter!)

Gingerbread Bagel’s Christmas Candy Bark

I still need to cut up the bark — I wanted it to solidify in the fridge, so I’ll wait until later today.

Today is my birthday 🙂 I am 27! I have no idea what our plans are, but hopefully I’ll have a nice post for tomorrow or Saturday 🙂

Have a great day!

Holly

28 Responses to “Holiday Balls & Bark”

  1. Kylie @ A Hungry Spoon Says:

    Happy Birthday, Holly! Glad to to see a post from you this morning 🙂 Your rice dish looks tasty–one of my favorite bulgur salads combines and orange juice vinaigrette and toasted pecans–it’s a wonderful flavor combo.

    Your treats for the cookie exchange look fantastic! I saw Lindsey’s holiday bark recipe when she posted it, and it looks so festive, doesn’t it?

  2. Michelle @ Chasing Ambulances Says:

    Happy birthday! I’m glad you’re back. I missed your posts!

  3. Alex @ IEatAsphalt Says:

    Happy birthday!! Celebrate by eating some of that delicious chocolate. 🙂

  4. thejoggingconcierge Says:

    Happy Birthday Holly!!! Hope you’re having a great holiday season!!

  5. Tina @ Faith Fitness Fun Says:

    Happy Birthday!!! And so glad to hear you are doing well. : )

    I’m making oreo balls for a holiday treat exchange tomorrow night. Yippee!

  6. Sara @ OurDogBuffy Says:

    Glad you’re back, Holly! All of the items for your exchange look fabulous!

  7. Beth Says:

    Happy Birthday Holly! And welcome back! 🙂

  8. Shanna, like Banana Says:

    You’re alive! Yipppeeee!

    Happy 27th =)

    I’m going to attempt my first bark this weekend..yay!

  9. Matt Says:

    Glad you are back!

    We missed you 🙂

  10. TheHealthyApron Says:

    happy happy birthday!!

  11. Dorry Says:

    Happy Birthday!!!!!!!!!! I hope you have a fantastic day whatever you decide to do. I simply must make that peppermint bark this year! xoxo

  12. Jess Says:

    Everything looks yummy, happy birthday!!!

  13. Hollie @ Lolzthatswim(andRun) Says:

    Happy Brithday!!

    I understand about the all or nothing mentality. It is really something I need to work on ergg.

  14. JewishGirl Says:

    Happy birthday! Your baking looks delightful…

  15. Angela (the diet book junkie) Says:

    happy birthday, girl!!!!!!

    good for you for taking time off, i missed you (of course :)) but it’s good to rest and regroup sometimes. and don’t worry, you’re not the only one with a weird blogging schedule this month. being overseas (on your side of the world), living out of a suitcase and travelling between 3 cities will do that to you i guess. :p

    (p.s. your cookie exchange is going to be awesome. good choice in desserts. :))

  16. Averie (LoveVeggiesandYoga) Says:

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I am so happy to see a post from you, but of course, ONLY b/c you WANT to be posting; not b/c of some pressure you’re putting on yourself b/c you “have to”. Your attitude is inspiring about kissing it goodbye for a week(s) if you’re not into it. I want to be like you when I grow up when I am having those less than inspired times…but i digress…

    All this baking!
    Paula D’s recipe that doesnt use butter. A first! But she “only” used 2 POUNDS of white choc. lol.

    The bark. Easy peasy, melt choc, throw in more candy. Need to remember to do this more often! Thanks for that link.

    The oreo balls. Not vegan, not GF, but i WILL make these some day. Have seen them before and honestly, i just must.

    I have baked up a STORM in aruba. I kid you not, i was inside baking/cooking all day and it was fun!

  17. Katie Says:

    For some reason, I thought there was way more to making bark than that. Looks delicious!

  18. Brittany (A Healthy Slice of Life) Says:

    Good to know you are alive and well 🙂 HAPPY BIRTHDAY!

  19. Laury @TheFitnessDish Says:

    Welcome back!!! Happy birthday!!! You have been missed!!! Glad you got to take some time off, blogging can get overwhelming…..sometimes it’s good to take a break and refresh!

  20. kbwood Says:

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY BEAUTIFUL!!!!!!!!!!!!! youre beautiful!

  21. spabettie Says:

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY, HOLLY !! ❤ I've taken a few days off too – being out of town and EXTREMELY busy… I miss my blog 😉

    these all look great… I want to try the bark!

  22. Jenna's Journey Says:

    what an interesting type of bark!

  23. muddy Says:

    muddy is happy to see the blog again as well — and today is when i REALLY get to celebrate the fact that i’ve known you longer than anyone else 🙂 happy birthday, holly dolly. your bright-eyes-from-minute-one haven’t dimmed a bit 🙂

  24. Maria @ Oh Healthy Day Says:

    Glad you’re back! Happy birthday!

    I love how festive your cookies and bark look!

  25. whatkateiscooking Says:

    Happy birthday! Your treats look delicious!

  26. bakebooks Says:

    I need to try this cookie exchange….seems like such a deliciously fabulous concept 😉


Leave a comment