“Homemade” Cereal & Another Book Review

Hi Friends!

Well it seemed like a unanimous vote to put the Medal Holder at the top of the stairs (I think that is the best place as well so I’m glad we all agree). And because Katie and Christin liked the pictures so much, here are the close-ups of the Hippo and Croc pictures:

Jason bought me the Hippo poster and I found the frame at Target for $4! You can’t beat that. And my older sister Leah gave me that Croc picture – I’ve held onto it for years!

Last night after hitting the gym (I ran 5 miles in a little over 50 minutes) I came home craving something cold and cereal-like. However, I do not keep cereal in my house. I can easily eat way too much cereal, and all of that sugar just gives me a stomach ache. So, I don’t buy it at all. But I did have some cooked brown rice and raw oatmeal, and I thought, “why not?”

Brown Rice Oatmeal Cereal

¼ cup cooked brown rice

¼ cup raw oatmeal

1 TBSP chia seeds

1 TBSP chopped walnuts

½ chopped banana

½ cup almond milk (or more if you prefer)

I heated up the brown rice in the microwave for about 30 seconds, then added the rest of my “cereal” – topped with almond milk it was delicious. The brown rice added a neat texture and a nutty flavor.

After eating dinner (and watching some Shedding for the Wedding – did you watch?) I finished up my THIRD book of the month! Yes I made it my goal to read two books and lo and behold I shattered that goal by reading yet another book this month 🙂

After going to Charlotte’s book signing last week, I knew I wanted to read her book – SOON! So in the past 2 days I have read it all. I love quick reads and Charlotte is hilarious! I enjoyed reading about her (mis)adventures at the gym. She is so honest in the book and I really appreciate it – she lets you know her struggles and how she works to overcome them. Her book documents trying out 12 different exercise programs — she briefly explains the program, how she incorporated it into her workout routine and what sort of results she had.

What I liked best is that Charlotte and her Gym Buddies enjoy working out – and it seemed like even when they were 100% serious about a workout they still had fun. She includes essays at the end of each chapter and her honesty and openness is so refreshing to read.  Check out her blog if you haven’t already 🙂

*Are you a cereal fan? What is your favorite kind?

*Have you tried many different exercise routines? What did you like the best (and are you still currently doing it?)

*NOTE*: Blog changes are finally coming — new name, self-hosted, lots of fun stuff. Everything should be ready this weekend…

30 Responses to ““Homemade” Cereal & Another Book Review”

  1. Hollie @ Lolzthatswim(andRun) Says:

    I love those pictures!

    My favorite cereal is lucky charms but I almost never have it. Sadly, I almost always resort to pancakes in the morning because I can make them a lot healthier than cereal.

    I usually vary my exercises from running, swimming, step aerobics and the elliptical. I like a lot of different things.

    I can’t wait to see your changes girl! 🙂

  2. blackhuff Says:

    I like the Hippo and Croc pictures. So cute 🙂
    I like Muesli, if you can call that cereal 😉
    I like my running the best. Nothing like it.

  3. leashieloo Says:

    The Hippo and croc pictures are SO adorable! I want, I want! And I’m a fan of cereal, I usually stick to shredded wheat and Kashi.

  4. 1970kikiproject Says:

    oh, wow! can’t wait to see your blog changes! i sooo would love to do some, too, but know not how and have not made the time!!!
    i LOVE LOVE LOVE cereal and could eat it 24/7 and exclude all other foods – honest! and faves are the sugary ones like cap/n crunch…or quaker granola…man, i love cereal!!! 🙂
    congrats on your run last night – way to go!
    that book sounds awesome – i’ll have to keep my eyes open for it!

    • Holly Says:

      Cathy I am lucky that Jason knows about this computer stuff — I would have no idea how to do this stuff on my own. It has been fun learning though!

      I agree with you on loving the sugary cereals — and I can easily eat a whole box in one sitting. It doesn’t fill me up at all.

  5. Sarena (The Non Dairy Queen) Says:

    I love Kashi cereal. I used to love Go Lean, but I can’t have that one any more. Now I just make my own.

    Have a great day Holly!

  6. Beth Says:

    Holly,

    Have you ever tried working out with kettlebells? It’s one of my favorite, intense workouts. If you haven’t tried them, I highly suggest them.

    I’m a huge reader, let me know if you’d like any title recommendations.

    I loved the hippo/croc pics – very fun.

    I don’t eat cereal, but I do like Special K when it’s mixed w/peanut butter, corn syrup and sugar topped with melted chocolate/butterscotch. 🙂

  7. Jess Says:

    I like the hippo and croc pics!
    I do like cereal, but it doesn’t fill me up that well, so I try to stay away from it 🙂

  8. Stephanie @ The Cookie Battle Says:

    I love cereal! My favorite is Kashi cereals (any kind really) because they keep me full longer than other cereals.

    The workout I love the most is spin, I discovered it about 6 years ago and always go back to it. It’s the best workout!

  9. Alaina Says:

    I love cereal! My favorite is Barbara’s peanut butter and cinnamon puffins.

    I never really change up my exercising routine; I think I need to change that. 🙂

  10. Jenny Says:

    The cereal looks absolutely delicious!!!! My mouth is watering at work, right now, as I type:)

  11. Beth Says:

    Ohh can’t wait to see the changes in the blog!!

    And I do like cereal but also don’t really keep it in the house. I need to eat so much of it to feel full that it’s not really worth it for me!

  12. Katie Says:

    I LOVE cereal. I’d eat a box a day if I kept it in my house. 🙂

  13. Maria @ Oh Healthy Day Says:

    I’m the exact same way with cereal! I can easily down a whole box of my favorite in just a couple days. I don’t keep for the same reason. I usually have great self-control, but not when it comes to cereal 🙂

  14. Megan @ Healthy Hoggin' Says:

    Love that hippo picture!!

    I don’t eat cereal very often, but if it’s in our house, my husband and I can polish off a box of Life cereal in less than a day! 😉

    I feel like I’ve tried a bunch of exercise routines– my favorites are running, HIIT, and Physique 57, but I still like to change it up when I get bored, too!

  15. (what runs) Lori Says:

    Those pictures are awesome and adorable in every way!

    Cereal… my downfall. I will eat the whole box if you let me. Kinda like almond or peanut butter… bad. I like your homemade cereal though! Much more filling and WAY better for you. Must try that out.

    Charlotte is great! I haven’t read her book yet but I know it’ll be good since her blog is fantastic!

  16. IHeartVegetables Says:

    I don’t normally keep much cereal at my apartment, for the same reason. I can easily go through a box of cereal in a matter of days! Not good!

  17. bakebooks Says:

    What are you changing your name to and stuff??!! That’s awesome…you know I’ve considered it but I think I would lose any readers I do have now….noone’s that interested to follow me 😉

    But YOU for sure! Do you have a new focus? I don’t even know what mine would be…

    And, uh, your dinners make me feel very self-conscious. That’s all you had?! …you know I’m just jealous though and wish I had that peace and control with food…

    You are really selling that book! I’ll have to look for it – is it in Canada yet? …eh? 😉

    • Holly Says:

      First off — that is not all I had for dinner. I don’t think I wrote that — sorry if it came out that way.

      I try to show one (or more but not usually) “interesting” meal or recipe I used each day. I don’t share all of my meals/plates of food on my blog because #1 I think that would be boring for me to put together and boring for you to read and #2 I don’t want anyone to look at my meals and compare themselves to that. Everyone has different needs.

      The new name is a surprise 🙂 You’ll know soon enough. And really, if you want to change your name, why not? Do you have any ideas?

  18. Stephanie Says:

    I love the hippo picture! So very cute! Your breakfast looks delish.

  19. Zo Says:

    I love cereal…sometimes i eat it for dinner, or dessert. My parents always insisted on feeding me “healthy” cereal when I was a kid….my rebellion in college was constantly dining out of the lucky charms and cap’n crunch cereal bins! At first, when I lived on my own I still bought sugary cereals, but I realized that I would a) eat a ton and b) be hungry an hour later…so now I buy the types of cereals that would make my parents proud. Life is strange.

  20. Lisa Says:

    I am a HUGE cereal fan. The homemade variety is my favorite. Although I love granola, but I tend to eat more than I need 🙂

    I am so not consistent with my fave type of workout—I do one till I get sick of it and then I move on to a new one. Many of my clients love P90X, and I liked that one too. Yoga is awesome though….

  21. Laury @thefitnessdish Says:

    I love cereal. I can not pick a favorite because it changes every month. I love Cascadian arms cereals, Ezekila, Barbaras Bakery. So many. However, your brown rice cereal thingy looks seriously so so so so so good Holly. Awesome job, that is a new one for me! I will have to try that sometime soon!!!!

    I always do my own thing for working out. Not really much of a program follower. I am stubborn like that…being a trainer I like to make my own thing up. However, I really should try different programs to get more ideas and see what the fuss is about! I did try P90X, but not the entire program, just a few workouts. Loved the yoga X

  22. Christin@purplebirdblog Says:

    The hippo poster is even cuter than I could have imagined… especially with the little birdies on it tooooo! I love it, and thank you for doing that! 😉

  23. charlotte Says:

    Oooh I love cereal – anything granola-ish is my fave – but I’m like you and overeat it way too easily so I pretty much never have it. Your bowl looks delish though… hmmm breakfast tomorrow? And thankyouthankyouthankyou for the kind words about my book – you have no idea how much that means to me! I’m so glad you enjoyed it:)))

  24. The Hunger Games « The Couch Potato Athlete Says:

    […] “Homemade” Cereal & Another Book Review […]


Leave a Reply

