Smoothie Dinner & Book Signing

Hi Friends 🙂
 
I finally got to the gym last night, it has been almost a week since I cut my foot. It took a while to heal up and I didn’t want to risk reopening the wound and getting it infected. And since it was such a beautiful day, I decided to run outside!
  
The weather has been quite nice for the past few days – its in the 40s for now and this weekend it gets cold again. So I’m enjoying it while it lasts! I ran 3 miles in a little over 30 minutes. Running outside vs running on a treadmill is way different for me. But it felt good, no matter how long it was going to take!
 
After my run, I fixed myself a delicious smoothie for dinner. I had a bunch of errands so I wanted something quick and easy, and something I can take in the car with me!
 

 
Strawberry Banana Smoothie
 
Serves 1
 
Into the Magic Bullet cup:

1 cup vanilla soy milk

5 ice cubes

1 scoop protein powder

1 TBSP chia seeds

1 TBSP peanut butter

½ banana

4-5 sliced strawberries


 
YUM!


 
After a few errands, I went to Barnes & Noble to get this book (downloaded it onto my Nook!)
 

And to meet the author!
 

I started reading Charlotte’s blog The Great Fitness Experiment only a few weeks ago and I wish I had found it sooner. She is hilarious and when I found out she lives in Minnesota (and also has a husband named Jason!), I knew I wanted to meet her! And her book signing was only a short drive from my house. Woohoo!
 

 
Charlotte: I am a huge cheeseball and I probably acted like a fool, but I was so excited to meet you. I can’t wait to read your book!

I have to be honest and say that I really didn’t want to post that picture of me. As I looked at it last night, I immediately saw things I didn’t like about it: I wish I had washed my hair after my run, I wish I had done my hair (!!!), maybe wear some makeup, dressed nicer, etc. And as I did so, I started to get so mad at myself for thinking those things! That is how I look — I don’t need to make excuses to myself or to anyone about why I looked the way I did. I had a great time at the book signing, I loved hearing Charlotte’s stories and I even got to see one of her sons pick his nose 🙂 I have no reason to feel badly about myself, and yet, when I looked at the picture, I considered not posting it. Why must these feelings still creep in? Why do I let them?
 
*What is the weather like around you? Are you experiencing a short heat wave like we are?

*Do you ever struggle with negative thoughts about yourself or your appearance? Have you figured out ways to conquer those bad feelings?

Enjoy your day!

~Holly

33 Responses to “Smoothie Dinner & Book Signing”

  1. blackhuff Says:

    I am going over to that blog right away. Thanks for the link.
    You look great on that picture. If you did not mention about your hair not being washed, I wouldn’t have known.
    We still have Summer here in South Africa at the moment and enjoying every moment of it cause from beginning of March, it will get cooler for the winter that comes.
    Enjoy reading the book.

  2. Kate Says:

    i totally think she used to work out at the y i used to work for! crazy!

    i too went for a run outside yesterday and LOVED every second of it.

  3. 1970kikiproject Says:

    i’m so glad you DID post that photo, holly! i really enjoyed seeing you as just YOU! thanks for sharing your feelings, though…i know i am sometimes self-conscious about photos, too. no advice for you! 🙂
    sounds like a GREAT book! and i love meeting authors, too. i can’t wait to hear what you think of the book!

    • Holly Says:

      Cathy thank you! It just sucks when those doubtful/negative feelings creep in, you know? It is something I struggle with, so I wanted to be honest about it.

  4. Matt @ The Athlete's Plate Says:

    70 degrees here today! Riding to work 🙂

  5. bakebooks Says:

    I look like that ALL the time – I keep thinking “I could run into somebody I KNOW y’know”…maybe that’s why I’m single…yep…

    Wish I could just pull off a smoothie for dinner – everything has to be complicated to be no matter how I feel – hence the poor body image.

    I’ve never heard of that book…neat you met the Author though!

    • Holly Says:

      I hear you on the poor body image — it is a struggle for me every day.

      I’m not unhappy with how I look (and I wish you weren’t either!), I just do not like pictures of me much because they capture one specific moment in time and they don’t show the REAL you!

  6. Stephanie @ The Cookie Battle Says:

    I struggle with negative thoughts about my appearance all the time and I wish I didn’t…those thoughts just creep in sometimes! Good for you for posting the picture anyway

  7. Alaina Says:

    We had a warm day on Monday and then a frigid day yesterday. I guess that’s what comes with living in New England! I can’t wait for the continuous warm weather!

  8. Beth Says:

    I struggle with negative self thoughts a lot. I’m GLAD you posted that picture even though you considered not doing it. I actually force myself to put post workout pictures up because not all of life is glamorous! 🙂

    • Holly Says:

      Thank you so much — really, sometimes I see pictures of other bloggers who look so put together all the time (!!!) and it is nice to see the “real” side of people (like after their workout!)

  9. Holly@ChunkyMonkey Says:

    You look terrific…and athletic. Perfect combination for a booksigning with Charlotte!

  10. emily (a nutritionist eats) Says:

    How did I miss that?! Shoot!
    I definitely have those bad thoughts (that are completely ridiculous and we should not allow them!!) for the most part I just try to dismiss them.

  11. Christin@purplebirdblog Says:

    I think you look cute in that picture, and I’m glad you posted it.

    In that first closeup picture of the smoothie it looks like its in a bowl, and I was thinking “Why’d she pour it in a bowl if she’s taking it in the car?” and THEN I saw the zoomed out picture of the Magic Bullet rim. 🙂

  12. Jess Says:

    Short heat wave here, too! Loving it. 40 degrees!

  13. Healthy Coconut Says:

    I would normally say sunny and clear but today, it’s raining and gloomy. How I wish I can go for a quick run outside.

    I didn’t even notice the things your pointed out on the picture…until you wrote about it. It takes practice to have positive thoughts and to recognize the good, if you do it consistently , the it will become easier to push away the negative thoughts. Like they say, you are what you think. Try to focus on the positive.

  14. Stephanie Says:

    You look great in your picture! I think that most of us are overly self-critical. Hey…I don’t even post my picture at all on my blog! And no, it’s not remotely warm where I am.

  15. Sarena (The Non Dairy Queen) Says:

    That must have been so exciting to meet her! What a fun way to spend the evening. We are having warmer weather and I am soooo looking forward to the 70s this weekend! I need it. I used to be extremely critical of myself, but I have gotten to the point now where I am happy just being me. I have found that surrounding yourself with positive forces definitely helps.

  16. leashieloo Says:

    Oh girl, I’m struggling with insecurity as we speak! It’s completely normal. And yes, we’re experiencing warming than usual temperatures. It’s great!

  17. Courtney (Pancakes & Postcards) Says:

    I have negative thoughts all the time. But then I try to take a step back and think of the people around me and realize that those people who exude the most beauty are the people who exude confidence and self-acceptance, regardless of what they look like. THAT’S the kind of beauty I want!

  18. Averie (LoveVeggiesAndYoga) Says:

    omg i love charlotte! and i love you!

    what i wouldnt have done to have met you both!!! at the same time!!

    and i mailed your package today 🙂

    • Holly Says:

      Ooh I will check the mail every single day because I am super excited 🙂 Thanks again! Charlotte was so adorable and all of her kids were there – it was hilarious! That would have been great if you could have flown in for the occasion!

  19. Jess Says:

    Delicious looking smoothie!!

  20. charlotte Says:

    So funny that you posted about not liking the pic Holly! Because a) when I saw you last night my first impression was “She’s one of those naturally gorgeous types, doesn’t even need makeup! *jealous*” Seriously. You are beautiful in that pic and even prettier in person! (Now I sound like I’m hitting on you. The Jasons would not be pleased hahah.) and b) I untagged myself in most of the photos from the book signing last night on FB because… wait for it… I thought I looked fat in all the pics. So you are totally not the only one who struggles with these negative thoughts! I wrote my post about our meet-up (going live tonight!) and it took every ounce of strength I had to not point out all my flaws in the pics (um, hello WHY did I wear a belt underneath that sweater? I look pregnant!! Sorry, that one just sneaked out.) Phew.

    Anyhow, so fun meeting you! I’m glad I found your blog now too! We have to get together again sometime (and drag Averie from Cali too)!

    • Holly Says:

      Charlotte you are too funny — you did not look pregnant!!! You are so slim and I thought you looked great. It is kind of sad that we both had those bad feelings yesterday. So glad I got to meet you and yes, Averie needs to come to MN!!!

  21. sophia Says:

    I feel that way with almost every picture I have of myself…we are our worst critics! When I saw that pic, all I saw was a sweet young woman with a lovely smile, but of course only you would immediately pinpoint the faults…that’s human nature…and kind of sad that we have such poor images of ourselves, yet struggle to reach our desired expectations.

    Great discussion, Holly! 🙂

  22. Easy Peanut Sauce Stir-Fry « The Couch Potato Athlete Says:

    […] SNOW.  Just when I thought MN might be done with snow, we get dumped on again. Last week I was running outside! I guess I’m doomed to the treadmill for another week or […]

  23. “Homemade” Cereal & Another Book Review « The Couch Potato Athlete Says:

    […] going to Charlotte’s book signing last week, I knew I wanted to read her book – SOON! So in the past 2 days I have read it all. I […]


Leave a Reply

