Pizza Party

Happy Friday!!!

Even though it was a 4 day workweek for me, I am in desperate need of a weekend! I have been sleeping terrible – staying up too late, not getting restful sleep and waking up super groggy. Ugh. This week I plan to relax and get enough rest each night and gear up for the coming week.

It is nice to know that I’m not the only who dreads certain social situations. If I don’t know anyone (or barely know anyone) I am a nervous wreck and I have to honestly force myself to go. I am learning to watch my breathing, to try to relax but to do my best. That is all I can do!

On that same note, I was supposed to meet someone new last night. My sister K has a boyfriend that I haven’t had a chance to meet yet. They were supposed to stop by our house – But K’s BF was too intimidated sick so they had to cancel. I made us a little snack to break the ice, but since they didn’t come over, we saved it for breakfast:

Oh yes, this is Angela’s Breakfast Pizza. I made a Fruit Pizza a few weeks ago, but I loved Angela’s use of peanut butter as the top drizzle! I changed up a few things: I used applesauce instead of earth balance (or butter) in the crust, and instead of jam I used a mashed banana plus a few tablespoons of POM juice. Remember all that POM juice I got last week?

It definitely added some sweetness to the mashed banana (which was sweet enough!) Then I drizzled the top of the pizza with this:

Oh Justin, you make everything taste so lovely.

Have I annoyed you yet with a million pics of this pizza? Too bad. It was so good. And I also only made ½ her recipe – a personal pizza if you will 🙂

Jason brought me some gifts:

OK they were free from his work, but I can’t wait to dig into them. Natural Medicines has all sort s of info on different herbs/supplements/natural remedies:

Have you heard of any of these? As I flipped through, some looked familiar, but so many sounded very interesting. And the Diet Manual has a ton of info on meal planning, nutrition, food allergies, different diseases and disorders, etc.

***Go check out Wendy’s giveaway at Seriously Sassy: Yankee Candles and Pickles!!!

Questions:

  1. Any fun plans for the weekend? I am helping my parents clean out their basement and laundry room – do not expect any pictures 🙂
  2. How do you break the ice with someone new? I usually end up making really bad jokes, avoiding eye contact, crossing my arms, and staring at the floor. I wish I was kidding, but I’m not! I do like to have people over to my house – that way I feel most comfortable, and I can prepare something to eat/snack.
  3. What sort of vitamins/supplements do you take on a regular basis? I have not been good lately, but normally I take a multivitamin, calcium supplement and fish oil supplement.

 Holly

31 Responses to “Pizza Party”

  1. Leianna Says:

    I saw that breakfast pizza yesterday on her blog and wanted to make it as well, so yummy!
    I’m not good at meeting new people, it’s hard for me to open up. That’s my ED still overtaking me and I’m working on it:)
    This weekend I’m destroying and rebuilding my kitchen and also getting the baby’s room ready for her arrival in T-minus 6 days!

  2. glutenfreemuse Says:

    My mom, sis, and friend are in town!! Football game!

    I usually crack jokes or make fun of myself to break the ice 🙂 bad habit but it works!

    I try to take fish oil, kelp, and a b complex vitamin daily. Helps keep my energy high, skin looking good, and overall mood better!

  3. 40apples Says:

    Um, that breakfast pizza looks amaaazing. I need to check out that recipe!
    Plans for the weekend include a Rosh Hashanah dinner at a friend’s house tonight, and Medieval Times tomorrow (I KNOW!). I’m excited 🙂
    I am also a bad joke master… I use (abuse?) humor in all uncomfortable, meeting-new-people situations. For better or worse. 😉
    My supplement intake consists solely of a women’s daily multivitamin. Things I think I SHOULD be taking include: vitamin B and calcium.

    Happy Friday!!!

  4. leashieloo Says:

    Pizza is all over the blogs today, wow I am hungry! But in answer to your questions, I’m not sure what I’m doing this weekend, nothing is planned so I hope to catch up on my rest! I know what you mean about meeting new people, I’m typically okay in social settings but I feel like I’m so worried about the impression I’m making that I end up acting ridiculous (it’s usually paranoia). Lastly, I just take a calcium supplement and a multivitamin. I’m too busy to think about pills and I end up missing days as it is!

  5. eatmovelove Says:

    Pizza doesn’t discriminate.

    And PB topping? Genius.

  6. Carly (Swim, Run, Om) Says:

    That pizza looks great! I have some frozen dough, and was thinking about making some pizza this weekend.

    I’m like you – I haven’t been good lately, but I usually take a fish oil supplement and vitamin D.

  7. Laury @thefitnessdish Says:

    Very cool your bf brought you those books!

    I break the ice by asking them something about them…people generally LOVE to talk about themselves..and I hate spotlight on me, so I usually try and keep it about the other person.

    I have a party at my sister in laws this Saturday…that’s about it! Have a great weekend!

  8. AllieNic Says:

    I’m kind of obsessed with Justin’s chocolate hazelnut butter…I bought a whole jar for a friend…but I’m thinking I might keep it…is that bad? That pizza looks awesome!

    I take fish oil and vitamin D daily…but I’m thinking I should start taking a calcium supplement too. I get most of my calcium from leafy greens as I don’t drink milk/ eat much dairy…I’ve been thinking of trying those Adora disks…what kind of calcium do you take?

  9. Shanna, like Banana Says:

    Oh poor girl..I feel ya on the lack of sleep…me too, but it’s from stress and teeth grinding..errgggh!

    Vitamins I take are B-complex, Iron, Multi-vitachew, Magnesium (for migraines)

  10. spabettie Says:

    yep, Justin’s is the best, and that pizza looks delicious.

    I also take fish oil, a multi vitamin, and I’m on an amino acid protocol.

  11. Kelly Says:

    Love Justin’s!!!
    Low key weekend here. Probably do a lot of clean-out as well. 🙂
    I drink Shakeology on a daily basis to get my vitamins. 🙂
    Have a great weekend!

  12. gingerbreadcake Says:

    I bet your breakfast pizza would be even better with some Barney Butter. 😉

    This weekend I’m doing lots of baking for my blog of course! And possibly doing some shopping.

    I take chewy adult vitamins, haha. Seriously they’re so good. I take a multivitamin, calcium and vitamin D. I have osteoporosis (yes I’m only 25) so I have to keep my bones strong!

  13. Beth Says:

    I have a 12 miler tomorrow so I’m not sure if that qualifies as “fun” but there’s also a blogger meet up going on in DC so THAT should be fun!

  14. Heather Says:

    i’m doing my first solo maternity shoot with a couple we’re friends with and i’m so excited! i actually take prenatal vitamins because i feel like they’re more complete than the regular ones…those and omega-3 fish oil pills!

  15. lisaou11 Says:

    you did a great job with her breakfast pizza! So tasty and indulgent for breakfast!

  16. jen Says:

    My husband is doing a tri this weekend and I have a 9-miler on Sunday – fun!

    I LOVE meeting new people (drives my hubby crazy). I find it easiest to ask them questions about themselves and get them talking – likely you’ll find something in common. Where are they from? Kids?

    I take glucosomaine (sp?) to help the joints. I’ve had much less pain running since starting to take them.

    The books sound fascinating, but I loathe the name diet manual? Such a 4-letter word to me. 🙂

  17. Mary @ Bites and Bliss Says:

    That looks incredible! I definitely need to give a breakfast pizza a try sometime. Maybe for a dessert..:P

    Around here it’s pretty easy to break the ice since we’re all in college. So all it takes is a “what’s your major?” and then it goes from there. The problem is trying to break the ice with someone that doesnt go to college..in that case I leave it up to them to do so haha!

    I take a few supplements daily..1 a day, calcium, iron, b12, and CLA. I’m about to stop the calcium, though.

  18. Brittany (A Healthy Slice of Life) Says:

    Happy Friday! My parents are visiting this week, so we’ll be boating and watching football 🙂

    Love all the POM recipes… I’m trying to find ways to use my case, too 🙂

  19. Wendy Says:

    Holly, thanks so much for the giveaway shoutout!! 😀
    Your fruit pizza looks wonderful. I wish I could reach right into my screen and pull out a piece to try! I’m putting that on next week’s dinner menu. Kinda weird for dinner, but I’m kinda unconventional and like to shake things up once awhile.

    1.Any fun plans for the weekend?
    Buying Liss some new Playdoh. I know, exciting, right? LOL! Church on Sunday, which is always wonderful. Other than that, not sure yet!

    2.How do you break the ice with someone new?
    Hmmm. I don’t really know….lol! Depends on the person, I guess!

    3.What sort of vitamins/supplements do you take on a regular basis?
    GNC Women’s multi’s

  20. rc1001 Says:

    1. Movies with the boyfriend tonight. Food festival on Saturday. Baseball game on Sunday!

    2. I try to just keep asking questions to keep the conversation flowing with a new person. Plus, people love talking about themselves, lol, so its not a problem for most people to answer my questions.

    3. I take a gummy multivitamin because I am terrible at taking pills. I used to take a chewable chalky one, but am giving the gummies a try. Yes, they make them for adults!

  21. Jessica (Fit and Clean) Says:

    We’re not doing anything special this weekend. Probably just hang out at home! Sophia’s got a soccer game on Saturday…the first one of the fall season! It’s always fun to watch her play 🙂

    When I get nervous in a social situation I find that I get sarcastic, which makes people laugh. I also tend to over talk…I won’t shut up!

  22. Sarah (Running to Slow Things Down) Says:

    I like to break the ice with someone new by saying something completely honest or pulling out a laugh (without trying to sound or look too stupid…haha.) Or trying to spot something right away about the person that you think you’ll have in common or can relate with. Even simple stuff, “it’s sooo cold today, isn’t it?” gets that first word out. Or “I see you’re wearing a patriots hat…you into football too?”

    BUT, I find it awkward for those first few minutes too. For sure. 😀

    That breakfast pizza looks absolutely ah-mazing, by the way! 😀

  23. Alex @ IEatAsphalt Says:

    I only take a women’s multivitamin and occasionally flax. I wish I knew more about supplements but they can really cause problems if you arent taking the right ones. Too bad you aren’t my sister… I think I would bring over a new boy all the time just for that pizza.

  24. Kelsey Says:

    how the heck can a breakfast pizza look that yummy! its blowing my mind, are u kidding me!! id be having insomnia if i knew that was waiting for me in the morning…would be similar to waiting for christmas morning to come! lol. seriously tho, i really hope u get some sound sleep- i know how frustrating it is to consistently miss out on quality sleep and feel yucky all day cuz of it.

    XOXO ❤

  25. Sarena (The Non-Dairy Queen) Says:

    Yum, breakfast pizza! I don’t mind meeting new people once I get in front of them…it is getting the nerve to do so. I am hoping for some rest this weekend too! I am in serious need of R&R! I hope you have a great weekend!

  26. Angela (the diet book junkie) Says:

    my weekend plans….going out to buy that book on natural medicine! it looks super interesting! 🙂

    i’m very fortunate; Sydney is very multiculturaled and most people i’ve met are from another country, so its easy to break the ice. you just ask them where they’re from and conversation flows easy from there!

    for suppliments, i take calcium and a B complex (i don’t absorb B12, apparently.) i have a stash of multi, but i don’t take them that often. there’s something unnatural to me about taking too may pills :p

  27. Di Says:

    Cool take on pizza. Yum.

  28. Averie (LoveVeggiesAndYoga) Says:

    “Have I annoyed you yet with a million pics of this pizza?”–no and haha! I do the same thing, usually w/ tofu of all things b/c i feel it photographs so well!

    natural, homeopathic, eastern remedies, acupuncture, holistic, you name it I can talk for HOURS, days actually about herbs and tinctures and wild this or that. I can tell you that black cohosh will make you go into labor and fennel seed will make you lactate and the homepathic remedy for styes in your eye is eyebright. Seriously, this stuff is my middle name 🙂

    I just did 2 huge supplement posts and am doing another one..tomrrow!

    The angela recipe..I have a recipe for raw vegan apple crumble. It’s actually the same concept but mine involves no oven and the fruit i used is apples but any fruit will work.

    Love your blog Holly…faithful reader forever 🙂
    xo

  29. mostlyfitmom Says:

    I’m golfing in a tournament today, ordering my kids some Halloween costumes, running and biking, and studying. As an introvert, I often find breaking the ice tough, especially if the person is even more introverted than I am. However, I usually ask about their family, what they do for work, etc. Basically the basics.

    I take no supplements right now, because I always forget to! However, I really should be taking some vitamin D, especially now that the sun is disappearing. 😦

  30. Michelle @ Chasing Ambulances Says:

    Holly, have you seen this: http://hyperboleandahalf.blogspot.com/2010/09/four-levels-of-social-entrapment.html ? It’s hilarious… Anyway, I feel weird around new people too – ESPECIALLY parties/social events where I don’t know anyone! That is the worst.

  31. Holly @ Self-love and Running Says:

    That breakfast pizza looks yummy!


Leave a Reply

