Pumpkin Banana Bread

Hi Friends 🙂

TGIF!!!

Let’s just get to the good stuff, hmm?

I was at work yesterday just thinking about something to bake. I like to bring in something homebaked on Fridays to work and I also like to send something with Jason as well. To be honest I don’t know if Jason actually shares any of the treats or if he just keeps them to himself. 🙂 Either way, it doesn’t matter, because I cannot have treats like this at home:

Too dangerous!

I found the recipe here and I substituted a few things, so here is what I ended up using:

Pumpkin Banana Bread

1 mashed banana
1 cup Libby’s pumpkin
¼ cup unsweetened applesauce
1 egg + 2 whites
1 cup oat flour
1 cup spelt flour
1 tsp baking powder
½ tsp baking soda
1/3 cup sugar
½ tsp nutmeg
½ tsp ginger
1 tsp cinnamon
Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Coat a loaf pan with non-stick spray (or butter). Combine wet ingredients in one bowl, combine dry ingredients in another, and then mix together. Pour batter into loaf pan and bake for 1 hour. (I also sprinkled 2-3 tbsp of pecan pieces on top before baking)

I’ll pack up half for me to bring to work and half for Jason to bring to work. And no, there isn’t any chicken in this recipe either 🙂

I wouldn’t call this recipe “mine” by any means, I only substituted a few things. But, when do you call a recipe “your own”? Do you have to change a certain number of ingredients? Or do you have to completely wing it to call it your own?

I forgot to mention yesterday that I received a very special package in the mail:

MACAROONS! Thank you Megan! They are so adorable:

Questions:

1. Any fun plans for the weekend? We have more Craigslist buyers coming on Saturday to pick stuff up, but other that we have no real plans (yes!!!). Hopefully we will go out to dinner on Friday or Saturday night and maybe go see a movie. Any suggestions?

2. What was your favorite animal as a child? Is it still your favorite animal? When I was younger I really liked pigs, cows, walruses and frogs. I don’t really know why. But I have quite a few pig stuffed animals (that I still have) and here is one of my favorite things:

I named him Mr. Dump years and years ago – and I still have him! I think I bought him at a garage sale. He may have only cost 50 cents but I don’t think I could ever get rid of him.

***Check out Katie’s giveaway: VEGGIE ICE CREAM!***

Enjoy your Friday!

Holly

41 Responses to “Pumpkin Banana Bread”

  1. Di @ http://thetreadmilldiaries.com/ Says:

    That’s some mighty fine looking bread!

  2. Myra Says:

    if you get rid of mr. dump you’re out of the family.
    go see the town. it looks so good but tyler refuses to see a movie with ben affleck in it. it’s supposed to be good! shaaaaaaa

  3. Sarah (Running to Slow Things Down) Says:

    I’ve always loved giraffes. I think they’re adorable. :mrgreen:

    The pumpkin bread looks awesome! I love the idea of adding bananas and applesauce to the mix. 😀

  4. Matt Says:

    How about some pumpkin banana bread for me?

    Not much planned for this weekend. Just taking it easy 🙂

  5. crispandverdant Says:

    Mr. Dump is so cute!! He has this kind of gleeful charm to him.

  6. Brittany (A Healthy Slice of Life) Says:

    Loving all the pumpkin across the blogisphere! 🙂 Your bread looks delish!

    And I don’t know when to call a recipe my own… I’m always hesitant (even if I subbed ingredients), so I usually give credit 🙂

  7. Alyssa Says:

    Lots of baseball 🙂 hubby has an alumni reunion and he is pitching!

  8. 40apples Says:

    Mm that bread looks so good. It would be dangerous at my house too 😉

    Plans: I’m seeing a moving tonight – Wall Street!! I don’t know why but I’m really excited. Also have some other fun stuff tentatively planned for the rest of the weekend.. picnic.. an apple fest… we’ll see!

    I tried to start a cow collection when I was a kid.. kind of arbitrarily picked cows after I saw other kids’ animal collections, haha. But if I really looked at what I already had, it was obvious I had a thing for cats. A major thing. 😉

    Happy Friday Holly!!

  9. Kate Says:

    oh your bread looks goooooood! i think spelt flour takes baked goods up a notch. they stay so nice and soft.

    my fav animal? the goat! it became a bit of mascot for my college friends and i. they are so stinking cute!

  10. Healthy Coconut Says:

    Holly,

    I want to have this bread for breakfast, my dilemma…I’m hungry now. I guess it will have to wait until this weekend.

    I’m studying all weekend and maybe check-out the L.A. County Fair with the fiance.

    I play around a lot with ingredients, sometimes I have to make it multiple times before I want to share the recipes. I know that for simple things that you create in your head, I’m sure somebody else has created it too but if it’s something I made up I just call it my own. If I’m adapting a recipe from somebody else, say I make it healthier, I give a link to the original recipe but then your own healthier version is your own recipe.

    Whoa…that was long but hopefully it made sense.

  11. Katie Says:

    I just added this bread to my to-bake list! It looks so good….I am the same way – I love to bake, but I can’t have too many baked goods around the house. I bring them to my neighbor, who loves it.

    I really can’t remember if I had a favorite animal. Wow, that’s sad.

  12. Nutritious Foodie Says:

    Pumpkin Banana Bread? That sounds really good 🙂

  13. Salah Says:

    That bread looks absolutely amazing!!! My mouth is watering!

  14. Kylie @ A Hungry Spoon Says:

    I loooooove pumpkin bread! (as I’m sure you can tell!). I’m definnitely going to add a mashed banana to mine next time I make it…perfect idea 🙂

    Enjoy your weekend, and congrats on all of your Craigslist success–you’re on a roll with it lately!

  15. Nic Says:

    Heading up north to a wedding for the weekend. Brrrr! If you are looking for some place to go in Mpls, I love Brasa especially on a gloomy day like today. Comfort food at it’s finest!

  16. Mary @ Bites and Bliss Says:

    My favorite animals as a child was a cat & horse and they’re still very much my favorite 🙂

    The bread looks incredible!! I just bought a whole big batch of pumpkin and can’t wait to start baking with it. I think you can call a recipe your own when you change/add at least 2-3 ingredients and then possibly change how you prepare it. Like if it’s a bread recipe and you make it into muffins or something like that. I mean their are a kajillion recipes out there and so many are similar to each other..

  17. Averie (LoveVeggiesAndYoga) Says:

    Omg great job on the pumpkin bread! I am posting in a few hours some pumpkin recipes of mine but they are no where near as good looking as yours 🙂 Wow!!!!

    I am soo impressed by your skills!

    Fave animal = cat. I was scared of dogs as a kid…prob b/c our neighbors had huge, unleashed, german shepards. Hunting dogs. It was MN after all 🙂

  18. eatmovewrite Says:

    My weekend is full. Working (tonight), tomorrow: tailgating and a football game, Sunday, babysitting and grocery shopping. Phew!

    I have always loved koala bears and gorillas. Still do.

  19. Lori Says:

    Pumpkin bread and me must meet… healthy pumpkin bread and I definitely will! Yum! Thanks for posting the recipe. I have often thought about that too- the recipe thing. When DO you call a recipe yours? Honestly, most recipes are just tweaks of other recipes. But usually if I’m tweaking one just a bit, I’ll post my recipe with a link for the “original”. Why not share the love right?

    Have a great weekend!!!!

  20. MoniMeals Says:

    HI!

    Killer Pumpkin Bread, I will try that for sure, thanks for sharing! Great site and of course-great name. 🙂 I look forward to checking in
    Take Care!

  21. spabettie Says:

    when I “write” a recipe and test it several times, it’s mine… whenever I change a recipe I still link back… and share “my” version…

    it’s funny, though.. I was just thinking about this – I “created” a recipe recently, just totally out of the blue… I saw something similar just today!! (I have not even posted about mine, so it’s not like they saw it…) but it’s just funny… I made a raw “date dip” and today I found something called caramel dip… almost exactly the same!!

    so… recipes CAN be original AND made by someone else… which I suppose means we shouldn’t be too concerned about it!! 🙂 🙂

    whew… that aside, I want this bread!! and I’m totally laughing at the vision of Jason keeping the treats to himself at work… I’m picturing him huddled over it at his desk… looking around paranoid… !! 😀

    • eatmovelove Says:

      I completely agree. I’ve wondered about the whole Recipe thing too myself…Recipes are just ingredients, and there are so many that are alike with just a few tweaks – but they are still “original” recipes really!

      It’s like writing. You can write something that is similar to something else – it’s fair game – but it’s your own twist/idea, etc.

      I think I read before that if you get the idea from some other recipe initially – then you should link/mention it to say that that recipe was your “inspiration”

      🙂

  22. Sarena (The Non-Dairy Queen) Says:

    The bread looks delicious! I love cows and still do. They are just so adorable and their eyes are just so sweet! Have a great weekend Holly!

  23. eatmovelove Says:

    And – I am SO making that bread. I wish I had your will-power NOT to keep it at home. And I live alone…:(…yours is super healthy though!

    Movies this weekend? I was wondering the same thing. Something not too long, but not too dark, but not too numbing…something to take me “away from it all” 😉 . I’ve heard really good reviews on “Easy A” – but it just seems too teen-ish to me…but who knows?

  24. Samantha @ Food Edu Says:

    I call a recipe my own when I have mastered it and know how to make it without a cookbook. This also allows for me to make variations without freaking out. “My” recipe for chocolate chip cookies came from the back of the tollhouse chocolate chip package??–I think. I still call it my own anyway. I love most all mammals–reptiles * amphibians freak me out a bit 🙂

  25. Megan @ Healthy Hoggin Says:

    So glad you got your macaroons! Hope you enjoy them!

    Your pumpkin bread looks gorgeous! I better not let my husband see that, or he’ll be begging me to make some! Pumpkin bread is our favorite!! 😀

  26. kelsey@snackingsquirrel.com Says:

    i love mixing spelt and oat flour together in baking!!! THIS LOOKS INCREDIBLE GIRL!! pumpkin loaf is definitely on my list of “things i need to make ASAP” <3.. or at least more pumpkin muffins ❤

    xoxo

  27. Becky Says:

    I finally bought my first few cans of pumpkin today. I can’t wait to eat all things pumpkin this season! Your recipe sounds very tasty!

  28. Chelsea @ One Healthy Munchkin Says:

    Mmm that bread sounds perfect! Pumpkin and banana is such a killer combination!

    Have a good weekend. I’ve heard good things about “Easy A”. It looks pretty funny. 😀 My plans involve the gym, errands, going out to a bar with friends, and going out for sushi tomorrow!

  29. kbwood Says:

    COME OVER AND MAKE ME THAT!

  30. Jess Says:

    OH WOW. That looks INCREDIBLE.

  31. Laury @thefitnessdish Says:

    Wow, the pumpkin bread looks great!!! I am baking pumpkin muffins as I type and they smell divine!

    I always loves kittens as a child and as an adult….and smurfs, LOL.

  32. Lele Says:

    Um, so jealous of your coworkers!

  33. Baking Serendipity Says:

    Pumpkin bread and banana bread separately are two of my favorite quick breads. I’ve never thought to combine them into one, but it definitely sounds and looks delicious 🙂

  34. Pumpkin Pie in Coca-Cola | The Couch Potato Athlete Says:

    […] right? I’ve decided to limit myself to posting one pumpkin recipe per week. Last week was Pumpkin Banana Bread and this week will be the Monster. What is your favorite pumpkin […]

  35. Smells Like Squash | The Couch Potato Athlete Says:

    […] treat so far this year? I really liked the Pumpkin Pie Smoothie I made last week and of course the Pumpkin Banana Bread was delicious as well. I can’t wait for Pumpkin Pie at […]

  36. EZ Pumpkin Muffins | The Couch Potato Athlete Says:

    […] more pumpkin desserts?   Pumpkin Banana Bread Pumpkin Pie Cookies Vegan Pumpkin Blondies Pumpkin Peanut Pudding   1. Do you have a Pumpkin […]

  37. Martha Says:

    Well… I can do this. i am going to try is as soon as i get home.


Leave a Reply

