February Goals

Hi Friends 🙂

How is your week so far?

I just got back from the gym — ran a few miles on the treadmill. I cannot wait for this snow and ice to melt. According to the Groundhog: Spring is right around the corner!

A few months ago I posted my monthly goals, and I think that really helped me focus on them. Lately I’ve made goals but I haven’t put much work into them at all.

 Here are my goals for February:

1. Train for Grandma’s Marathon. We have our hotel room for that weekend booked. We registered for the race. Now we just have to train! I want to continue to post my workout results here on the blog.

2. Read 2 books. I have heard so much about The Eaters Manifesto and I decided I just need to read it for myself! I also want to finish Love & Respect.

3. Try 2 new recipes each week. I have officially gotten back into my food ruts (or grooves as Averie calls them!) but I am in need of some variety.

4. Stay on budget. This is a goal every month! We are still trying to build our savings account while trying to quickly pay off our two car loans. Jason and I have paid off a lot of debt over the past few years and budgeting has helped us do just that! Now we are using our budget to save, save, save!

5. Blog more consistently. I’m going to put up posts when I can. Maybe that will be every day for a few days, then maybe I’ll take off 3-4 days. I need to figure out what works for me! But please know that I appreciate everyone who stops by to read, comment or email. This community is wonderful.

***So what are your suggestions for me? Any new recipes that you’ve tried that I should try? Feel free to leave me a link!

***Have you read any good books lately? I’ll need some ideas for March!

Posted in Life. 34 Comments »

34 Responses to “February Goals”

  1. Averie (LoveVeggiesAndYoga) Says:

    Books, i have many of those cookbooks! I couldnt suggest anything…since i never make any recipes from a book. I swear, Im the worst 🙂 I read blogs, then i experiment on my own…and can’t really stick to recipes very well. lol

    Thanks for the linky love!

    And posting…yeah consistency is nice. But real life throws curveballs. Do what you can 🙂

  2. Alaina Says:

    I really want to read The Help. I’ve heard good things about it.

    I love reading your blog, so whenever you post, I’ll be here! I’d love to hear about your marathon training. 🙂

  3. Hollie @ Lolzthatswim(andRun) Says:

    I can’t wait to read more of your blogs. When and where is your marathon? You are going to do fabulous! Is it really called the Grandmas marathon-that is like calling my name.

  4. mostlyfitmom Says:

    If you’re looking for fiction, I really enjoyed World War Z, as well as The Hunger Games series (I think that’s already on your list of books to read, though?)

    • Holly Says:

      Yes I have heard such good things about The Hunger Games that I definitely want to read them soon. I haven’t heard of World War Z — I will have to look that up!

  5. purplebirdblog Says:

    I haven’t read anything that isn’t massage school related in months, so I don’t have much to offer in that regard! 🙂

    • Holly Says:

      Jason keeps suggesting that I go to massage school — I think he just wants free professional massages. I told him he should take the classes too!

  6. 1970kikiproject Says:

    i’d love to do grandma’s marathon some day…just for the shirt (i’m so easily swayed by getting a race tshirt!) – so that means that cincinnati’s “the flying pig” marathon is also on my list! will be looking forward to following your training – all the best!
    books: just finished wally lamb’s “the hour i first believed.” amazing but very long…he’s one of my fave authors. i also want to read The Help and Prep (curtis sittenfeld). as always, so many books, so little time.
    it’s great to set monthly goals and track them; i do that, too, and it’s much easier than year-long resolutions that tend to be forgotten so quickly!
    happy blogging! (whenever!)

    • Holly Says:

      “The Flying Pig” sounds hilarious! I agree about monthly vs. yearly goals — when I make yearly goals I usually don’t start on them until Oct or Nov — this way I have a few things to focus on each month.

  7. retzersintexas Says:

    make sure one of your goals is to go to camp snoopy! those buggers expire on the 28th!!!!!

  8. Kylie @ A Hungry Spoon Says:

    Veganomicon is one of my all-time favorite cookbooks! I definitely recommend the bean-ball recipe (we recently made Bean-Ball Subs with marinara…so good!).

    Good luck with your February goals 🙂

    • Holly Says:

      I will check out that recipe for sure — I just picked up Veganomicon at the Library so I haven’t had a chance to page through it yet.

  9. Leashieloo Says:

    I highly endorse The Hunger Games series, very entertaining. I also just finished Water for Elephants, such good writing and a great story that juxtaposes between present day and the Depression-era. I think they’re making a movie out of the book, definitely worth a read!

  10. Cait Says:

    I just came across your blog! what great stuff and some of your ideas/goals are the same as mine! I posted on my site 50 books I want to read for 2011 so you should check it out. Stay warm because I want it to be spring asap!

  11. Beth Says:

    I made these awesome quinoa burgers that just keep coming back into my rotation because they are so good. I might recommend using 2 eggs in the recipe if they aren’t sticking together very well: http://wp.me/pKRzq-1bp

  12. Mary @ Bites and Bliss Says:

    What’s the Grandma Marathon? Sort of like a Try-a-tri but in marathon form? Sounds like something worth looking into!

    • Holly Says:

      Grandma’s is just the name — it is a regular 26.2 mile marathon. Grandma’s is a name of a restaurant who is the main sponsor. It is a really big/popular race!

  13. bakebooks Says:

    I love that you say you’ll blog when you CAN and WANT – really that’s genuine and real 🙂

    Great cookbooks! Do you own those or from the Library?

    • Holly Says:

      Thank you 🙂

      Some of the cookbooks are mine, but the big ones on the bottom of the stack are all from the library — that way I can try them out, see if I like the recipes and then maybe buy the book later.

  14. simplynutritiouskate Says:

    ah I am the same way, I want to try more recipes and stick to a budget 🙂 of all those cookbooks which one is your favorite!

  15. Zestful Lou Says:

    I’ve been eyeing the Michael Pollan book too, especially now that I just watched the “vegan challenge” episode that Oprah aired on Feb. 1st. Let us know what you think of it!

  16. Recipe Fail: Eggs to the Rescue « The Couch Potato Athlete Says:

    […] Wednesday night the plan was to make dinner incorporating a new recipe from this […]

  17. Success in the Kitchen: Salmon Patties « The Couch Potato Athlete Says:

    […] of my goals for February was preparing two new recipes each week. Wednesday night was supposed to be one of my new recipes 😦 But it burnt, remember? I’m […]

  18. Saw-weet Pah-tay-toes and Keen-wah « The Couch Potato Athlete Says:

    […] Goal: Make at least 2 new recipes each week:   Recipe 1: The Non-Dairy Queen’s Salmon Patties on Thursday Recipe 2: Beth’s Quinoa Burgers on […]

  19. Peanut Chocolate Souffles « The Couch Potato Athlete Says:

    […] Now I am moving onto In Defense of Food – I have 14 days to get through it! […]

  20. February Goals Update « The Couch Potato Athlete Says:

    […] I thought I’d give a little update on my February Goals: […]


Leave a Reply

